We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of B&B La Nona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B La Nona
Ranked #11 of 104 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

From the moment I walked through the door I knew I was going to like this B&B. The host, Rene, and his family are true professionals. Nothing is overlooked - from the wonderful welcome to the amazing breakfast. What Rene doesn't know about Chile isn't worth knowing. Ask him what you should see in beautiful Valparaiso and he will sit down with you and create a magic itinerary. Highly recommended accommodation.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Grifflarudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed with Rene and Carolina for 3 nights in mid January. We enjoyed every minute of our time there. Rene and Carolina welcomed us into their home, letting us use the kitchen to make lunch and dinner, and preparing breakfast for us every morning. My husband and I are trying to learn Spanish, and they were very patient with us while we practiced, but Rene also speaks English. Rene sat with us and gave us advice about different towns and spots in Chile that we should explore. Also, my husband accidentally left his watch in our room when we left, and Rene emailed us, offering to mail it to us.

I highly recommend staying at La Nona during your visit to valparaiso.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nfcrotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Unfortunately, I was only able to spend a couple of nights here. The location is great and It is impeccably clean. Nona and Rene were fantastic hosts. And it DEFINITELY has the best breakfast (and coffee) of any place I stayed in my 2 1/2 weeks in Chile. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this little B&B for anyone to stay! It is located at the top of the hill in Cerro Alegre, a short walking distance to the main part of town. The owner Rene speaks excellent English and welcomes you with open arms, a map and orientation to the city with suggestions of things to do. Breakfast is made by his mum (she is also lovely) and consists of fruit salad and muesli, bread, homemade jams, turkey, salawmi, cheese, tea and coffee..delicious! My partner and I would definitely stay here again. Rene was so helpful he even booked us a 5am taxi and got up at 4am before we went to make us breakfast - much appreciated :) What surprised me is you could drink water out of the tap, if we could change one thing it would be to stay a few extra days and travel north to the next cities to visit the.beach and shopping malls.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Rene is really helpful and has great local and Chilean travel knowledge.
Breakfast is great, fruit, toast, jams, brilliant coffee and cold meats with cheese. Even home made yogurt.
Our room was great, clean, comfortable and quiet.
A very enjoyable 2 nights in La nona. We highly recommend this place one of the best we have stayed in during our 3 months in South America.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank retired_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 nights stay at La Nona. Felt at home with full use of kitchen and lounge area with books, tv, computer for relaxing after a day if exploring Valparaíso. Very friendly and helpful owners. Great location, short walk downhill to historic district. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueyIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Rene made me feel very welcome when I arrived. Wonderful hot showers large and sunny room and great breakfast. I checked out one other b n b before I chose La Nona because the rooms weremuch nicer and the price the same. There are many more possibilities in the neighbourhood but I would go back to La Nona if I went to Valpo again. I bicycle tour and Rene has great parking for bicycles.. he rides himself. He has the best coffee for breakfast too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikeMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
#15 of 35 in Valparaiso
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Cerro Alegre
Hostal Cerro Alegre
#19 of 104 in Valparaiso
161 reviews
34.9 mi away
No photo provided
Roots Hostel
#64 of 242 in Valparaiso
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ecomusic Hotel
Ecomusic Hotel
#21 of 35 in Valparaiso
100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Latinoamericanohostal
Latinoamericanohostal
#104 of 242 in Valparaiso
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Nona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Nona

Address: Galos 660 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2380108, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range: $58 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not a 'typical' property because we are more than just a friendly place to stay. The best way to experience a foreign place is with the locals, and that's what makes us different. We will share our home life with you because we do not see you as a tourist, we see you as a traveler, a friend who wants to see and learn how we live from day to day: where daily life becomes poetry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B La Nona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing