We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, excellent food, decent prices”
Review of Cafe Plaza Grande

Cafe Plaza Grande
Ranked #74 of 1,375 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is dedicated to the pleasures of the traditional Ecuadorian cuisine, offering selections from every region, accompanied by traditional music and colors of the country
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, excellent food, decent prices”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed everything about this restaurant. The menu was interesting with some Ecuadorian specialties. Service was excellent. Our table provided a greatview of the plaza. Finally the prices were reasonable and they take credit cards if you are conserving cash.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    71
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite spot to dine in Centro Historico”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Classy place that makes you feel like you belong regardless of attire. We had lunch here on first roll through Quito and loved it so much we returned for dinner on our way back through Quito before leaving the country. Great food, service and ambience. A definite must do.

Helpful?
1 Thank CladdaghBoatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, live guitars, near the central plaza”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We shared ceviche, biche de pescado (fish/ shrimp stew) Pork (lomo) and Rosero (fruit drink). The food was tasty & the waiters pleasant. They had a live band playing guitar, but it was not too loud. Great place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“GREAT ICECREAM WITH CUCURUCHO ADDED”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The way the serve the icecream is outstanding, they put it on a "paila" a brass pot, where the icecream is prepared, and then when it comes to you, a man, dressed with a penitence robe, which is used at processions on Holy Week, comes to you and your children scream of joy, as he comes and takes pictures of them with the boiling icecream. Of course at your request they will sing a song for the children. Nice and cozy ambiance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HOTELSANMARCOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
283 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Delicious Ecuadorean cuisine in a warm setting and great location”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are a family of 5 (three teenagers 17, 15, 12) and we had a delicious dinner on 7/31/12, when we celebrated our daughter's 17th birthday. The staff is super friendly and the food was delcious (we particularly enjoyed the Locro de Papa potato soup). They have a nice surprise for you if you order the ice cream dessert--they dim the lights and a hooded character (cucurucho) serves it while music is played.

The reception staff was kind enough to take us to one of the banquet rooms and let us walk out onto the balcony which overlooks the beautiful square.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Plaza Grande also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cafe Plaza Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing