We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby at best”

Hostal Polanco Plaza Victoria
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Polanco Plaza Victoria
Ranked #59 of 97 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very shabby, even by hostel standards. We got tricked into this hostel in this location by trying to book the other Polanco up in Urriola, so definitely not our favourite part of town, even though it is perfectly central.
The rooms are dirty, sheets and covers are presumably(?) washed, but stained. There is some sort of rusty dust that seems to materialise (maybe fall from the ceiling) on the bed day after day, also unpleasant. Rooms are tiny, cramped and very very noisy - facing the inside you have the noise of other guests, while the windows to the outside face a busy street (in summer the window has to stay open for air, so the noise is a nuisance).
The best thing I can say about it is that the bathrooms are remarkably clean looking, considering the state of the rest of the place (crumbling walls, ancient, also crumbling, carpets, stinking curtains...). They were by far the least unpleasant part of the place.

Again (as in the other Polanco in Urriola) the owner is a mystery: serious incompetence or mediocre scam-artist? Who knows? Prices were improvised day by day. I was moved to a smaller room from my original booking to make space for more guests, which was supposed to earn me a discount, which later was again much reduced (the discount). On the other hand, we got in a huff about it, started arguing, and maybe for the Chilean pathological fear of conflict, or maybe because the scam artist was out of gas, in any case he very readily gave up and just let us pay whatever we thought was fair... odd.
Overall, it's better than nothing if you are in a last-minute panic. Prices in Valpo are crazy, even for dorms in hostels, while this one is affordable, if gross. I would keep it as a very last resort though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TigreModerata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: from the Bus terminal (20 min walk) . In the heart to town
customer service: some what helpful
cleanness: place was clean and tidy
bathrooms: Only 4 showers and toilets for the entire place
Bedroom: small double bedroom with no Air con in the room, No lockers in the room, but nice balcony view.
extras: no computers to use as well as WIFI was fast and available all rooms.
Kitchen room was big with a fridge. You can cook your own food there.
Noisy: very quite,
Breakout area: is in the lounge room and dinning area
Suggestions: lockers for the dorms and more bathrooms

Room Tip: Ask for a window view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tomar la habitacion con baño privado, es un poco mas costosa pero mejor calidad, aunque ellos tienen...
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leonardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Cecy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank AMRRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank charliecid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal La Colombina de Valparaiso
0.6 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#12 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#3 of 192 in Valparaiso
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique
RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique
#23 of 35 in Valparaiso
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Polanco Plaza Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Polanco Plaza Victoria

Address: Huito 479, Valparaiso 2362927, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range: $34 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing