We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lousy location..if you need to sleep, stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NU House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night at the end of trip to the Galapagos that included 2 nights stay at the Hilton Colon hotel. I thought the Hilton was noisy, with backing onto a busy road and hearing sirens, and traffic. Then I stayed at the Nu House. This location was much noisier, due to there being bars and restaurants all around that played music till the wee hours. The hotel itself was hip, clean, and lovely. The location is great, but not if you want to sleep. If you wish to stay out all night, then crash, then this is a great place. Plaza Foch is great in the daytime, but not so great at night.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, all the rooms face either the street or the square, thus noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your valuables comments. The Nu House Boutique Hotel is located at the most popular zone of Quito, therefore you can enjoy defintely your stay at our hotel and surroundings. We´ve taken in consideration the noise that this area might have but luckily we´ve invested in soundproof windows in order to minize it to its maximun.

Thannk you so much again for your kind words.

We are looking forward to hear very soon from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for NU House Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 559 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very good location. Lovely room. good service . the breakfast is taking place in a beautiful restaurant near the hotel. the staff help you very fast.the location in a neiberghood with a lot of coffe shops,restaurants and shops. very convenient .

Room Tip: chosse rooms in the new building looking to the market
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reliwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments we really appreciate them. The NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL is located in a strategic place where you can have some rest and fun as well. We love to know that you like our breakfast at our restaurant, we have good variety of products in order to give our clients the best possible.

We are looking forward to hear soon from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for six nights as a base to explore the City and surrounding area. Great location with restaurants right outside. Very contemporary, very clean and really helpful staff. Main drawback was that we fronted the square itself which was very noisy. Not a problem with excellent double glazing but you then needed the A/C on all night which was very noisy and inefficient. Surprising for a new hotel. As a result sleep was disturbed each night and hence our rating. Wifi in the hotel and supposedly in the rooms but no signal at 4th floor level

Room Tip: A room away from the main square and a lower level if you want wifi
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are very glad that you like our hotel and of course for us it was a pleasure that you´ve stayed at the NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL. Everyday we are focusing on improving all our accomodations and we would like to thank you for your suggestions we really appreciate your kindly words and we use them as feedback to give the best experience ever for our guest.


Looking forward to hear soon from you


Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I arrived late into Quito's airport and took a cab to the hotel. It was midnight by the time I arrived a the hotel. At first the cab driver did not want to go to this area since he claimed it was very congested. Once we approached the hotel I totally understood him. There was plenty of traffic and shady characters in the area.

Upon check in the receptionist told me that he had bad news for me - No Room for me. He was very apologetic and made reservations for me at another hotel and made transportation arrangements. I was able to check in the next morning and continue with my vacation. The hotel staff was wonderful.

Note there are plenty of private security guards in the area but very little police presence to calm/manage the crowds. The private security guards will not intervene if your getting mugg or assaulted. During my stay someone had been assaulted and had their throats slashed around the block.Therefore I stay closed to the hotel and did not wondered off by foot at night. I took cabs everywhere since they were relatively cheap.

The hotel is nowhere near the Old Town which has all the historic attractions. It took us from 20 to 30 minutes by cab to get there at a cost of 3-5 dollars.

The rooms are as illustrated in the website and very comfortable. Free WIFI in the lobby and in one tower only. Noise is not an issue. The hotel has double windows. The assocated restaurants Azucar and Q were great. We had dinner at an Uruguayan restaurant (Fuma Srola Sport) around the corner.

Quito turned out to be a great city to visit. The Ecuadorians are very friendly, humble and courteous people. I loved this city for its cleanliness, hospitality, history and culture. I would defintely encourage my friends to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and staff. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had your first night and that we could not give you the room you reserved. This was due to a big group that was supossed to check out that day, but unfortunately they had some problems with their airline tickets and they had to stay at our hotel for one more night. Luckily we count with very good allies hotels that ussually work with us when these incidents happens.

Our staff is very friendly and helpful with any requirement you might need. We are very greatful that you realized that we always focus on the service we provide. It was unfortunate that during your stay in Quito this random violent incident occured, but luckily the area has been declared a turistic zone which will decrease these problem in the future by increasing police and private security presence in the area.. Like in all touristict destinations of the world, it is always sound advise to be careful in new sorroundings to avoid any incidents. If you ever decide to come vist our amazing city, we would love for you to stay at the NU HOUSE HOTEL again.

Best regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fabulous hotel, location, and people. My only complaint is that I booked a night there solely because I needed a reliable landline for calls to the US. The reception staff assured me there would be no problem. However, their phone provider is apparently blocked or not configured correctly and I was unable to connect with any of several numbers in the US that i tried.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ddfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kindly comments, we really appreciate them. We would like to apologize for this major inconvenience you felt during your stay but we were doing maintenance to all our telephone system that was why you couldn´t connect it, we are really sorry about this issue but nowadays we cannot have this trouble again.

About the slow internet service we also want to kindly ask you to accept our apoligizes about it, in fact we were having some issues about the speed therefore we´ve decided to switch the internet supplier and luckily we´ll expect to avoid this problem.

We really invite you again to come and visit us and you´ll realize a better experience.

We are looking forward to hear very soon from you


Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A small and comfortable hotel... the location of this hotel it is perfect if you are looking to party. In the middle of Plaza Foch, a wonderful night life location makes this hotel an excellent choice to stay. It is really near to everything! All the hotel staff are really kind, they made me feel like in home. definitely recommend it if you are looking to be in a comfortable place and surrounded by the best night life in Quito.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcmartinez777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive greetings from the NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL staff. We really appreciate your kindly comments. We try to do our best to make our guest feel as they were home and happily you felt that way. It´s really an honour to receive such incredible comments from you that motivate us to keep improving our service.

We are looking forward to hear soon from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 2 boys (13 & 11) in mid-August for 4 nights prior to a trip to the Galapagos. The hotel is located right in the central nightlife area in Quito, Plaza Foch, which was very active on Friday and Saturday night, but due to Ecuador's alcohol laws, rather quiet on Sunday. Noise was not a problem and our room was equipped with a nominally effective air conditioning unit as well as a flat screen TV (with 30+ channels) and beautiful, if tiny, bathroom.

The hotel has a very sleek look and is decorated with art from Guayasamin, the famous Ecuadorian painter and is striking to look at. The staff was friendly and spoke varying degrees of English, certainly enough to communicate effectively. The type of room that we reserved was not available and we were offered an alternative for $10.00 more per night. That was an ominous start, but it turned out that the room we ended up with was better than the original (which I was shown later) and the price upgrade was nominal (although, frankly, it should have been comped). The rooms and the lobby are "European" in style (i.e., pretty attractive, but pretty small), but also functional. Our family of 4 did fine in a triple. Wi-fi is an issue, but there is a computer room on the second floor and at least one of the computers was up and running and was always empty when I needed it which only once or twice a day.

Cabs were always available in front of the hotel and as long as they are marked as such, they are very reliable. It appears that the hotel has a relationship with some drivers, but we found that all of the drivers we used were reliable. We did utilize the hotel's airport pick-up service, which went very smoothly; a comfort after a long day of travel to an unfamiliar country.

Breakfast was served in the affiliated "Q" restaurant next door and served a mix of South American and English foods. It was a solid, if unspectacular effort and we looked forward to it every morning. The hotel also owns the Azuca Beach and the Azuca Latin Bistro on the Plaza and both are quite good (as noted by others, we received a free drink coupon when we checked in).

With breakfast included, the price point was excellent. When the attractiveness of the hotel is added to its location (a 5-15 minute cab ride from everything), the Nu House, while by no means perfect, is excellent place to stay and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate them. As you said our hotel is very well located therefore you are near from everything, We are always focusing on service that is the key to give our guest very good experience and we count with very professional staff to help you in your requierements. Our philosophy is to provide best service in all matters, we´ve made important investments in soundproof windows to minimize to its maximun the noise you might feel and it´s very comfortable to know that you did not hear it at all. Our rooms are very well equipped with all things you might need to make your stay more comfortable.

Our wifi service has changed and nowadays you receive very good signal and you won´t have troubles again with service, we are very proud of improvments we are doing, we know that next time you come here, you´ll notice them. We have important agreements with drivers who can take you safety to your destination place we would like to recommend you, in your next time in Quito, to take them they will assure your own assurance.

We are highly honored by your kindly words and we are looking forward to hear very soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 112 in Quito
767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#32 of 112 in Quito
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 112 in Quito
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU House Boutique Hotel

Address: Foch E6-12 y Reina Victoria, Quito 593, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Quito
#22 Business Hotel in Quito
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $76 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU House Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nu house is the only hotel in Quito situated inside the Plaza Foch. Located in the heart of Quito's tourist and entertainment district, La Mariscal. The location is important because Quito's best and most frequented restaurants, bars, lounges and discos are at the footsteps of the Nu House Hotel. Nu House's design, with its beautiful wood facade, stands out as the most chic structure in Quito. Our guests will be immediately transported to pleasantly relaxing rooms that incorporate wood, stone, in an ambiance that is both natural and modern. Nu House boutique hotel prides itself on providing its guests with a unique experience. With its modern design, attentive staff, and incomparable location, Nu House boutique hotel is the perfect destination for both the leisure and business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NU House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing