We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be offered a hot water bottle was a lovely touch!”
Review of Pululahua Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pululahua Hostal
Ranked #29 of 287 Specialty Lodging in Quito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Pululahua is run by a great team. Everyone was so attentive, from smiling Victor who picked us up in his wonderful yellow jeep and yellow wellies to match, to Renato who advised us where to look for birds and butterflies. Food was great (thank you Paula!) with lots of delicious fruit juices. We had a very relaxing stay here and on one night when it was a little chilly it was lovely to be offered a hot water bottle! How fantastic to wake up to the sounds of hummingbirds outside your cabin, fighting for dominance of the feeder. We explored as much as we could on foot, but to come back and sit on the patio surrounded by hummingbirds, especially Black-tailed trainbearers zipping through the air, was something a bit special. One day when we had had a long walk, Victor had got the jacuzzi going for us which was really thoughtful of him seeing as we hadn't asked - he had dropped us off in the morning and knew how far we had to walk back, mostly uphill! We chose this hostal due to it's eco-friendly criteria and we weren't disappointed. It was a pleasure to stay somewhere where the environment matters. Well done and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcandhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 91 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband , 2 teenage sons and I recently returned from a fantastic 2 weeks in Ecuador and the Galapagos. Renato, Paola, Victor and Andy were wonderful hosts for our stay at the Pululahua Hostal. The location is beautiful and quite private with many hiking trails and lovely scenery all around. And sitting in the hot tub is also a plus! We had a day of horseback riding as well as several birding trips with Renato in and around the Western slopes. We also spent our week in the Galapagos with Renato which was a great experience, since he knew of places to stay on the Islands which made our trip more economical. We highly recommend the Pululahua hostel and other trips which Renato can set up for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 rooms with private bathrooms and nice wood burning stoves to keep us warm at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaA1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We reserved a bird watching tour with Renato (the owner of the Pululuha hostal) as a Bar-Mitzva trip of my son.I can say with certainty that our birding trip I and my son with Renato will never be forgotten. It was an amazing experience with a man who loves his country and fills an important mission to show its beauty and treasures by direct contact with the common people of Ecuador coping with the difficulties of daily and dilemmas they face in terms of preserving the natural environment on the one hand and their ability to support their families on the other. We learned a lot on the magnificent birds found in this amazing country. We thank Renato for his professional guidance, the concern for every "small" details of our tour and on the right we had to meet these good people who want to live in their natural habitat preserve the forests they live in and to make a living by these preservation activities. Renato, your work is blessed and worthy of admiration and emulation. I highly recommend staying at the Pululuha hostal . The room in which we stayed was of the highest level both in terms of cleanliness and in terms of furnishing. The meals were delicious and varied and the staff did above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. The hummingbirds feeders are an atraction even if you are not a bird watcher and Renato dogs are sooooooo cute.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yinon1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Pululahua Hostel is worth the money you have to pay even if it is a little more expensive than others. We just staye in the hostel for 2 nights and it was a great time to calm down again after visiting the crowdy city of Quito.
We did not made a trekking tour because it was so comfortable on the terrace of the hostel.
We made a horseback riding tour for 2 hours and for everybody who likes horses and even for everybody else this is really a great experience, also if you do not have any experience in riding horses like my boyfriend.
If you do not speak Spanish like us just be a little patient with the hosts.
Another hint: if you stay there in July like we did, a standard cabaña (not heated) is enough, because you get many blankets.
The breakfast and the meals are really delicious. If you are vegeterian just tell them.
So all in all it was a great stay and I really want to recommend the hostel to everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InWe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We recently spent two night with the wonderful and friendly hosts of the Pululahua Hostal outside of Quito. What other chance will you get to sleep, eat and have fun in a volcanic crater (extinct of course!). Renato and Paula met us at our hostal in Quito and drove us to their dream location - but only after kindly taking us to the "equator" museum and then the "equator" monument.......

We hiked, biked, ate, played with their dogs, slept well, toasted by the wood fireplace, rested in the jacuzzi, munched breakfast on the patio and marveled at the scenery. A "must stay" if you are in and around Quito and want to have a "once in a lifetime" travel experience. Truly one of the highlights of our 15 day trip to Ecuador.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Only spent one night but the accommodations were very nice and modern despite being well removed from the hustle of Quito. The room was neat, clean, and comfortable with it's own little wood burning stove. Getting in and out of the crater takes a little time but only adds to the ambiance of the location and heightens the sense of adventure. Plus you can see beautiful birds, butterflies, and plants along the way.

The owner Renato is a fantastic guide and it would be well worth your time to have him guide you to see some of Ecuador's amazing bird life.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icterus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Wonderful place. Hermosa! The staff was wonderful. I love Ecuador! Thank you so much to everyone for my stay. I would really love to come back sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaskalucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#15 of 113 in Quito
779 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
11.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
702 reviews
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
3.2 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#42 of 247 in Quito
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pululahua Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pululahua Hostal

Address: Pululahua, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 287 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the only ecological resort using renewable energy inside a 2500 year old caldera (crater of an extinct volcano). It is a quiet and mystical place near Quito where you can find many things to do, including a visit to La Mitad del Mundo which is only 3 km away. Come here to relax and explore the many trails for hiking, horseback riding, and mountain biking. We will make every effort to give you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing