We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local food”

Heladeria San Agustin
Ranked #16 of 38 Dessert in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Empoli, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This restaurant (don't be confused by the "heladeria" sign outside, meaning ice creams) is well located in the city center close to the San Agustin church. They serve excellent local food and very large dishes, so pay attention not ordering too much. I recommend to order different dishes and share!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,121 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“The ice cream was nothing special...”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We only came there to have some ice cream and although it is home made, we weren't really impressed. Prices were okay, the place was clean, and the staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice ice creams, decent lunch”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Limited hours but generally friendly service, fantastic ice cream in a convenient old town location. Try the cinammon. Empanadas are recommended. Ceviche, for Ecuatorian standards, is fresh.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregRobTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food If They are Open”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went there 3 times...

So because they have business hours doesn't mean they are actually open during those hours!!
And because they have a menu doesn't mean they have all the food. Even if it is 1 pm.

We never got to try the goat stew coz they were always out! but other things we tried were really good.

The food is definitely the best we had in our 2 week trip. In terms of taste and presentation it is in a whole different level compare to other restaurants.

But again, don't expect to get what you want even if they opened 1 hours ago.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OctopusVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This Heladeria is well known and written up in just about every travel book and magazine available.
The food is great including many of the traditional Ecudorian plates as well as the ice cream. The atmosphere is lively with an excellent waitstaff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldtravluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heladeria San Agustin also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Heladeria San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing