We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Eco-Hostel Near Quito is by far Pululahua Hostel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pululahua Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pululahua Hostal
Ranked #25 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Eco-Hostel Near Quito is by far Pululahua Hostel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I had a chance in July to end a month-long trip to Ecuador & the Galapagos with a day trip to the Hostel Pululahua to do some horse back trail riding.

The owner was not only extremely knowledgeable about the area and it's environmental importance, but was friendly and instructional as well.

Though we only went for the day to ride horses, we wish we would have known about the hostel instead of staying in a hotel in downtown Quito. The mountain views from inside the crater were amazing, especially when relaxing in their great hot tub spa.

If you're looking for a small, clean hostel with spacious views and a friendly staff, this is definitely for you!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PhishinLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
45
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
quito
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

My friend and I arrived at Pululahua after a tiring few days in Quito, and found a scenic, relaxing hostel that was well-maintained and staffed by very friendly, welcoming Ecuadorians. The food was absolutely delicious, and healthy as well (there was a continental breakfast and menu for lunch that included soup, salad, a main dish, and dessert). There was a jacuzzi available, although we didn't use it, and hummingbirds flitting around everywhere. We were able to take several hikes through the valley, including one up the mountain to pick blackberries, and another to the top of the crater for a great view. We also booked two horseback riding trips with Paola that were reasonably priced and well-guided. Our horses were great and we appreciated the chance to trot and canter since we've got some experience riding. I'd highly recommend this hostel to solo travelers, couples, families, whoever. It will probably be my favorite place that I stay in Ecuador!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprite124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

Renato and Paula are wonderful hosts and Pululhua is a magical site. Pululahua is more luxurious than a "hostal" - it's a B&B Ecolodge. The ambience is peaceful and simple, eco-conscious and fun. My husband and I (in our 30s) traveled with my parents (in their 60s) and Pululahua was a great place to spend a few days in nature outside of Quito. The different activities (from horseback rides to birdwatching) offered something for all of us. It's well worth the ride on the dirt road up to the volcano!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

My stay at Pululahua Hostal during a birding trip in Ecuador was a great experience. It's in a remote, spectacular location inside the crater of the long-extinct Pululahua Volcano. The room was comfortable with a wood-burning stove to cut the chill of highland evenings, and decorative touches like painted light shades and tile added class. The view, the hummingbirds in the garden, and the antpittas and tapaculos just a few minutes away are all fantastic.

Meals incorporated traditional Andean staples like quinoa and potatoes plus lots of great locally grown tropical fruits (soursop, pitaya, passionfruit, avocado, etc.) -- a healthy and delicious way of experiencing local cuisine, which I always want to do. Coffee is grown nearby, roasted on site, and available with meals and for purchase. Makes great gifts -- my parents loved it.

The owners are avid birders and nature photographers and are available as guides. They know the area and are passionate about birds and conservation in their country and region. They took care of us, from providing snacks to sharing lots of local knowledge and genuine excitement for the landscape and birds.

Which is my last point -- you can feel good about supporting Pululahua Hostal because it was born out of a passion for the local area and wildlife, and the owners want to promote sustainable conservation in their community and those nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djr41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

What a wonderful place .Why stay in Quito when 50 mins outside Quito is Pululahua Hostal. Its an amazing place a really beautiful place .The crater is awesome and quite stunning.We stayed here for 3 days the room and the food were great..A big thank you to Renato Paula and Victor they made our stay really special..Renato's knowledge of the crater and abundant wildlife and flowers was really helpful and interesting..We also went horse riding the horses are great a ride around the crater should not be missed.Renato also does guided trips around the area and Quito its self .What ever you want to do he is always helpful as are his staff..Pululahua is quite unique and should not me missed . Mark and Bridget

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Hostal Pululahua was definately a highlight of my trip to Ecuador! Quiet, peaceful, green, and surrounded on all sides by the mountains that rise above the crater the lodge is definately a paradise not to be missed. Take a horseback riding trip! Even if you have never riden a horse before in your life as I had not you will love galloping through the orchid laced paths. This trip will take you farther down into the crater and the 5 dogs will accompany you the whole way!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss/American
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

The lodge is beautiful, boasts impressive "green" technology, and serves homegrown organic food--it's a pleasure to spend time there. Even more wonderful, though, is the tour on horseback. We did the 4 hour one ($25) and rode down through the crater into a cloud forest... unforgettable. The owners are a brilliant and friendly couple who lived in the USA for 25 years, so all you Americans will have no problem at all being understood... I never write reviews but I had a wonderful time and highly recommend this place! GO, you won't regret it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rohrer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.9 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#37 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
14.8 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bridge To Ecuador
The Bridge To Ecuador
#30 of 249 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.9 mi away
El Hostelito
El Hostelito
#6 of 249 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
15.3 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pululahua Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pululahua Hostal

Property: Pululahua Hostal
Address: Pululahua, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the only ecological resort using renewable energy inside a 2500 year old caldera (crater of an extinct volcano).  It is a quiet and mystical place near Quito where you can find many things to do, including a visit to La Mitad del Mundo which is only 3 km away.  Come here to relax and explore the many trails for hiking, horseback riding, and mountain biking.  We will make every effort to give you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pululahua Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing