We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing Stay”
Review of Hostal Pilcomayo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valparaiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Pilcomayo
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Would not recommend this place, even if well located, the room and especially the shower were really dirty!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solario-sxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

We did not choose to stay in this hostel and I am a little unsure why anyone would choose to do so. Unfortunately our original hostel was booked and they kindly transferred us to a new hostel (Hostal Pilcomayo), so we thought.

Once we arrived we were very pleased with the location and to be truthful this is the only thing that is going for this hostel is its location. When arriving we were greeted by a lady who rudely directed us upstairs to the room, this is where another lady (possibly her Mother) showed us to a room that smelt like dirty feet, the room had no ventilation and a tiny window. We attempted to be optimistic until my partner went to the bathroom in which he returned to inform me that he will not be utilising the bathroom as it was disgusting. It was also weird that they requested all the money up-front.

We went downstairs to have a beer and look at reviews and other accommodation options, during our research we discovered the only other review which described our exact experience. We immediately went and located new accommodation.

When we returned to Hostal Pilcomayo to inform them we will not be staying due to the lack of cleanliness and requesting a complete refund, keeping in mind we never booked directly with the hostal or signed any agreement, the only thing we did was pay up-front for the room. The owner (a gentleman) informed that he would only be offering half the amount back (1 nights accommodation) as it was hostal policy. We argued with him and he stated "this is not America or Europe, this is Chile". We stated we have travelled through Chile before arriving in his hostal and this was not the treatment we had received. He asked us if we wanted to call the Police.

We took the refund and left, our advice would for anyone considering to stay in this hostal to think again, it was very evident that the owner was only after our money, even if it was 1 nights accommodation.

The only regret we had was not to take photo's as this would of provided visual evidence to my verbal account.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancisBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

T'here are so many things wrong with this place I don't know where to start.

Firstly the website claimed to have bilingual staff which is rubbish, the didn't speak a word. That's fine but don't advertise something when its false.

There was only 1 toilet for the whole hostel (the other one was taped shut with duct tape for all 3 days we were there). The shower was freezing cold and was basically a garden hosepipe attached to the wall in a filthy, dirty, dingy room. The others we spoke to in the hostel hadn't showered for 3 days as the shower looked so awful, they were waiting for the next hostel they were staying at.

The kitchen was ill equiped with over flowing bins and dirty plates - plus the only oven didn't work. This hostel is obviously NEVER cleaned.

There is a free pick up from the bus terminal which they never told us about and when we asked for the transfer back to the bus station, one of the employees would only take us if we paid her a few thousand peos's.

Finally, they wouldn't even let us use the phone (a service they advertise) to use our phonecard, which would have cost them nothing.

And to top it off, they had the cheek to demand all the money for our stay in advance.

It's awful, worst place we've stayed in in a round the world trip.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pinkycub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
Thank Ezequiel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMARTIN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
Thank lucianotb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#12 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Colombina de Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#3 of 202 in Valparaiso
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#5 of 35 in Valparaiso
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Pilcomayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Pilcomayo

Address: Pilcomayo 491 Cerro Concepcin, Valparaiso 237-0688, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged area, heart of patrimonial district, best prices in town. Free Internet access, guests kitchen, laundry and telephone available. Just 10 USD per night in dorms and 14 in doubles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing