We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, good people watching” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe del Fraile

Cafe del Fraile
Ranked #306 of 1,291 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huacas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent food, good people watching”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a nice restaurant, on the second floor, overlooking a courtyard with other restaurants and shops. Food was ok. As a vegetarian, few options, but the vegetable soup was excellent here, as was the spicy garlic salsa on the table. The quesadilla was definitely a bomb - a somewhat stale pastry with a bit of dried cheese on top. The wait staff were very attentive, and Plaza Grande is a great place to take a stroll at nighttime.

Decent wine and cocktails as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    31
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
308 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice food in quiet central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Right across plaza grande, inside the shopping center, this restaurant is located on the second floor in a nice and quiet courtyard. Great atmosphere both central but very relaxing overlooking a fountain.

Nice and friendly staff with good service (I ordered the imperial limonade but got half foam so the waiter laughed and brought the whole bottle if sparkling water).

The food was decent and the price correct (taxes are included on the menu so no surprise).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeCacoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a (slightly touristy) dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had dinner here when too knackered to sort out something else. It overlooks a courtyard of a indoor shopping precinct, which is verybpkeasant. The staff were friendly despite my bad Spanish, but a little slow. The food was bountiful and tasty, with good value. Excellent aji. Good range of cocktails, overall a pleasant surprise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrIMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I really love this restaurant! It's in a fantastic location in Plaza Grande, the staff are incredibly quick and friendly, and there is a large selection of food, all of which has been delicious. I especially love their Locro de Papas. I went there multiple times - on my own, with a friend or two, and with the group of youth I was leading - and we always had a great experience. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mira0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
434 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and solid menus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our lunch here was served by two waiters and the food was quite good. We had both local and foreign food - all in all good. The restaurant is located in a closed coutyard - which could be better, but cant be changed. We enjoyed our visit here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Path F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Fraile also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cafe del Fraile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing