We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base to operate from”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Nancy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Nancy
Ranked #83 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Base to operate from”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Villa Nancy as a base for our Ecuador trip. We stayed all or part of 7 nights in 3 different segments of our 17 day Ecuador trip, July 2013. This was a great place to base our in country travel from.

The staff was exceptionally helpful and provided vital service when we were there and away. Everything from wake up calls, information and advice, arranging transportation, messages and maps while we were there but also hotel safe for our valuables and secure storage for surplus baggage and equipment when we were in other parts of the country. When traveling to the Amazon rainforest (Napo Wildlife Center) and Galapagos yacht tour space is a premium so being able to pack specifically for the next adventure and leave everything else behind was a huge relief and appreciated service.

Breakfast was included as was an excellent wet sauna, the kind you ladle water on hot rocks, much better than dry sauna's. Showers worked on every occasion but one and between the two of us the shower was often used 3 or more times a day. Fridge concession was well maintained and reasonably priced, a key feature as it turned out as we were in and out at all times due to travel times.

The two restaurants across the street were also good. We ended up eating a couple times each at Hunters and Barlovento as we generally were spent by the time we got back to base. We had good food and fun with the staff when we ate at these places. The staff at Barlovento's stayed open for a hour past closing for us and even gave us presents the last time we ate there. Having these two eateries so close added to the neighborhood feeling.

The one drawback we did experience was it is not a well known location for taxi's returning. WE generally walked home as it is a good location but the few times we did cab it back we ended up identifying Hotel Quito as the destination then pointed to Muros street as we entered the round about. It worked, but I would recommend bringing an address card next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAguirreM, Manager at Hotel Villa Nancy, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Nelson;

Thank for you review of our hotel, we are glad that your stay with us was pleasant and we are happy that we could help in everything you needed, we hope to have you again with us in the future.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
14
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Az
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel and the room seemed to be clean and had hot water in the shower.
Breakfast was very good and even had eggs cooked to order.
The problem we had was finding the hotel. We had a taxi from the airport and it took him 3 stops to ask for directions to find the hotel. The next day we left our bags at the hotel(which they were very nice to store for us for the day by the way) to go to Carolina park and took a taxi back to the hotel and even gave the driver the card from the hotel to get back to and again had to stop several times to ask for directions to get back to the hotel.
Overall good hotel and if your spanish is ok it might not be so hard to find but make sure you have good directions to explain to the taxi driver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody51285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have to stay in hotels in Qutio when I travel from Cuenca to the U S. I have stayed in several and this is my choice for value and service. Hotel staff most helpful.They rememed my name after the first stay, and my wifes name when she stayed there alone. Very nice residential area surounding the hotel with restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This family hotel is very nicely located one block away from Hotel Quito. We stayed in total 5 nights in a family room (2 adults and 3 children). We were booked in three different rooms on the top (third) floor. The first night (Saturday) we could hear the music from the disco but it was not so loud to prevent our rest. There is no lift. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathrooms are very small and include only a small shower, not very comfortable. Hot water was not always available because it run out quickly. The staff was very helpful and flexible (the first morning after a late arrival they gave us breakfast at 11:30 am when normal closing time was 9:00 am). Breakfast was simple but good (bread/toasts, butter, marmalade, eggs prepared to your taste, ham, cheese, fruit, cereals...). Overall good price/quality ratio. I would recommend this hotel for families that are looking for a nicely located, clean and functional hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLANANCY, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Nancy, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Google Translation
Estamos muy alegres, y entusiasmados que su estancia en nuestro hotel le haya agradado.
Estamos aqui para servirles y para proporcionarle los mejores de los servicios. Esperamos poder verla otra vez, un inmenso abrazo y que tenga un magnifico dia y los dias por venir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here off and on during a 2 week trip to Ecuador. We found it to be very charming and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. One night we didn't check in until 9PM after having already traveled to the coast. We were short on clean clothes and I asked Juan if he could do a load for us. He did so without hesitation and I made a point of tipping him some extra. Vivianna and Andres were also very helpful during our stay.

I guess the issue with music comes in to play depending on what night you are there. The first time we checked in was very late on a Friday and yes.....the disco was thumping. However we were so tired that after awhile it didn't matter. You are over the flight path of planes to the airport and you will have to deal with car and building alarms going off at various times (they need to set the sensitivity a little lower).

If you need to catch a cab walk over to the area near the Hotel Quito. There are usually several cabs to take you wherever you want. However, make sure you negotiate the price BEFORE you leave. You can also have them drop you off in the same place as it is easier to explain it's location.

We had plenty of hot water on demand at any time so I'm not sure what happened with some of the other travelers.

Room Tip: Try to get room #11 on the 3rd floor. It has a double bed as well as 2 single beds. It just gives yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I would never recommend this place. I expected hot water and sleep. I got neither. Only cold water at night. There was hot water at 6:30 AM. It is across the street from a very loud night club. There was blaring music until around 1:00 AM. At around 3:00 AM a building alarm kicked in. It blared continuously with occasional 5-10 second breaks. I left at 7:30 AM and the alarm was still blaring. I also heard someone walk down the hallway at 4:00 AM. The walls are paper thin. Who the heck was that!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rockstem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were only here for one night before our plane took off from Quito the next morning, but boy was it memorable!

To begin with, the Villa had more of a dormitory/hostal feel. Walking up to our room we passed people sitting in their rooms with the doors open and there were people walking about late into the night. The staff, rooms and breakfast were fine. Nothing to write home about.

The best part though was the rhythmic thumping from the disco behind the villa. From the time we got there at night till about 1:30 am, we heard all the drum and base we could handle. Luckily, since the villa was right under a flight path, this was interrupted every now and then with a jet flying overhead.

But the real kicker was after the discotheque died down... oh say about 4am in the morning, the security alarm for the building across the way went off. And not just a recurring pattern. More of 1 minute on, 2 minutes off...4 minutes on, 1 minute off. Just enough for no one in the area to get any sleep. We left as soon as possible the next morning and decided we'd sleep at the airport. Admittedly, this is no fault of the Villa, but they did nothing to acknowledge or attempt to make amends.

Overall, the place was in a noisy section of the neighborhood and since the Villa was behind a high wall and a gate, perhaps not the best area of town...

Consider other places first.

Room Tip: Not at the back! Alley went by the first floor and the second floor windows are in line with the dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazergir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez
0.5 mi away
Rincon Escandinavo
Rincon Escandinavo
#85 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal de la Mancha
Hostal de la Mancha
#72 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zen
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zen
#25 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quito
Hotel Quito
#31 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#17 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Nancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Nancy

Property: Hotel Villa Nancy
Address: Muros N27-94 y Gonzalez Suarez, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Nancy 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the midst of the financial, comercial & banking district of Quito, close to re-knowned restaurants, embassies, travel agencies and many other touristically interesting sightseeing points. Just at 15 minutes from the Mariscal Sucre airport. 12 comfortable rooms and nice social areas making a cozy and familiar atmosphere, the perfect ingredients for a pleasant and relaxed stay! Private bathroom, Telephone, Cable television, Minibar, Individual safety deposit box at the reception, Use of our great Finish sauna, small library, Use of relaxation areas (Garden & Terrace),Luggage storage, Laundry service, Airport transfers, Telephone calls, Tours and many more!!! The best option in Quito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Villa Nancy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nancy Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing