We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first home in Ecuador”
Review of Hostal El Arupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal El Arupo
Ranked #39 of 263 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our first home in Ecuador”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was the first place where I stayed in Ecuador. I've stayed for tenths of times since, until I definitely settled in Quito. I've stayed both short term (2-3 nights) and longer stays (two weeks or so) both by myself, with my wife, with my parents and with friends. I've read a lot of the comments and I tend to agree with the following insights: 1. Place is representative of Ecuador hospitality for tourists. 2. Staff is friendly and helpful although language might be a barrier. Owner is accessible and there's also on-site staff (they live by the entrance) 3. Quality differs per room. They have an upper floor, a wing by the entrance, and lower floor rooms. Ask for a tour, walk around and try to decide the room before settling. 4. Earplugs are necessary. The entire La Mariscal district lives and breathes foreign tourism, party and all the attached pros and cons. Noise is one of the cons. Arupo is not necessarily the one with the worse problem, but is still necessary. Also, some tips: you have a very nice living room area with Internet (don't expect Wi-Fi to reach all parts of the Hostal) and TV, an opportunity for making friends, you have access to the kitchen, you can ask food deliveries or buy to-go from any restaurant in La Mariscal and eat around. Sometimes they're full for some nights and will try to relocate you in a nearby hostel -- in that case, please don't accept any in the same street (Juan Rodríguez) especially the one next door: they are all of inferior quality, and the one next door we dubbed it "Doors of Hell" // That said, I still recommend Arupo to friends and visitors that are OK with staying in a party area.

Room Tip: 3. Quality differs per room. They have an upper floor, a wing by the entrance, and lower floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bureado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
33
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at El Arupo for a few nights in our trip to Ecuador (we went back a couple of times to Quito). We found that this place was confortable, clean ans well located. Breakfast is very good. Moreover, staff was helpful and flexible (we changed dates and rooms). ++good value for money. May be noisy in some rooms, but it's not a problem with earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just stayed in Arupo one night because the other hostal was full, but it is a very nice and coloful place. Very friendly and helpfull staff, would stay here again. Place is very close to the Plaza Foch where you can find lot's of restaurants. They also have a kitchen you can use and a room where the relax and watch TV.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahDJQuito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in this hostel on 3 occasions over 1 month in May and June 2012, for 4 nights in total. We booked in advance, a double room with private bathroom and had a lovely welcome each time. The hostel is scrupulously clean, sheets are changed every night, water is hot in taps and shower.

Breakfast is prompt and good, homemade fruit juices, bread, eggs. Good coffee. Access to the kitchen seems to be permitted all day, with coffee, tea and water available. Microwave available. Plenty of saucepans etc.

There is a secure room in which we left luggage for the different parts of our trip and on our last day after we had given up our room - each time free of charge. The security perimeter fence was being raised to over 2 metres whilst we were there - it felt safe, pleasant and serene indoors.

There is a computer in the comfortable lounge with internet access - this was also free.

Rooms vary in size and outlook. We used rooms 3 and 4, people in our group had rooms 2, 5, 12 and 8. Room 3 faced the road and without earplugs the nights (Friday and Saturday) were disrupted by the live music and car alarms but really the benefits and atmosphere of this hostel over others nearby outweighed this for us.

We were able to walk to all the Old Town attractions from here - and visit the artisans' market on the way. Also nearby was a square which was the hub of activity - live music and market stalls- in the evening. The nearby Magic Bean Restaurante was recommended and did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Room 4 was more peaceful than room 3, noise comes mostly from the music in the square, rather than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollybush2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Quality of rooms varied greatly - All were comfortable. This Hostal is run by a family and they are very helpful with arranging transportation and directing you to good food. But as in all Hotels and Hostals I found house slippers needed because of the cold floors. This hostal charges $45.00 per night per couple. Breakfast is provided with local jucies, eggs or toast. There is street noise as most places - ear plugs are a plus if you are use to country living like we are.

Room Tip: Rooms 12,13 & 15 are some of the nicest rooms in this Hostal - Take house slippers for the cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just off the beaten track from the centre of the new town but so handy. Few minutes walk and you were there. Basic and clean - enough for the several days that I had to come and go through Quito. Despite what others have said about the noise from the bars, I was lucky enough to have a quiet room. My room was also close enough to the wi fi internet. Small grocery store just several blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceSL_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Great location in the Mariscal area, Hostal El Arupo is a really nice, clean and very friendly hostal. It's basic but not wanting for anything and is great value. The staff are all very friendly and the breakfast is very good too. We had a private room with bathroom and were as happy staying here as anywhere else we've stayed, even places much more expensive. It can be a little noisy at night given the proximity of the bars etc but that's the tradeoff you make for such a great location.

Room Tip: The private rooms with bathroom are great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmacca82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.0 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#35 of 110 in Quito
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#43 of 110 in Quito
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#3 of 14 in Otavalo
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#35 of 233 in Quito
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Arupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Arupo

Property: Hostal El Arupo
Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-22 y Reina Victoria, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 263 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal El Arupo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal El Arupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing