We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B & B with an amazing view”
Review of El Mirador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Mirador
Ranked #5 of 94 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful B & B with an amazing view”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at El Mirador for nearly two months while doing some work in Valpo. I was always impressed by how professional, hardworking, and caring Maria Soledad, her mom and Mary were. The rooms were always spotless clean and had comfortable beds. The view was amazing too! I always had a good breakfast at the time I wanted it, which was nice as my schedule varied from day to day. Staff went always above and beyond with anything that I needed. Two friends unexpectedly stayed in Valpo one night and Maria Soledad had a room ready for them in a matter of minutes. My visit was extremely pleasant thanks to El Mirador's staff. The house itself is worth visiting for its beauty. I would recommend El Mirador to anyone.

Marlon, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    32
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
94
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on arriving in Valparaiso and 2 weeks later spent another 2 nights.
El Mirador is in a convenient spot within walking distance of the centre of town.
There are great views from the terrace at the rear of the property.
Maria was very helpful and welcoming, helping us where possible. Being able to speak English was a very useful in giving us information about what to do and see in Valparaiso.
The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the fresh fruit.
Lastly it was a very quiet location and we watched the parrots at close quarters eating the ripe figs in the garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffalphaomega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovely place with a beautiful view of the city, the sea and the city of Valparaiso. The accommodations are charmingand clean. Maria Marisol and people are indescribable, two loves people. I can say without fear of error that was one of the best place that my wife and I hopedamos in Chile.Congratulations to Maria and Marisol who can manage wellthe Bed & Breakfast El Mirador, stop right on our return to Valpo.


Evandro e Edna
Fortaleza - Ceará - Brasil

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evandrojrezende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

El Mirador was a lovely spot that we stayed in with another couple for three days in February. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was tasty. Maria provided us with a map with all the highlights of the city marked off. The B&B was well situated with easy walking to a number of restaurants. If we go back to Valparaiso we would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are staying a couple of days pick a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette, Manitoba
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Regretfully we only stayed here one night. Had we known what a nice place this was we would have stayed a week. el Mirador is a gorgeous heritage home located in the "hills" of Valparaiso with a terrace overlooking the city and harbour - fabulous view. The B & B has easy access to transportation and is within walking distance to the harbour.

Maria was a gracious host who warmly greeted us upon our arrival and gave us a tour of the home, showed us the amenities and outdoor area. She speaks a little English and was very helpful with providing information and also had a free map of the City available for us. Rooms are large and airy with 12 foot ceilings, beautiful hardwood floors and trim throughout. The home is surrounded by huge windows all with a view. Beds are comfortable with good pillows and the place is very clean. There is a lovely courtyard with roses and fruit trees that are often visited by a local flock of parrots.

There is a kitchenette for cooking and we felt right at home. Breakfast was continental and was quite good with brewed coffee, fresh cut fruit and freshly squeezed juice. No Nescafe and no canned fruit cocktail.

We really liked el Mirador and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Valparaiso. If you have a rental car its a bit difficult to find as Levarte Street deadends and then continues or re-starts somewhere else. I would email ahead to get directions.

Room Tip: Can't imagine that there is a bad room to be had in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeineLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Classic fin de siècle neighborhood house - three wings built around sunny courtyard - open to the downhill overlook. Room was spacious and bright, with private bath and kitchen just down the
hallway. Best of all, though, was the truly warm welcome we received - and breakfast, except for the fresh bread from the bakery just down the street, was entirely home-made: fruit cocktail and jam, with freshly-squeezed orange juice... A winner..!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglespring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at El Mirador. The room is brilliant including a spacious bathroom, your own private kitchen and amazing views from the terrace. The comfiest beds we have slept in so far, breakfast is delicious and Marisol and Maria are wonderful hosts, always helpful and have fantastic tips about Valparaiso. We would certainly stay here again. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EloAbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 94 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 94 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mirador

Property: El Mirador
Address: Levarte 251 - Playa Ancha, Valparaiso 236-0572, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing