We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 amazing days”
Review of Green Horse Ranch

Green Horse Ranch
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“6 amazing days”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went for a total of 6 days horsebackriding in november. I t was just perfect. The horses was so well taken care of and healthy. The places we stayed at was pitoresque and really delicious food. The nature is just so beutiful, mountains, forests, plantations.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic day of riding”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had the opportunity to go horseback riding in the crater of the Pululahua volcano north of Quito Ecuador. Green Horse Ranch is located in the farmland on the crater floor of the volcano and is owned by a wonderful German lady named Astrid who has lived in Ecuador for 25 years. Pululahua crater is one of only two inhabited volcanoes in the world. We drove 1 hour north of Quito through an arid desert climate to the very top of the crater edge. As we pass through the gate, we enter the crater that makes up the Pululahua Geobotanical Reserve and the climate immediately turns to very green and tropical. The drive down from the gate to the crater floor took 45 minutes along a one lane dirt road clinging to the cliff walls. We have to say that Astrid, who lives in Quito, has the most interesting commute to work we have ever seen. Once at the bottom, we reach the ranch and meet the guides and the horses. With 25 horses, there are many personalities for the guides to choose from based on our riding experience. We got all mounted up and set off through the crater. Our full day ride takes us through the most incredible surroundings. Along the base of the inner crater walls, down through steep narrow trails surrounded by orchids, palms, banana trees and pineapple plants. After passing through the crater breach, where the magma escaped the crater during the eruption in 467 BC, we descended into a beautiful valley. This is where we will stop for lunch. Astrid has chosen a perch on top of a ridge with sheer drop-offs on either side with a magnificent view ahead of us of the Sacred Valley. Right in front of us is an ancient pyramid where the ancient Quitu-Cara people lived along the river in pre-Inca times.
We highly recommend taking in this adventure and next time we would like to do a 2 or 3 day trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“don't miss this”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My daughter, daughter-in-law and I enjoyed a 5 or 6 hours long ride around a volcano crater this month. Wow, horses were beautifully trained, scenery was great, owner and staff were helpful and friendly and we would have loved to just keep riding! They furnished transportation from Quito, riding gear and lunch. We each loved all of it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank keepagoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Great Days”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having arrived back in the UK we wanted to record what an amazing two days we spent at Green Horse Ranch last week. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with Astrid, Karen and of course the horses.

Riding in such spectacular scenery, with such lovely horses, and with Astrid/Karen as our guides was a fantastic way to complete our two week holiday in Ecuador.

We would throughly recommend it to any one looking for a great one or two day riding experience, whilst remaining in the Quito region.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 100ColinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Such a great experience...”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My fiance, his cousin and I joined Astrid and 2 guides on a one day ride. It began with us being picked up in town as planned; the drive took us outside of Quito, and then we left the paved rode and civilization as we entered the volcano and what seemed like another world. Being inexperienced and (at least myself) a bit fearful, I was a bit nervous about the ride. We were matched with horses to suit our riding experience (or lack of, in my case ;) and it was very enjoyable. Astrid encouraged us to push ourselves a bit, and I even got my horse to canter - a first for me. The scenery was breathtaking, and kept changing as the day wore on and the clouds moved in.

We had opted for the overnight option after our ride, and I'm glad we did. Our host house was the next property over, where we were treated to rural and relaxing accommodations, delicious food and wine, and interesting conversation.

In all, a wonderful experience, and the perfect compliment to our stay in Quito!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ILoveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Horse Ranch also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Green Horse Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing