We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to stay”
Review of Casa Hostal 199

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Hostal 199
Ranked #37 of 96 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
lisboa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a place to stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I stayed at the room "Flores guajiras" on a Winter day. The house is beautiful and cozy, and the room itself has a magnificent view over the harbour and Valparaiso bay. Its romantic decoration with flowered wallpaper, iron furniture and white linen made my stay very pleasant. It was a cold day outside and I was received with a hot tea into a warm house. The guests (Alex and Trini) were kind and nice, and gave me valuable tips about the surroundings. The morning breakfast was diverse: fresh fruit and juice, yogurt, milk, coffee, tea, fresh bunny bread... The house is located on the top of a hill, next to the funicular and one of the belvederes of Valparaiso, quiet accessible. I would definitely recommend it to a friend. Actually, I already did it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aka_lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    29
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
65
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our stay in Valparaiso was shortened to just one night, but we were glad we spent it at the 199. We arrived very late (after a long flight + bus journey) and it was a very cold evening, so it was great to see a nice, smiling face and have a warm and comfortable bed. Trini was lovely, as was our little room, the view from it, and the house in general. The area downstairs where we ate breakfast was filled with interesting little trinkets and artworks and had a great atmosphere. Trini and Ale made me want to set up my own B+B! We would love to have stayed longer to see more of Valparaiso and we will be back some day...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

On arrival we were met and welcomed by Trini, one of our hosts, to this historic house with ample atmosphere. We were shown to our room, very clean with crisp white linen. The room had a stunning view over the harbour, the greater Valparaiso and Viña del Mar. We met Ale, Trini's husband and co-owner, later. Both are really fiendly and helpful and offered good advice wrt our stay.
Breakfast was ample with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and feshly baked rolls, jams and coffee.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2009

i had a great time staying at the hostal 199. trini and ale were welcoming and gave me great suggestions on where to eat. i was traveling alone and they were happy to include me in conversations and we all had a lot of fun! thanks!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailygaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort lauderdale, Florida, usa
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Upon arrival we were met by Ale and he greeted us like family, Asked us to take a seat in the living room while he prepared us fresh tea and coffee..Our assigned room had a very nice private bathroom and a fantastic view of the port,. The room and the entired house was very clean. The morning breakfast was excelent and you could seat outside on their front porch while enjoying it. The porch overlooks the bay giving you a great view of the city as well. The B&B is next to the "Artilleria ascensor " which takes you up and down the hill (cerro). Later on we met Trini, Ale's wife, and she helped us find a city tour, arranged for a taxi to the port to board our ship, had some of our clothes washed and was a fantastic hostess. We would recomend their hostal 199 B&B to even the most meticulous traveler, we were extremely pleased.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Casa Hostal 199 in Valpariso was about the most memorable experience of our three week trip to South America. The location, view, cleanliness, and helpfulness made us feel we had seen, felt and experienced this indescribeable city. Don't miss the opportunity to have an incredible experience at this wonderful B&B which overlooks the harbor and harbor activities. Owners Trini and Alex were wonderful hosts. After a great walking tour (the ONLY way to see this city) with the German Pirate we all sat around enjoying the veranda and view like old friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nahenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmoe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Casa Hostal 199 is the best place to stay at during your visit in Valparaiso! This cute little hostel is situated on one of the hills, overlooking the colourful city and harbour. It's easily reached by the old Funicular. Outside the entrance you’ll find a little terrace where you can have your breakfast in the morning or bring your own wine in the evening, watching the harbour in the moonlight.
Entering the hostel feels like stepping into someones beautiful home.
You’ll be greeted by the owners of the hostel, a very friendly and charming couple, running the hostel all by themselves. They will gladly help you with more or less everything; tips about where to go and what to do, reservations to wineyards, calling taxis etc etc. As we don’t speak spanish, we couldn’t have done all the things we did in Valparaiso without them!
The rooms are spacious, clean and fresh, decorated with old beautiful furniture and comfortable beds!
Breakfast is served downstairs in the livingroom where you also find a computer with internet access, free of charge.
We will gladly recommend this adorable hostel to others, intending to stay i Valparaiso!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ostello Valparaiso
Ostello Valparaiso
#40 of 96 in Valparaiso
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 96 in Valparaiso
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Portobello
Hostal Portobello
#20 of 96 in Valparaiso
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 96 in Valparaiso
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hostal 199? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hostal 199

Property: Casa Hostal 199
Address: Artilleria 199, Valparaiso 2361730, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hostal 199 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel overlooks the harbour and entire bay of Valparaiso offering a prime panoramic view from most of our the rooms as well as from our main guest terasse.It is situated next to uphill station of Artillera, Museo Naval and paseo 21 de Mayo. Our aim is to host traveller who expects a clean, neat and bright accommodation in an characterful old house with famliy atmosphare combined with excellent service. As we do speak English and portugueis also assistance for german speaking travellers can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Hostal 199 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing