We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cafe at the Hotel Plaza Grande”
Review of Cafe Plaza Grande

Cafe Plaza Grande
Ranked #74 of 1,375 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is dedicated to the pleasures of the traditional Ecuadorian cuisine, offering selections from every region, accompanied by traditional music and colors of the country
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Cafe at the Hotel Plaza Grande”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

In October 2012 we visited the cafe 4 times in a week. We wanted to show our family and friends how great the food was. We liked very much the cucuruchu serving our helado de paila ice cream and off course the food was excellent. Next time we are in Quito we will go there again.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefrene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    71
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch venue”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had lunch here twice during a five day trip to Quito. Great place to watch the activity in the main square of Quito, especially if you manage to grab a window seat. Soups and shellfish are especially recommended. Prices are reasonable, given the location. Be careful though, the staff sometimes behave as though they understand English, when in fact their comprehension is quite limited!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajsper3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a delicious, but pricey meal here.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

After walking around looking for a good dinner spot, we stumbled upon Cafe Plaza Grande. We weren't sure how it would be, being a hotel restaurant but we decided to give it a try. We ended up eating here twice during our 5 days in Quito because it was tasty and it was sometimes difficult to find an open spot in the area after 7pm. The food was great, the only negative is that it's a little pricey for the area. If you stay in Old Town, as we did, this might become your go to spot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BF731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchellville, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I felt stung”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I should have realized that a restaurant in a hotel on Quito’s Grand Plaza would be expensive, but I was still surprised at how the restaurant took advantage of my tourist status. First, the food: the goat had good flavor: but it was so tough, I could not completely chew up some pieces. The really upsetting part, though, was the pricing. The menu said that taxes were included, but the wine that appeared on the menu for $4 appeared on the bill as $4.79. Then tax was added. What was nominally a bill for $30 ended up at $40 after additions. What added to the shock was that I had spent a total of $3.50 for lunch including beer and dessert. You should look around and do better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Dave_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, excellent food, decent prices”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed everything about this restaurant. The menu was interesting with some Ecuadorian specialties. Service was excellent. Our table provided a greatview of the plaza. Finally the prices were reasonable and they take credit cards if you are conserving cash.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Plaza Grande also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cafe Plaza Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing