We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ultramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ultramar Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite a Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Driving up the narrow streets I was getting nervous about where I had planned our stay, but once entering the Ultramar, my views began to change. Nice place. Great view. Friendly and helpful staff. Don't let the "looks" of the neighborhood fool you, once you've been there a while you realize that it's an OK place to be. Plus, great restaurants within walking distance - try the Cafe Vanilo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    87
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
37
114
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel to be great value, many have written about the small size of the room but for what you pay I think it's fine especially given the view! Very comfortable and clean, close the main cerros concepción and alegre. The staff could do with a bit more of restaurant knowledge, what's open etc as I went to one that was closed, no big deal as I then found and excellent one across the road.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MissfoodieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosovo
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Valparaiso is either cheap and well... basic and rough or expensive and sometimes disappointing. At Ultramar, you get a recetly renovated hotel, gool service great view on the terrace, and the location is between La Sebastiana and the Cerros where you want to go, so you are nearby all you need but not in the crowd :) People are helpful, reallly helpful :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomsk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's good clean hotel with perfect window view. The view was amazing during sunset.
The building is very old and looks very nice as well.
But the room was small. If you like big rooms like i'm, it's not way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KseniaTomsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

high on the hill this place is a little hard to find but the view from the suite was amazing, left the curtains open all night, not much in the way of food at this place but some really excellent restaurants a brisk 15 min walk down the hill. The decor is great nice balcony and seating area, very obliging english speaking staff but we were the only ones staying at the time so a little quite.

Room Tip: the suite on the top floor is great as long as you don.t mind stairs at the end of a big day walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Ok hotel, 2 stars I would say.Interesting once you get inside.Nice view.Lounge nice.People nice, but kind of clueless.Rooms and bathrooms are small.It is really hard to find in a City that is really difficult to navigate.

Room Tip: Room with a view necessary , otherwise stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offbway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I plus friends stayed here before we joined a cruise from Valparaiso to Buenos Aires. The staff was very helpful, spoke english well and gave us good information about dining and sight seeing options. The view from our room was breath taking - especially at night. The room itself was clean, comfortable but small. The bathroom would have to be the smallest bathroom I have ever experienced in any hotel. Breakfast was adequate and the service excellent. A great place to stay in Valpo.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room overloking the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#17 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#19 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ultramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultramar Hotel

Property: Ultramar Hotel
Address: Calle Perez 173 | Cerro Carcel, Valparaiso 00000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ultramar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ultramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultramar Hotel Valparaiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing