We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family-run hotel in Quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Travellers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travellers Inn
Ranked #17 of 254 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Geertruidenberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice family-run hotel in Quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very spacious and clean room and bathroom. Beautiful high ceilings. Location close to city center. Good price laundry service. The staff of Travellers Inn was extremely friendly and helpful. Nice family run hotel in Quito city centre.

Room Tip: Room 203 on the same floor as the reception desk was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IreneNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    79
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
77
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was overall a good experience. Everyone that works at the hostel is extremely friendly and they have staff that speak English which was very helpful. They helped us to get bus tickets for the hop on hop off bus. Our room was very spacious (private double) and the wi-fi worked really well. The breakfast was great and had tons of food for being included in the price (including eggs which is rare) so definitely take advantage of that! The only complaint was that the shower was pretty bad...there was not consistent hot water and literally zero water pressure as in water wouldn't even come out some times so it was a bit difficult to take a shower when you knew it was going to be cold most of the time. With this said, it could have just been our room. It is also in a good location and there are lots of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: I would see if you can get a room not on the first floor so it is a bit quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in Travellers Inn Quito with my family for 3 days. The staff were very welcoming from the first minute, a lovely family.

In terms of location it was very convenient, as it is near Plaza Foch and near a lot of bars and restaurants (just a few minutes walking). The rooms were all spacious and clean, very comfy as well as the bathrooms, although sometimes there were problems with the hot water in the showers. An amazing breakfast is included which is served in a nice dinning room, where you get to share with other travellers.

Overall it is a good choice if you are going with your family, as it has charm and a very familiar environment. But I wouldn’t recommend staying for longer than 4 or 5 days, because if you’re going with kids they might get bored easily. Also I would highly recommend to book the rooms with anticipation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This property is in a handy location to Mariscal District, and trolley buses are an easy walking distance to get you to Old Town or the Mitad Del Mundo. It is an old house and the bathrooms could do with some new shower heads, but the place was very clean-they even made my bed, which I hadn't expected! Breakfast was ample-fresh fruit, juice, eggs, croissant,bread, coffee and tea! Staff were all pleasant and helpful. I had a single room out the back which had a comfortable warm bed and room to place my backpack. The only downside is the major construction happening next door! Excavation works begin at 6 a.m. And the noise and vibrations are incredible-not a problem if you don't want to sleep in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules_of_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed a total of eight nights on two separate stays and requested Room 301, as advised by TA reviewers. The room is great, being on the top floor with no adjoining rooms, so no noise from other guests. It's very spacious, consisting of one large room (with one double bed and one single) and a smaller room with one single bed. We only used the double. It's up some stairs, so may not work if you have large heavy luggage or physical limitations. However, the room has a major defect, and that's the shower! Imagine arriving at 1 a.m. after a long day of traveling, and hoping to shower before going to bed, only to have freezing water dribbling or spurting from the shower. In all the nights we stayed here, there was only one time, the last night, when we had a decent water flow of warm water that lasted for maybe 2 minutes. Plumbing seems to be a major problem, as the toilet also did not refill a couple of times in the morning. The staff is hit-or-miss: at breakfast, mostly unsmiling (the older lady is a bit friendlier), housekeeping is good, and the front desk is ok. The breakfast is easy to skip -- same every day with stale bread or "croissants", eggs, and small fruit plate. Hot water for tea usually came lukewarm. Two good points: we arranged for a half-day trip to Mitad el Mundo with Carlos, and he was excellent! And, the location is convenient for walking to nearby Supermaxi (grocery store to buy water and snacks) and nearby restaurants (very good Indian -- across the street, Cuban and Chinese -- about 2 to 3 blocks away), and to parks (for example, Ejido and Carolina). But there are many other hostels and hotels in the area, so given the $45 per night rate, check out other options.

Room Tip: Check out the room and shower before unpacking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in room 203: The room is spacious with a large bathroom and suited our needs. (Just FYI--Room 203 is located close to the door leading to the main sitting/breakfast area, so we heard other guests getting their days started in the mornings.) We also felt very secure here--The staff secured our valuables while we explored Quito. Carlos and his family members were very helpful: They arranged a day-tour for us to Volcano Cotopaxi ($60USD--it was kinda disappointing because the weather wasn't cooperating, so it didn't feel really worth the price to us); they helped us confirm our flights to the Galapagos; arranged an early-morning taxi to the airport; and gave us a good recommendation for a hostel (Hosteria San Carlos) to stay near the airport before our early morning return flight to the states. (Note: It can take anywhere from 30-90 minutes to travel between the Quito airport to Travellers Inn depending on traffic. Our flight arrived at 11:30PM at night--The staff confirmed previously via email they were coming to pick us up, but no one came. We called them from the airport and they apologized. We ended up taking a $25 cab ride into town--that's definitely the way to go, since their pick-up would have cost us $45 and the cab was fine and safe.) Overall, it was a good option in Quito and we would stay there again. We booked our private room on Hostelbookers for about $22.50/person including a decent breakfast--not a bad deal for the location.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hostel is not worth your dollar. I arrived late into Quito, they only had one room available for 19/-. The room was so small and cramped, i had no place to put to my bags, not even on the floor. There was no hot water. When i spoke to the owner about the hot water, she told me that there are regulations on how hot the water can be in Quito. I wonder what regulation this hostel is under, because every other hostel i have stayed in Quito had decent hot water. The owner then demanded i pay upfront for the room and or leave the hostel. She also had the decency to say it was hostel policy to pay upfront and tried to hand me back my laundry. What a joke!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos B, Propietario at Travellers Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I remember that night perfectly, you arrived to our property around 5pm and saw all the rooms available but you didn´t want to pay more and took the room you wanted. After more than 5 hours being in the hostel you wanted to leave without paying anything because the water wasn´t that hot even that you saw the heater was at its maximum. That is the reason we made you pay right away because everything looked more a trick to stay for FREE until your flight and leaves.
We almost have no bad reviews that I remember what happened almost 4 years ago.
Cheers,
Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
#87 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Property: Travellers Inn
Address: La Pinta St. E 4-55 & Amazonas Ave., La Mariscal District, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 254 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an antique Mansion, part of the city's heritage. It used to be owned by the Quitea aristocracy of the first years in the 20th Century. Run by Pilar, even she speaks 'poquito' English, you will always have a smiling face trying to suit your needs. Anyway, there is always someone around who speaks English. We have first quality bedrooms, with private/shared bathrooms and 24 hours hot water, TV, phone, wireless Internet, security boxes, wake up call and daily room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing