We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly atmosphere”
Review of Pululahua Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pululahua Hostal
Ranked #28 of 259 Specialty Lodging in Quito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We extended our stay with Paola and Renato from 2 to 4 days, since the caldera as such is a unique and beautiful place and we got good contact (had nice discussions) with the owners/staff and other - domestic - guests, but also some nice talks with other people living in the valley.

They have/are about to increase the sustainability by installing renewable energy/eco-toilet/waste separation and recyling and by offer a lot of locally/regionally/nationally sourced food (prepared very nicely).

So thank you very much for a nice stay, and see most likely next time we return to Ecuador! :-)

Un saludo,
David y Emma


P.S. The only things we would have wished for was a not natural gas-fired warm water/stove (what takes away the feeling of being "close to nature" as well as goes against the otherwise sustainable profile).
For increasing the Sleep Quality mark (and the energy profile) - a bit better insulated cabin would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
45
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for one night, as I arrived after dark didn't see much of the outside. The quality of my room was superb, the food delicious, and people friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Spent the next day with Renato birding and saw a wide range of species, including Oilbird. Renato is an excellent birder and has a "nothing is too much trouble" approach. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthNorfolkBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful property with exceptional hospitality. We wanted a low-key honeymoon that focused on visiting less tourist driven spots. Renato coordinated with us to visit spots that were important for us: a chocolate producer in Mindo and traditional food markets. Our stay exceeded our expectations by at least 1,000 times! We loved the organic breakfasts available each morning and enjoyed time by the fire each night. All of the animals at the farm were fun and we got to meet some great backpackers. Renato and his wife were wonderful hosts and we'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Do some research on high altitude and how it might effect you. Be prepared to feel tired your first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PicaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Back again for the fifth time and the place keeps my positive recommendation.
Remember, this Hostal is small and fairly remote...[you'll know why after you arrive to rest after the ride or hike down into the crater]...and so I don't expect or want 'The Ritz'...you shouldn't either. It is a great place to 'get away'. Hike, bird watch, horse ride, ,,,all the things on the brochure/Web. You should be either positive or indifferent to dogs. If you don't like dogs or are allergic, pick another place. My guess is that if you are even considering the Pululahua Hostal and not The Ritz, then you are into outdoor activity things and likely to be more than happy with your time at this Hostal.
Meals are fresh and excellent/delicious. Accommodations are comfortable-rustic. I had a hot shower...that's high on my brief list of musts. Staff friendly and helpful.
Not saying you will, but on every visit there I've met interesting world-traveling people staying there too. This last visit, met a couple of professional bird watcher guides on holiday but wanting to do some personal hiking and birding. Also met a couple from Holland on holiday one, a professor of the history and implications of technology. Interesting, casual, and fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntentionalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Pululahua Hostel is set in an absolutely beautiful crater, lined by forests and farms. The staff and owners there are very friendly, and know a lot about the region. The rooms have a wonderful view and a warm fireplace, and each day the staff serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with your dietary preference in mind. The meals were tasty.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. My personal highlight was horseback riding tour around the crater.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here on the 3 day, 2 night package and had an amazing time. It's the worlds biggest inhabited crater in a live volcano. The Ecuadorian owners are very friendly and helpful, giving you lots of information and advice as to where to trek in the area. Renato even created his own trail map to follow as the tourist board have not yet put Pululahua on their mainstream tourist radar. This is a good thing for us at the minute as it means you more or less have the place to yourself and the few locals and indigenous people that live there. You will be spoiled with amazing views all around the hostal, the heated cabanas at the front of the property have amazing French doors opening out to the full landscape. You can lie in bed and admire the view! Hummingbirds fly around the property constantly amongst many other amazing birds. Personally I'm not an avid bird watcher but these things are o amazing to watch. The owner has 4 resident dogs too which are lovely friendly dogs. Mystica, the mother of the clan came walking and looked after us everyday. :) So lovely! And to top it all off, the food included was amazing. Very tasty and each day we tried lots of different dishes, some traditional, some international. They also use as much organic food and meat where they can. They even catered for a few restrictions I have with certain food intolerances. We had an amazing time! If you have some days to spare and are near or in Quito. Escape to Pululahua hostal (45mins away) you will not regret it. Thankyou pululuhua hostal and all the team there for a great authentic Ecuadorian experience!

Room Tip: If your budget allows... Pay a little more and stay in the heated cabanas at the front. There are tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very nice hotel at an unique and beautiful location.
Dinner was tasty and the jacuzzi super nice!
The owners were also very nice and helpful and had good advice about what to see around.

Advice is to stay longer than one night. We had too short time see the nice envirionment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.9 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#44 of 114 in Quito
196 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2.1 mi away
The Bridge To Ecuador
The Bridge To Ecuador
#30 of 259 in Quito
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
14.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
736 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pululahua Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pululahua Hostal

Property: Pululahua Hostal
Address: Pululahua, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 259 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the only ecological resort using renewable energy inside a 2500 year old caldera (crater of an extinct volcano).  It is a quiet and mystical place near Quito where you can find many things to do, including a visit to La Mitad del Mundo which is only 3 km away.  Come here to relax and explore the many trails for hiking, horseback riding, and mountain biking.  We will make every effort to give you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pululahua Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing