We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Patrimonial(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 17(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Terranostra(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Valparaiso(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Brighton(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
116
113
66
33
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
113
66
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdead end streetterrace barcharacterful hotelold buildingspiral staircasethe lower levelascensor concepcionstaff was very friendly and helpfulcold cutsspoke englishtwo nightsthe room was nicebed was very comfortableown bathroomgreat viewyogurtbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 347 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our experience at the hotel was great. The staff was helpful and professional. The location and architecture of the hotel was even better. Its near all the interesting points that Valparaiso has to offer. The rooms are very clean and they keep the infrastructure which shows some history of the city. I would highly recommend to stay here if you happen to visit Valparaiso or Vina del Mar

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seabass305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Valparaiso is a magical town and this hotel is sprinkled with fairy dust! Getting there is exciting as there are small steep roads to traverse. As you step through the door, the friendly, antique strewn rooms embrace and welcome. The hotel is a beautifully restored house perched on the side of one of Valparaiso's 41 hills. There are stairs to be climbed and these might be tricky if you are less than able bodied, but otherwise it is a delightful rabbit warren,
The rooms are lovely and the view from my balcony was fabulous, especially with the moon shining over the bay.
The in house restaurant has an amazing wine list and the seafood inspired menu was extensive. My meal was exquisite and in the top 10 of meals I've ever eaten.
Outside the door are small arty stalls and a furnicular down the hill.
When I checked out I had asked reception to organise a taxi to the bus terminal. A man came along, grabbed my bag and took me down to the terminal...
I'm not sure if this is routine but it made life so much easier.
This is a family run, boutique hotel with a great location and a wondrous atmosphere.
Please take me back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This property is quaint and charming. That being said...there are some pitfalls that we were mislead about. We were told we had reserved suites but these were hardly regular hotel rooms. DO NOT PLAN TO PARK A CAR HERE. They told us there was limited parking behind the hotel. Thats true except it is impossible to find a spot that is not already taken by the locals and if you do find a place to park be sure to tuck in your mirrors because it is so narrow.
The room was also "quaint"...old carpet and furnishings but the bed was okay. Because there is an office building that looks right into the rooms be sure you close your shutters when you are dressing. This building it not attractive to look at either.
Okay...my number 1 gripe...the shower in the bathroom was 2 ft by 2ft. We are not large people but when my husband dropped the soap he could not bend over to pick it up. There was also a continuous odor in the bathroom.
Breakfast was adequate and the service was very good. It will help to be able to speak Spanish because although the ladies at recepton spoke englishnsomewhat it was difficult to understand. I switched over to my poor Spanish and did better than trying to speak English.
NONE of these issues would have bothered me, had the price been more reasonable. While we were there we looked into a few other places in Vina del Mar that were very nice and less expensive.

Room Tip: Look in Vina del Mar...easier to get to, less expensive, and much more modern. Take the metro to Valparaiso for your sightseeing...its only about 8 minutes.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We enjoyed a 3-night stay at the Gervasconi. Located high above the town of Valparaiso with views of the harbour. An old victorian home turned in to a very nice boutique hotel. One wall in our room had original stone work, 2-3 stairs led up to the bathroom and we had a small balcony. Winding hallways and stairways made this a hotel with character which we loved. Nice breakfast served in dining room or outside on patio. The hotel is family run and we felt the staff wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They even started breakfast early the day we were leaving to accommodate us. The funicular is close by with easy access to restaurants. We highly recommend the Pasta e Vino Italian Restaurant which is just around the corner. Great hotel. Great staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up rather than those close to street level.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Gervasoni for three nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a small boutique one with only 14 rooms, we had teh top floor loft room which afforded us a nice breeze at night and woke to the sounds of the seagulls early in the morning. GThe views are not spectacular since the harbor has been develped and there are numerous highrises in front, but you do get the sene of being at a working port.Despite some criticisms about the noise from the street below we had none. There are rooms on the lower level that may have that problem. The breakfast each morning was more than adequate, the staff had limited English but tried very hard and were very helpful.
Valpariso gets mixed reviews especially if you arrive on a cruise ship and just transit through but we found the three days very interesting. The history, geography, funiculars and local architecture all added to keep us busy. A trip on the subway to Vina Del Mar provided a different perspective of the area as it is much more touristy. We ate in VDM at Delicio Del Mar and it was very good, definitely would recommend but there are lots in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, but it isn't a necessity. Great overall location on one of the most scenic paseos in Valpariso.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews