We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
65
25
5
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
25
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la sebastiana pablo neruda's house common areas spa patrizia mansion views hill city hostel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 101 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

5 stars for the massage, but 0 stars for the customer service from the hotel spa. We only came for a massage, and didn't stay at the hotel. The masseuse Nicole gave one of the best massages I've ever had -- super relaxing! The ambiance of the hotel gardens was lovely, with a rooftop deck to lounge with panoramic views of the hills and Pablo Neruda's house. But unfortunately the service from the hotel was very disappointing - even though we arrived fifteen minutes early, the spa wasn't ready to receive us until over 15 minutes after our appointment was supposed to begin. We told the receptionist that we still had to end at the same time, and requested a shorter massage with a discount, since it was their fault for starting late. After the abbreviated massage, we were expecting a discount - but the manager insisted on charging full price for just half the time. Very disappointing, and wouldn't trust this hotel in the future.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank OishiiPostre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our two night stay in Valpariso before starting on our cruise. Since hotels in the town all seemed to be small individually owned ones we decided to go for a B&B instead and this one had generally good reviews.
The whole stay started badly when we got a taxi from the bus station and he didn't know the place although he did know the street. He drove like a maniac (a common feature of taxis in Valpariso ) and when he stopped, suddenly, to ask directions a car drove straight into the back of us, we thought our baggage would be damaged but mercifully it was ok. On arrival at the hotel I was extremely shaken. There were two locked entrances, a gate and the door and it took a while for anyone to open up. No-one spoke good English so communication was quite difficult, I do speak some Spanish and am very prepared to try but still it was hard to communicate.
Our room was on the second floor access by steep and narrow stairs, no lift, so not suitable for anyone who has mobility issues. It was pretty basic, a bed, a large wardrobe with quite a lot of the owners stuff in it and 3 hangers! A side table with information about a town in the Atacama desert, nothing available about Valpariso, a chair a bedside table on which there was a delapidated light. There was also a plug in heater, useful in summer! The bed had very thick bedding again not necessary in summer. The shower area was dated, the shower changed temperature depending on who else was using water, there was no hairdryer available and toiletries were minimal. Our room opened up onto a communal terrace which meant that there were often people sitting right outside our bedroom able to see straight in so we had to keep blinds drawn. There was a window (very rusted so ill fitting) through which a neighbouring room could have looked in if they were so inclined! There was no air conditioning.
Breakfast was meagre, a choice of 7 items could be made from a list. Given that butter and jam would be two items there was not going to be much. I got the impression that the very cheapest groceries where bought as the yogurt was the pinkest yogurt I've ever seen!
However, the very worst thing was that when we went out for the day and the room was cleaned, the cleaner left the room unlocked! There was no safe in the room and our money and personal items had to be locked in our suitcases. While I'm sure the staff may have been honest anyone can be staying in the place and the room should always be left locked. We always left the key so there was absolutely no excuse.
The proprietor told us that it was unsafe to walk from town after 5pm due to locals drinking and taking drugs on the steps from town so as others have mentioned it was difficult to find restaurants. The one recommended was closed and it was by sheer chance that we found Espiritu Santo just down the road. It was the high spot of our stay.
I really find it impossible to recommend this place to anyone. It is of an inferior standard, I'm sure it does not comply with any safety requirements and is not good value for money (we paid 178.50 US dollars to stay here for 2 nights ) I don't think I have stayed in a room like this since the 1970's

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sallychristine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017

My wife and I stayed at this lovely B&B in mid January 2017. When our taxi first stopped outside this B&B, my wife was aghast, thinking it was some dumpy little motel. The outside does not do it justice. On entering, the B&B is charming, with interesting nicknacks and a colorful past, associated with the famous poet Pablo Neruda's home, just a few doors up the hill. The view from the patio was spectacular, overlooking the harbor and the city of Valparaiso. The hosts were very friendly and helpful in arranging a private tour of the city and suggestions of places to visit and eat. The breakfast was delicious. Wish we could have stayed there longer.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Owner Patricio and his wife are very kind without getting in the way. The inn itself is in an old house. Check out the backyard, which extends far behind the house and includes chairs for sitting, massage rooms, meditation room, and lots of fruit trees.

Puerto Natura is clean and well run. We stayed on the top floor, which is quiet, and opening the window kept the room cool even during the height of the Chilean summer.

In keeping with an old house, parts of the inn are rather ramshackle. Our room included a private bathroom, which was actually a toilet wedged into a small closet, next to another closet sized room with a shower and sink. We didn't mind; but if you're expecting chain hotel amenities this isn't the place.

Breakfast was good - you can select up to seven things for breakfast upon check in, like fruit juice, scrambled eggs, fruit plate, or yogurt. Breakfast is served around a common table so you have the chance to chat with other guests.

If you're driving there is street parking around the inn. There is a carabinero station right around from the inn so locked cars without luggage should be safe. A warning if you are driving - Ferrari Street, which Google Maps will direct you to drive up, is the steepest street in Valparaiso and one of the steepest in the world. Take Yierba Buena instead. Driving in Valparaiso is difficult due to all of the steep, narrow streets and poorly marked intersections, so park your car and keep it parked.

There are massage and facial treatments available if you wish. Overall, we were very happy at Puerto Natura.

Room tip: The 3rd floor has two quieter rooms.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

We spent 4 nights at Puerto Natura at the end of a cruise around Cape Horn. Our host, Don Patricio, is a very gracious host and his staff are very accommodating. The views from our room were lovely. We utilized the spa services on one of our days and found the services to be very professional and thoughtful. Our room was on the 4th floor, and the stairwell narrow and winding, there is no elevator. We were offered a room on a lower floor but opted for the gorgeous views of the top floor. While aging, the B&B is clean and well cared for. It is located just down the road from El Sebastiano, and right on the collectivo route from Plaza Ecuador, making getting around Valparaiso quite easy. We wouldnot recommend this accommodation to those unable to climb stairs.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumpercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews