We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place!”
Review of Hostal El Arupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal El Arupo
Ranked #39 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just stayed in Arupo one night because the other hostal was full, but it is a very nice and coloful place. Very friendly and helpfull staff, would stay here again. Place is very close to the Plaza Foch where you can find lot's of restaurants. They also have a kitchen you can use and a room where the relax and watch TV.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahDJQuito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hostal El Arupo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in this hostel on 3 occasions over 1 month in May and June 2012, for 4 nights in total. We booked in advance, a double room with private bathroom and had a lovely welcome each time. The hostel is scrupulously clean, sheets are changed every night, water is hot in taps and shower.

Breakfast is prompt and good, homemade fruit juices, bread, eggs. Good coffee. Access to the kitchen seems to be permitted all day, with coffee, tea and water available. Microwave available. Plenty of saucepans etc.

There is a secure room in which we left luggage for the different parts of our trip and on our last day after we had given up our room - each time free of charge. The security perimeter fence was being raised to over 2 metres whilst we were there - it felt safe, pleasant and serene indoors.

There is a computer in the comfortable lounge with internet access - this was also free.

Rooms vary in size and outlook. We used rooms 3 and 4, people in our group had rooms 2, 5, 12 and 8. Room 3 faced the road and without earplugs the nights (Friday and Saturday) were disrupted by the live music and car alarms but really the benefits and atmosphere of this hostel over others nearby outweighed this for us.

We were able to walk to all the Old Town attractions from here - and visit the artisans' market on the way. Also nearby was a square which was the hub of activity - live music and market stalls- in the evening. The nearby Magic Bean Restaurante was recommended and did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Room 4 was more peaceful than room 3, noise comes mostly from the music in the square, rather than t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollybush2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Quality of rooms varied greatly - All were comfortable. This Hostal is run by a family and they are very helpful with arranging transportation and directing you to good food. But as in all Hotels and Hostals I found house slippers needed because of the cold floors. This hostal charges $45.00 per night per couple. Breakfast is provided with local jucies, eggs or toast. There is street noise as most places - ear plugs are a plus if you are use to country living like we are.

Room Tip: Rooms 12,13 & 15 are some of the nicest rooms in this Hostal - Take house slippers for the cold...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just off the beaten track from the centre of the new town but so handy. Few minutes walk and you were there. Basic and clean - enough for the several days that I had to come and go through Quito. Despite what others have said about the noise from the bars, I was lucky enough to have a quiet room. My room was also close enough to the wi fi internet. Small grocery store just several blocks away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceSL_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Great location in the Mariscal area, Hostal El Arupo is a really nice, clean and very friendly hostal. It's basic but not wanting for anything and is great value. The staff are all very friendly and the breakfast is very good too. We had a private room with bathroom and were as happy staying here as anywhere else we've stayed, even places much more expensive. It can be a little noisy at night given the proximity of the bars etc but that's the tradeoff you make for such a great location.

Room Tip: The private rooms with bathroom are great value!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmacca82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

If you want to stay in new town (I preferred old town), this is a good location. Very clean, quiet - especially for new town, hot water 24 hours/day, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room 13 was quiet, on 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeaasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed here. The family who runs the hostal are very nice and accommodating. The rooms in general are small and sparsely furnished with dropped ceiling and a small tv fixed to the wall that gets local channels from the tv antenna. However, the fact that the rooms are clean goes a long way here in Ecuador.
If you're able to stay in a room near the front of the house facing the quiet side street and you're fortunate enough to not have neighbors you'll have a great stay. However if you find yourself in a room near the rear of the house the bars and clubs on the next street will keep you up till 3 in the morning. Either that or the sound of your neighbors getting in late or waking up early and using the bathroom will make sleeping a challenge.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshcartr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#35 of 112 in Quito
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Quito
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#37 of 112 in Quito
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#36 of 237 in Quito
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#16 of 272 in Quito
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Arupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Arupo

Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-22 y Reina Victoria, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $29 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal El Arupo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal El Arupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing