We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pululahua Hostal
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Quito
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
69
20
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
20
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingel chivorough roadhiked downguango lodgerustic lodgewonderful hostswater pressurerooms are comfortablevery nice hotelrenatocratercloudsjacuzzihorsesmiradorbirds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 94 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Pululahua Crater itself is what made this trip so memorable. Gorgeous hikes, fascinating changes in scenery, mysterious fog curtains — the crater itself is not to be missed. Pululahua Hostel is also very nice. We especially enjoyed the jacuzzi and the upstairs cards/game room. The staff is fairly nice & helpful, although the owner can sometimes be a little grumpy. All in all, recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The heated cabanas, which cost extra, did not turn out to be necessary, as we weren't all that cold the night we stayed there.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjsharp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hostal and didn't want to leave. We chose to take a taxi from Mitad del Mundo to the edge of the crater and hike down. The first view was amazing! The trail is steep in parts, so make sure you have good shoes and it's not raining. From the minute we arrived at the hostal we felt welcomed. The courtyard has beautiful flowers and the hummingbirds never grew tiresome to watch. The food was outstanding. I can't say enough about it. I didn't know soup could taste so good. And the desserts/coffee... One afternoon we borrowed some bikes to explore. The bikes could have been in better condition, but I don't know how often they actually get used. We also hiked on several of the trails around the hills and got a personal tour of the farm operations which was very interesting. We totally felt at home hanging out upstairs on the balcony, playing ping pong or watching a movie in the main room. We were amazed that we had the whole place to ourselves most of the time. Best Thanksgiving ever!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank africalizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had a great time exploring the volcano. Very comfortable bed! We were picked up in Quito and Renato took us birding then to Mindo--he's a great birding guide too--then drove into the volcano in the dark. it was amazing waking up in the morning and walking outside to see the rim above us. THANK YOU

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_Lynn_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wonderful location in the bowl of an extinct volcano surrounded by cultivated fields and then up higher a lush cloud forest, filled with flowers and exotic birds. This is a comfy little hostel with no swimming pool or fitness center but there is a flower garden where you can enjoy breakfast while watching the humming birds on a sunny patio. Delicious dinners are served in a rustic lodge and the cabins are quaint. There are many trails starting at the lodge. Renato, the owner is very personable and accommodating. If you are a birder, you will enjoy Renato's enthusiasm and knowledge of the birds in Ecuador. His Ecuadorian heritage enables him to provide in depth information about his country and the locations visited on the tours.

Room Tip: Cabins with the fireplace make it more comfortable at night as it is cool at this high altitute.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just reminiscing about my time in Ecuador and looked up this place as a reminder and so glad it is still going. Me and my girlfriend spent 2 wonderfull days here with Renato and his family (the puppies must be big now!! it was 2008). Thoroughly recommend the horse trekking to anyone of any ability. One of the most beautiful and peaceful places on earth!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews