We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent taste of Galapagos Islands

Gabriela Aguilar at GalapagosIslands.com was excellent at helping arrange a last minute 4-day... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
KBSact0
,
Sacramento, California
Amazing trip of a lifetime

Lorena Alulema was the person who booked the great tour for us. 6 days 5 nights hotel based out of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
mikekV3223NB
Read all 167 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Quito
from $1,280.77
More Info
from $3,261.05
More Info
from $3,998.00
More Info
from $1,318.00
More Info
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
151
7
2
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
151
7
2
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel center natural paradise day cruise galapagos islands travel agent sea lions dot com santa cruz flight tickets island tour machu piccu cruise operator hotel based blue footed boobies travel service cruise line first class operation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 167 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2019

Gabriela at galapagosislands.com put together a great itinerary for us that included a yacht cruise of the Galapagos Islands aboard the Natural Paradise, Quito, Cotopaxi Volcano, and the Napo river aboard the Manatee.

You can read about all the destinations elsewhere - I'm going to focus on Gabriela and her service.

We have never relied on an agent or company to arrange our travel. However, when looking into Galapagos we were overwhelmed by the variety of ways to visit. Further, we wanted to do more than just Galapagos while we were in Ecuador.

We inquired at quite a few agencies, both foreign and domestic. One of those agencies was Galapagosislands.com. By far they were the most responsive, and being "on the ground" in Ecuador, they were the most knowledgeable.

Gabriela quickly put together a number of options for us, taking into account our travel preferences and prejudices, and worked hard to get us a very good price for the quality of visit we were looking for.

We booked months in advance, and by the time it came to travel, the unrest had happened in Quito. Having traveled extensively over the years, we booked our Quito flight three days before our yacht embarked, "just in case". Well, our flight was cancelled due to the unrest. Gabriela communicated with us continuously to keep us update on the situation "on the ground", telling us to get to Guayaquil from the USA instead. On the next day, we tried to get on the Guayaquil flight, but it was fully booked. The Quito flight was cancelled again. The airline put us on the Guayaquil flight for the next (and final) day - putting us in Guayaquil about 8 hours before our flight to Baltra to meet the ship. Close call. Gabriela got us a room at the Hilton near the airport so we wouldn't be stranded waiting for our next flight. She kept in touch continuously. Once we were on the yacht, we just "let it all go", confident once we returned to the mainland, Gabriela would be on top of things in the event any other changes needed to be made due to the political situation. Luckily, the unrest subsided and the whole trip went like clockwork.

When problems happen, that's the real test of an agent. Anyone can book stuff if all goes smoothly!

Should we ever return to Galapagos or Ecuador (and we might!), I wouldn't consider booking with anyone else. Likewise, I've told all our friends they don't even need to shop around. Just go to galapagosislands.com and ask for Gabriela!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Wetravelllots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTC_Support, Community Manager at GalapagosIslands.com, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2019

Dear Wetravelllots

On behalf of GalapagosIslands.com and especially of Gabriela, I would like to extend my gratitude and joyfulness for your review and recommendation posted on Trip Advisor. As travel assistants, it is our duty to provide the best service to our passengers and to let them feel that they will have a 24/7 backup while the duration of our services, and if necessary even beyond them.

Please be sure that when you return to Ecuador, it will be our pleasure to provide you with the same great service as we did during your first visit to the country.

Best regards,

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019 via mobile

Our trip to the Galápagos Islands was full of adventures. Snorkeling and hikes everyday. The guide was excellent, knowledgeable about every aspect of the Islands, animals and history. The small boat (max 16 passengers) was very well keep and the crew members where great. Only item to improve on would be a better food selection but, we did choose a price minded package. We would highly recommend this trip.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Z6591LLkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTC_Support, Community Manager at GalapagosIslands.com, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2019

Hi Z6591LLkens

Many thanks for your review, It's wonderful that you enjoyed the snorkeling and hiking in Galapagos, it is truly something wonderful to experience at least for once in a lifetime. Also, I'm glad that your questions and quest for knowledge about Galapagos was satisfied by the boat guide.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2019

eliabeth took care of our trip
Galapagos Quito and the amazon.
it was one to remember for many years .
thank you for a wonderful trip

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank yossib112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTC_Support, Community Manager at GalapagosIslands.com, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2019

Hi Yossib112233

Many thanks for your review, I'm really glad you created great memories while touring around Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands.

Best regards,

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2019

We originally planned to visit both the Galapagos Islands and Machu Picchu, and this company made our arrangements. Unfortunately, we had to cancel the Galapagos portion of the trip due to work responsibilities, but still went to Machu Picchu. We were so pleased with their flexibility to make the changes we needed. They did a great job with the Machu Picchu portion, with great accommodations and guides.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Joann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTC_Support, Community Manager at GalapagosIslands.com, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2019

Hello Joann L

I'm really sorry to hear that you were not able to visit the Galapagos Islands, I hope that in the future you get a new chance to visit this wonderful archipelago. About your comment, our first duty is to solve our passengers' needs, so it will always be a pleasure to help you with anything you may need.

Best regards

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2019

Esteban was very helpful in sending us options for the cruise we were interested in taking. The website was also very useful. Well organized and you could easily search for the different categories of boats. We went with a luxury yacht (Grand Majestic). It was very nice! Had an excellent guide and crew.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTC_Support, Community Manager at GalapagosIslands.com, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2019

Hi Jennifer R

Many thanks for your review on our trip advisor and on our website. I'm really glad you had a pleasant buying experience with both of them. We are always providing the best service soy you, and the rest of our passengers have the best experience from the first moment you contact us.

Best regards

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews