We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garivalpo B & B, a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 97 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2010

One month ago i went for a weekend to Valparaiso, my favourite city in Chile. Some friends talked to me about garivalpo b& b, so i was for one weekend on this old tipical house of Valparaiso, located on a street get high a central hill near of France Avenue. The house has many sights for the most famous places of Valparaiso, to the bay, ships, the congress and the sea. There's good attention in this b&b by Ube and her daughter for every passenger, the breakfast is of first level and the rooms looks so fine. I hope come back very soon to Valparaiso, the magical city of Chile.
ALDO

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OasismaniacO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 95 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2009

We arrived by cruise ship on a Sunday. We were slightly worried about how to find out way to the location but the "Official Taxi¨" person at the port shepherded us to a taxi, who charged $20 US to go to Garivalpo. All we did was show the driver the map of the B&B and we were home free.

We spent a lazy eight days at the B&B over Christmas before going on to Santiago for two more days before flying out. Ube (short for Uberlinda) was the matron of the home. Now I fully understand the phrase "mi casa es su casa". Her son and girlfriend; daughter and son-in-law; and daughter were most gracious and friendly. We had an opportunity to practice our fledgling Spanish during the trip at her house as in most of Valparaiso.

Ube invited us to open gifts with her family on Christmas Eve. She gave us gifts and we in turn gave some delicacies that we had brought from Alaska. It was a most memorable experience. Ube is willing to help in any way. She helped us make arrangements to the restaurant "Coco Loco", a revolving restaurant overlooking the port and city and arranged a private car and driver to take us there and back since we were dressed in our best clothes two nights before Christmas.

We found that very few people spoke English in Valparaiso, but everyone was willing to help. We would recommend Ube wholeheartedly to anyone wanting to experience Valparaiso.

As a plus, we made our next trip to Casa Newen in Santiago and the son of the B&B owners came to pick us up in Valparaiso for an extra fee. This is something we found especially helpful being English speakers.

Ube´s home is most welcoming and hospitable. We recommend it to anyone who wants to step away from the beaten path.

Anchorage, Alaska.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Was a wonderful place to stay. A very gracious hostess and lovely rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Garivalpo was a great b&b, the owner Uberlinda and her friend Anita were fantastic. The b&b was in the center of valparaiso, although not in the prime tourist area of cerro concepcion,
it was just a 15 minute walk to just about anywhere. The neighborhood in which the b&b was located was a real barrio and interesting to be in. As for the b&b it was great, but try to get a room with a view, all the rooms are clean and comfortable but a view makes it that much better. By the way the breakfast was incredible. All the food who could possibly eat. Garivalpo is a true family
experience, a great find for my first days in chile and valpariso. Ray from new york city

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

My Mom, 2 sisters and I stayed at the Garivalpo for three nights. We were a bit dubious when we arrived as the B and B is on a very steep hill in a non-tourist section of Valpo. My Mom is elderly and has a difficult time walking. We were greeted by Uve, the owner. She is wonderful. Spanish is her primary language and English is our but she was able to figure out what we needed. Her assistant, Anita speaks English fairly well. Her husband, Ramon (very sweet) will take you around in his private car for a fee.
The place was very clean and the beds comfortable. Some rooms share a bathroom with other guests. There did not appear to be an AC but in mid March the weather did not require it. Hotter months may be an issue. My mom and sister stayed in the front room on the street side. Nice room but the barking dogs (a problem all over the city) woke them early in the morning. Recommend a back room with a nice view.
They had great free wi-fi and one land liine computer that could be used as well.
It's a 15 minute walk to a shopping area and restaurants. We required a taxi because of my Mom. If you're not a walker this is not the place for you unlcess you take a taxi.
Breakfast consisted of a European spread of cold cuts, bed, cheese and fruits. All served very nicely. Tang substituted for orange juice.
If you are renting a car there is NO place to park. Uve mentioned a parking garage but I don't know the location. Streets are winding and very narrow.
The place was very safe and overly hospitable. Uve went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. We meet some great traveller's there and had a party one night. Everyone was so friendly! Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pho2Freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My husband and I started our trip here, and we liked it so much we returned to finish off our month of travels, and spent our last three days here. Ube, the owner is awesome. Very warm and friendly. Breakfast each morning was excellent, and she allows her guests to use the kitchen to cook meals.
The B&B is downtown so you do hear some traffic noise and barking dogs. However this seems to be a problem no matter where you stay in Valparaiso.
We truly felt comfortable here, very much at home.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatewaydesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

My wife and I (both in our late 50´s) stayed in this lovely bed & breakfast for 10 days. The owner and host, Uberlinda Valencia, was unfailingly kind and helpful for our entire stay. She keeps the B & B spotlessly clean. Two rooms at the back of the house have a nice view of the bay and a cerro opposite. Breakfast of sliced fruit, buns, meat, cheese and real coffee was always fresh. As most sights are within easy walking distance of her home, part way up a hill (but only a dozen blocks from the bus station), her location just about perfect. Make sure to take a walking tour with "The German Pirate", without doubt the most interesting & uncommercial tour we´ve ever experienced.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Katie_MCalgaryAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
460 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Casa de Henao
La Casa de Henao
#7 of 97 in Valparaiso
115 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Mirador
El Mirador
#5 of 97 in Valparaiso
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 97 in Valparaiso
190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 97 in Valparaiso
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Cerro Alegre
Hostal Cerro Alegre
#13 of 97 in Valparaiso
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast

Address: Garibaldi 191 | Cerro la Cruz, Valparaiso, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging in House of Chilean Family Location in Garibaldi street Nº191 of the Hill "the Cross" of the city of Valparaiso, Chile.House, built in the century XIX with its own architectonic characteristics of the port of Valparaiso, is only three minutes away from the centre of Valparaiso.. Furthermore the museum house "La Sebastiana" (former house of Pablo Neruda), the "Mole Baron" where the big cruises lie at anchor, the elevators "Monjas" and "Polanco", and the National Congress are only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing