We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 104 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a fabulous B&B. At first I was concerned about being away from the main downtown/historic area but actually ended up loving the location - it had the most amazing views and was nice and relaxing to be away from the hustle and bustle. It was very easy to take a collectivo (shared taxi) from the main area and stops right at camila street just a few doors down from the B&B. The areas we explored below the B&B were some of my favorite in the city, including Ex-carcel - an abandoned prison that has been turned in a park and contemporary art space. Also walking distance to Pablo Neruda's home.

We stayed in a room with the hillside view with private bathroom. Room was very clean and modern.
Common area was nice with lots of interesting books, and the balcony was lovely with views of the entire city. It was really great to see all the "green" design elements in the building. The host was very charming and helpful. Breakfast was great.

Only negative is there are a lot of dogs barking in the neighborhood at night, but I imagine this is case in most areas of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egallerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms were very nice and clean and the place in general was comfortable and inviting. The host was really friendly and helpful and the breakfast she made was awesome. However, the real highlight of our stay was in the evening when we were able to relax on the terrace and enjoy some empanadas and drinks while soaking in the views of Valparaiso at night.
Also, we were pleasantly surprised by the host and owner who helped us recover something we misplaced during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brilliantdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Camilla and really enjoyed our stay with Ulysses. The rooms were very comfortable, good wifi and breakfast on the terrace overlooking Valparaiso was a great way to start the day! The owner, Ulysses could not have been more helpful giving us a map and good advice and instructions to get around the city. The B&B is situated higher up the hill but is close to the collectivo drop off, bus stop and 15 min walk from UNESCO area in one direction and Pablo Neruda's house in the other.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The rooms are small but comfortable, along way from anything if you wanted to go out in the evening. The tour books stated that laundry service was available, but when we asked the manager he was to get back to us...After a day and a half we asked the lovely woman who made our breakfast...she was going to take it to town to the laundry service place for us...and it would be returned that night. When we got back our laundry was there, dirty, the girl never came back, the owner/manager very rude, said okay I will get it done, for $40.00 US a bag. The price is per kilo, and would have been about $10.00 max. Breakfast was fruit, coffee, cheese and buns. Again the view is amazing!

Room Tip: The room off the common area has its own bathroom and goes onto the patio, very quiet, except for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chili2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camila109, Gerente at Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I asked USD20(CLP10.000) for a bag (including drying) and she had 2 bags. This is the cost in our place for a bag of around 6 kilos (USD10 for washing machine & USD10 for drying machine).
And of course she didn't mention that I got upset because after saying the price she hit my chest and called me robber. All happened while she and her friends were having a lot of drinks on Camila 109's terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Camila 109 for one night in mid-December 2012 and the experience made us wish that we had stayed much longer! We were welcomed by Ulysses when we arrived in the morning. Our room wasn't ready quite yet since we were so early, but he held our bags for us and helped us find our way to the bus stop so we could check out the area.

We were so pleased to come back to find our room, which was upstairs with a balcony facing the water. The view was incredible and the small deck was just perfect for sitting with a book in the sun. They serve a delicious breakfast with bread, cheese, fruit, jam, and coffee out on the main porch, and it's a fantastic way to start out the day.

The only downside was that there was a little bit of street noise at night, but we were otherwise very happy with our stay and would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Pick the upstairs suite with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbelkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed in that B&B for one night in March 2013. We have stayed in the bedroom with sea-views. The bedroom is great decorated with an amazing balcony from which you can enjoy Valparaiso. Breakfast was included and very good, as the service. People is very helpful. The place is located no more than 30 minutes walking up from the port, so it should not be an inconvenience.
The only note that must me remark is the use of recycled water for the WC, provoking a non desired smell in the whole bathroom, but it is not a "big deal". The place was perfectly clean.
Honestly, a very good option in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anxoangelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Camilla 109 was the final lodging in my four week trip to Chile. I stayed for a week and felt very much at home. Ulysses is great. It is comfortable, breakfast is marvy, and the view from the peaceful patio is breathtaking. Which, of course, means it's a hike to get there, but once you understand Valparaiso, the climbs are what the city is all about.
In any case, you can catch a 300 peso (65 cent) ride from any of the dozens of collectivos (group taxis) that queue up at the bottom of Calle Ecuador and ride to Plaza Bismarck, which is just two blocks away. But I prefer the walk up Ecuador or Cummings, past the cementarios. It's also nice to be close to Calle Alemania, which is the street the runs almost flat along the top of the first rows of cerros (hills). It's a great, scenic road for jogging, walking, or accessing Pablo Neruda's house and all parts of the City.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtJesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#5 of 35 in Valparaiso
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
#15 of 35 in Valparaiso
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 104 in Valparaiso
201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 104 in Valparaiso
520 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Mirador
El Mirador
#3 of 104 in Valparaiso
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cerro La Loma Camila 109 | Av. Alemania 5600, Valparaiso 2380454, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range: $65 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camila 109 is a bed & breakfast that combines a warm and family with service to match international standards of accommodation in the port of Valparaiso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing