We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
217
65
11
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
217
65
11
7
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 304 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2015

Quirky, cosy, wonderfully friendly staff, terrific location, great views. I just wish I could have stayed for longer than one night! Will definitely come back if I ever have the chance to visit Valparaiso again.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Propietario at The Yellow House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015

I appreciate your words and time to write. Valparaiso is amazing, we love what we do and hope that is transferred in time ...
Have a great year for you
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2015

Girlfriend and I got there and both were not that excited as others reviewers seems to be. First of all, the location is not super fun. It's above the old port (well the view is fantastic) and to go into bar and restaurant where the nighlife is you really have to go by collectivo. Otherwise you have to walk by the ''not so recommended'' streets. Beds are comfortable, and the place is clean. Breakfast are really good. And Anna is really super sweet. But there was that other who just did not fit into the hospitality business. Anyways. We had a bad timing I guess because there was renovations on the streets, so early wake up for people on vacation (that was not cool). But it's not The Yellow House fault. They could have accomodate us with another room not on the street side, but they wanted to charge us the full price even though it was empty (that was not cool). The dynamic in the place was not that fun. I mean, Im nothing as a party animal, we were a couple travelling. It's just, we felt better stay in our room than to go in common places. Everything was ok. Nothing more.

Room tip: not on the street side!
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kovskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Propietario at The Yellow House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015
Google Translation

Primero te doy las gracias por escribirnos, tu opinión nos da luces para poder ofrecer un mejor servicio. A modo muy personal considero que la comunicación debe ser recíproca y la mala aptitud es a veces una consecuencia de esta falta de comunicación. El idioma no es una barrera cuando realmente te quieres comunicar, una lástima pero las opiniones parten de la subjetividad y no de la objetividad...Espero que entiendas!
Un abrazo
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2014

I can't say enough about this place. All the reviews about the stunning views, clean bathrooms, and nice amenities is true, but the real draw of this place are the people that run it, headed by Anna, who is an angel. Valparaiso was my second stop on a three week adventure through Chile and Argentina and The Yellow House was my FAVORITE place to stay. Anna's staff are basically the coolest, most knowledgeable, english-speaking people in town. They gave me amazing advice about what to do, where to go, local events. I even went to a small rock concert I never would have known/cared about and it was the highlight of my nightlife! The Yellow House is a gem, I recommend it in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Best view is the Ocean view which is spectacular. Other rooms have v good views to, just slightly less majestic because they don't have the same panoramic windows.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KesuJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Propietario at The Yellow House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2015

Hi there!

You could have not said it better yoursel! That's exactly what differentiates the yellowhouse from other B&B's in town ,and we are really glad to have such a positive feedback .

Not only do we create such a warm atmosphere but our visitors also contribute to create this. Believe it or not, we still talk about you and your softwares. Your kindness and interest in meeting people have already left a mark in the yellow house.

I hope to see you again in the near future!

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2014

We agree with all the former reviews about the owner of the place, Anna, lovely and sweet.
We had the room with the great view of Valparaiso. We can definitely recommend this room with private bathroom. It also has a water cooker. Nearby you also have a lovely view of the city with a terrace.
Breakfast was great and during the day you can walk to the center of town or take a collectivo. Be prepared to walk a lot of stairs up and down the center of town.
At night it is not advisable to walk to the center of town. That is a pity.

Room tip: take the room with the best view
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Spinniecur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Recepcionista at The Yellow House, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the rest of the travelers!

It is true that we do not recommend to go to the center of the city on foot during the night, but most of our guests that go to the center make their way back to the Yellow House by taxi or cabs. We only want to make sure that our guests have a safe stay.

All best wishes from Valparaíso!

Diego
TYH Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2014

OK so apparently the area between here and the centre of town is a bit sketchy but I think that's true of a lot of areas in Valparaiso! Amazing views of the port. I had a lovely big en suite room with wonderful high ceilings. Breakfast starts at nine with all guests around one table which is great for chatting with people. SUPER breakfast!Family run ..the whole family are incredibly nice and friendly and went out if their way to help however they could. Lovely happy feeling in this house. Sleep was a bit interrupted by neighbourhood dogs but that seems to be a constant in Chile!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brid Mack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Owner at The Yellow House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Dear Brid,

thank you so much for your lovely words. We are so glad that you had such a nice stay here in our Bed & Breakfast. We love this too, if our guests are staying in our dining room after breakfast only to have a good conversation.
The breakfast is one of the highlights that we offer. Every day I`m baking cookies or cakes and I m glad to hear that you enjoyed it.
The way to the city center is short and if you use the recommended way it is easy to go to the city center.
Yes, you are right the dogs are in every city in Chile. But they don`t barking all the time. And I think some people hear them more than others. But the most can sleep with the noises of Valparaiso. I think this is also a part of it, I think if you have to describe Valparaiso there would be also the barking of the dogs but also the painting houses, the small streets and the unique "ascensores".
Valparaiso is a big city for that reason you will hear the noise but we are about 10 minutes away from the city center therefore it is pretty quiet here.

Brid, I hope we will see us again and wish you all the best. We hope you will have a wonderful Christmastime.

Kind regards
Ana & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews