We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place I have stayed in Ecuador”
Review of Aleida's Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aleida's Hostal
Ranked #11 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2010

If it had not been so late we would have left. The room we were given was right off of the office area. It appeared to me to be more like an storage area instead of a comfotable room a traveler would like to stay in. The sheets were horrible without any pad between the mattress and the sheet. I sleep with all my clothes on and did not take a shower in the morning because the place just did not seem clean to me. Although the staff were nice and the breakfast was decent, I would never stay there again. Since I have never stayed in a hostal, maybe my expectations were too high.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

I was in Quito five or six times in the course of a month as I traveled Ecuador, and it gave me a great deal of comfort to know that Aleida's Hostal would always be there when I returned. My rooms were clean, very quiet, and attractive with beautiful bay windows, and hot water upon request. The owners are incredibly friendly, and they go above and beyond to help you out with your travel needs and to accommodate you while you are staying and between your stops in Quito as well (for example if you needs some luggage or purchases stored, etc.) Maria speaks English fluently and will also encourage your Spanish if you prefer to get some practice. An excellent full breakfast is included in the price of the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnymagic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I traveled around Ecuador for 2 months this summer and found myself in Quito often between trips from one part of the country to the other. I stumbled upon Aleida's as a respite from the chaos of La Mariscal. The family was so friendly and the rooms were clean and quiet so I began to stay at Aleida's every time I was in Quito. It was easy to get to La Mariscal to hang out with friends and then come back to my Quito home for rest. The owner's were very helpful with directions to bus stations, advice with travel plans, and patient when I tried to practice my Spanish. I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcyJoy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Aleida´s Hostal offers a warm and welcoming environment with basic accomodation and good service. The hostal feels like a home, with bedrooms on the upper floors and a living room and dining room below, where breakfast is offered (included in the price). The owners are a friendly Ecuadorian couple who went out of their way to see that I was comfortable, and the wife speaks excellent English. Clean rooms and bathrooms. For me the location was perfect - the hostal is located in La Floresta, a quiet and safe neighborhood just a 10 minute walk from La Mariscal. I came to Ecuador as a grad student starting my research, and I found Aleida´s to be a convenient, comfortable place to stay whenever I was in Quito. Altogether I stayed about 10 days there, and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilycmatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Aleida´s is a charming family-run hostal with super-clean rooms and complementary breakfast for very reasonable prices. It´s not too noisy and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The managers speak English. Aleida´s is only a five or ten minute walk to the Mariscal, so it´s close to everything but away from all the hype. I´ve stayed here on three separate occasions and have found everything delightful. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kranzre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hablar con su dueña de como le gusta su habitación.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gabaguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aleida's Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.9 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Hostelito
El Hostelito
#6 of 289 in Quito
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Urbana Hostal
Casa Urbana Hostal
#9 of 289 in Quito
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 289 in Quito
272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#15 of 289 in Quito
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aleida's Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleida's Hostal

Address: Andalucia N24-359 y Francisco Salazar, La Floresta. Quito-Ecuador, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $22 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aleida's Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aleida's Hostal is a laid back family run hotel just a block away from La Floresta's big 5 star hotels. The building is beautifully restored built in the 1950s with a great view. The staff is very friendly and speaks both English and Spanish. Aleida's Hostal is a great destination no matter what your business in Quito; located right by the city's business and entertainment districts alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aleida's Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing