We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden oasis in bustling town”
Review of Puerto Natura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puerto Natura
Ranked #15 of 97 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Valpa (as it's called) in general is not a good town for wandering tourists looking for quiet relaxation. There is no beach (there are beaches nearby), no waterfront park, no single tourist district. The streets are very narrow and climb up and down the hills that give the town its charm, with story-book houses in every color on every possible square foot of land. We only spent a day there but did a lot of walking with a sampling of the artsy, free spirit that seems to define the town.

Our daughter, studying in Santiago, found and booked Puerto Natura for us on the fly after discovering that our first booking was on an industrial street and unacceptable. We were literally walking through town at 6pm with no hotel. The owners were extremely accomodating, spoke reasonably good English and gave us great service with an appropriate amount of space.

This is as much a spa resort as a B&B, with full facilities for sauna, mud bath, aromatherapy, massage, etc., though we never felt the least pressure to add any of these services. Breakfast was simple but adequate and delicious - not a place for gourmet cooking, but the orange juice was fresh-squeezed and, like much of the food, from their gardens on site.

The gardens are a key attraction - be sure to ask for a tour if there is time. Incredible to find this in the middle of the city. Location is also very good, with several options for restaurants within easy walking distance (just be very careful on the steep sidewalks with unmarked steps and curbs!). Key attraction for Valpa is Pablo Veruda's house, almost next door to Puerto Natura and built by the same architect.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2007

First, the positives. This facility is well maintained, the rooms are clean, cheerfully colored, with good furniture, bathrooms are nice with plush towels, sheets are clean. All the creature comforts I would need to spend the night are in place (ok, the toiletries provided are minimal - soap and a little packet of shampoo). Not upscale, but also not a hostel. Overall, a very nice and comfortable facility.

Second the issues. If you are driving, beware: the place is very difficult to find. Valparaiso has very poor road signage, and the map on the website is only adequate if you know the town. We had to call the hotel for someone to come out to the main road and guide us to the place, after driving in circles for 3 hours.

Breakfast is small - you get to pick among a list of (very small) options and eat at a communal table.

Also, we had decided to change our itinerary and cut our trip short for some reasons - and encountered very chilly and unpleasant response from the owner.

To sum it up - if you don´t plan running into travel and itinerary issues, and know where you are going, the place will work out. And I am sure the owner will be nicer to you. Beware, though, if you do have issues - service changes dramatically.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

We found this place in the Footprint guide, which referred to it as a "former mansion set in spacious grounds with fruit trees." So we were surprised when the cab dropped us off and the B&B was right on the street (no sweeping driveway?) but if you've been to Valparaiso, you know there's not enough flat land anywhere for the picture I had in my mind. We were then delighted to be led to a beautiful room with views of the city and bay. We saw other rooms, too, and all were well-appointed. There's a little game/sunroom inside, a comfy and elegant living room with fireplace (and some of the beautiful tile that's everywhere inside and out), a formal dining room, and... yes... out the back door, a sun deck, swimming pool, and, winding down the hill (with views uphill to Pablo Neruda's house, a block away by street), extensive grounds with flowers, fruit trees, grape arbors, and a hammock.

The owners have created a holistic center with lovely baths, massage and skin care facilities, steam baths, and a wonderful yoga/meditation room that looks out over the gardens.

Puerta Natura is clearly a labor of love, and after 3 weeks of fast-pace travel, it was a great place for us to restore ourselves.

Very well-situated, near the top of Bellavista, for walking to and from the Plan/city center and other Cerros. We hope to be able to stay there again one day, and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeattleTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paulina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIO C, General Manager at Puerto Natura, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bia_Sepulveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIO C, Gerente at Puerto Natura, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: eligir las habitaciones con vista al mar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emilia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIO C, General Manager at Puerto Natura, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
462 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#11 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ultramar Hotel
Ultramar Hotel
#17 of 35 in Valparaiso
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 97 in Valparaiso
195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 97 in Valparaiso
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Natura

Address: Hector Calvo Jofre 850 | Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 2371817, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range: $57 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Natura 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Puerto Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing