We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel except for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manoir Atkinson
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Decent old hotel with 7 rooms in a great location. Nothing fancy. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was fine, rooftop sitting area view was outstanding. So the problem? We had the hotel arrange for taxis to take us to our ship at the port. They arranged private taxis (the official taxis are black and yellow) that are not allowed to drop us at the passenger terminal, of which we had no knowledge. After almost half an hour of arguing on the main road near the terminal and walking to the terminal without our luggage to find no police that day, we got the drivers to take us to the terminal. We also there found out the fixed price fare was about 30 percent too high. When we let the manager know about this afterwards, we got no response.

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 208 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We found Hotel Manoir Atkinson on a whim and what a lucky find. Our first visit to the Chilean coast and I dont think we could have picked a better place to stay. The hotel is wonderful inside and out and sits in an amazing location. An ideal blend of convenience and beauty. The hotel is perched high above a beautiful local plaza (Anibel Pinto) and is on one of the loveliest streets (Atkinson) that I we saw during our entire stay. From the rooftop you can enjoy a glass of wine and look out all the way to Vina Del Mar. Our room was not fitted to the nines but it was tastefully done and very comfortable. Just down the street you will find numerous cafes and restaurants that offer amazing lunch and dinner options. The hotel staff was very helpful throughout our stay and even entertained my efforts to converse with them in spanish. We didnt want to return to Santiago after our stay in Manior Atkinson and experiencing the charm of Valpo. Beware, If you stay here you will want to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBRAero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Traveled all through Chile and this was the best place to spend our last few nights in the country. Quiet, nice rooms. Great friendly staff, great breaky, good, safe location, beautiful roof top patio. Close to La Concepcion restaurant which was super nice. The most we spent on hotel rooms the entire trip but well worth it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 8yearoldsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our second visit to Hotel Atkinson. We found it by accident in 2007. Nice rooms, friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful views. We took TurBus from Santiago to Valparaiso. Good nearby restaurants. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked this hotel for a two night stay after a cruise from Rio de Janeiro and were a bit conserned about the location. We had no need to worry, the hotel is situated in a completly restored old home and is in a respectful old neighbourhood. We stayed in the top floor room overlooking the harbour, and the price included Champagne and chocholates. The hotel staff were wonderfully helpful and gave some good advice in what to see in Valparaiso. the breakfast room and sitting room was old colinial style, very confortable. The area around the hotel is very safe with good restaurants and bars. It's great to walk down to the town then take one of the areas British Victorian finicular (elevator) railways back to the top otherwise it's a steep climb. If you have time it's worth getting a local guide to show you the rest of Valparaiso also when in valparaiso it's a must to visit Pablo Neruda's house, taxi's will take you close by and it's very safe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiverjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

All that you want for a marvelous stay. Very good Service, Excellent location and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldis1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My sister and I spent 2 nights at Hotel Manoir Atkinson! It was perfect! We took the bus from Santiago, which was very easy. The bus was only $30.00 for 2 of us round trip! It was really easy to get a cab from the bus terminal and it was only about $8.00 to the hotel. It is in the best location in the city and we felt totally safe walking around, even at night. We stayed in room number 7, which is the largest room and is considered the suite. We liked this room a lot and used the balcony in the morning and at night. We did look at the other rooms while we were there and they all were very cute, just a lot smaller than Room 7. Our room was located on the 3rd floor with direct access to the 3rd floor terrace and then up to the rooftop terrace. The rooftop terrace was totally amazing and we had wine up there one night. Valparaiso does have a lot of street dogs, which is common in many parts of Chile, but we rarely heard them at night and we slept very well. Plenty of hot water and the breakfast was great! Very European style breakfast, which we liked. I hope to go back to Valparaiso and I would for sure stay at Hotel Manoir Atkinson, again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkvasager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#24 of 35 in Valparaiso
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
#15 of 35 in Valparaiso
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Atkinson

Address: Paseo Atkinson 165 | Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range: $113 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manoir Atkinson 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manoir Atkinson is all about warm hospitality and dedicated service. A charming French Hotel-boutique located in the very heart of the historic district of Valparaiso, this old patrimonial home was completely restored in a manner that is respectful of the neighborhoods singular traits and the essence of its first European owners. Strategically situated on the renowned Paseo Atkinson, the Manoir is the rendezvous lieu of tourists and foreigners of all origins, all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Manoir Atkinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Atkinson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing