We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Yes it is 62 steps from the sidewalk to the room, but being in the room at the top front of the house is one of the most magical I have been in. Room number 8. We arrived early and our room was ready. The rooms on the second floor (American) are huge but I wouldn't trade the top. It has windows on two sides and a terrace overlooking a panoramic view of the bay and the hills of Valparaiso. The light in the room is hard to describe it is so beautiful, not to mention the view. There is even another terrace at the top of the stairs with views toward the east. Hector was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. The walking is easier than it looks. Valparaiso is a magical place.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank teafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 159 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed five nights and the people at the desk helped us to plan exclusions, explained the transportation systems, and directed us to excellent restaurants, museums, and even the closest (excellent Lavanderia Jerusalem) laundry service. Breakfast was included, served (not a buffet), and facilities, while old, were excellent. The only caveat is the hotel, like most in the city, is located on a,steep hill up from the flat of the port area.

Room Tip: There are only eight rooms. Ours, on the top floor #8 has a balcony and a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this historic hotel after a cruise. We had a room at the top of the house with a nice terrace and a great view of the harbor. Our taxi driver had no problem finding the hotel, which was hard to believe since it looks like a neighborhood home! The hotel is well located, within walking distance to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura_T_499092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this nice hotel for 6 days. Very pleasant and lovely location in Cerro Alegre. Decoration and furniture in hotel and in room was so nice and beatifull that we felt like beeing in a private house. The owner was always very helpfull and gave us lot off advice for our trips around in the city and the region. Would give 6 "stars" if not the internet was so bad. It only worked 1 day out of 6, which for me was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The home is located in Cerro Allegre, just around the corner from everything. The room and bathroom were decorated in tasteful boutique vintage style. We were always comfortable and felt right at home. In the morning, we were served a lovely breakfast on the front terrace. The sun was shining, fruit trees surrounding us, and we felt we could have stayed there the whole day.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nomi_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We took a while to find the place given the one way systems, narrow streets and us not being familiar with the city, but once we got there we had a warm and friendly welcome, a really nice room with a discount (not for paying cash) and Hector was so friendly and helpful - not at all as decscried in the review elsewhere. The hotel is in the heart of the quaint bit of Valpropaiso - lots of excellent reatauraunts (e.g. Cafe Turri with delicious seafood black squid ink lasagna) and cafes in the area

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJN970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

When we were planning our trip to Valparaiso, my Dad made a special request to stay in one of the old Victorian mansions that line the hillsides of the port-side city. Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales is barely distinguishable among the other houses in the neighborhood of Cerro Alegre (literally, "Happy Hill"). A boutique hotel with only about 10 rooms, it is actually an old restored mansion transformed into a guest house. As we arrived, the hotel staff quickly buzzed us into the gate from the sidewalk, where we were immediately impressed with the magnificient facade and beautifuly maintained garden terrace, but daunted by the ~20 stairs we were faced with climbing to arrive at the front door. This really is a magical place to stay - not unsimilar to the house portrayed in Isabel Allende's most famous book, The House of Spirits.

The lavishly decorated foyer was even more impressive than the facade- decked out in period furniture appropriate to the age of the house (likely early 1900's since the earthquake of 1906 destroyed most of the buildings in town). And even though we had arrived before check-in, we were pleasantly surpised to learn that our rooms were indeed ready and so we were able to settle into our rooms before setting out to find lunch. Breakfast is served in one of the elegant vaulted rooms downstairs, and included fresh orange juice, fruit, pastries, jam, cheese and of course cafe con leche.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DulceAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#9 of 35 in Valparaiso
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
461 reviews
0 mi away
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
#15 of 35 in Valparaiso
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales

Address: San Enrique 446 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370832, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range: $157 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerscales Boutique Hotel, was once the home of nineteenth century English painter Thomas Somerscales and his family, who in 1874 built his house in the heart of Cerro Alegre, which dwell in their lives in Valparaiso and would house much of its inspiration . In the present and after 140 years, the former home of the family becomes Somerscales an innovative tourist accommodation, located in an area declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and their architecture, subject and environment they keep this concept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thomas Somerscales Valparaiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing