We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,990)
Filter reviews
1,990 results
Traveler rating
488
890
432
112
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
488
890
432
112
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station plaza sotomayor basic amenities walking distance excellent location short stay breakfast included chilli bread yogurt cruise supermarket port ships city docks puerto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,990 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2019

The IBIS Valparaíso is right on the docks, and many TA reviews had this as a noise issue. We were on the 7th floor facing the water but set back a bit. The noise was not an issue for us, I think the windows provided good sound proofing.

The hotel is only a Ps. 5,000 taxi ride from the bus station, but once we knew where we were going, the buses that run back to the bus station run every couple of minutes and are a tenth of the price..

The check in was quick and easy, and although we turned up a couple of hours early, they allowed us to check straight in so we could set off and explore the Historic Quarter of Valparaíso literally just up the hill from the IBIS. Easyish walk, but also several funiculars that can take you up for Ps. 100 each.

Breakfast was not included in our rate, but is available in the hotel. We chose to go elsewhere so no problem.

The room was simple and clean as was the bathroom. My only slight grumble is that the towels were very worn, otherwise, nice and comfy..

Staff were very friendly and I would have no issues staying here again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 406kenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

The IBIS Valparaiso hotel is still an IBIS hotel --- same features and good cleanliness standards as you'll find at any IBIS hotel --- but the staff was unusually helpful. I got terrific recommendations from the front office person who checked my wife and I in that really helped us have a great experience in the city. The location of the hotel is very central and it's easy to walk and take an elevator to the various tourist parts of Valparaiso where the wall murals and many shops are. The area around the hotel is interesting too. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

Roaming around Valparaiso historic hills made me understand Íbis building style and colours.

Used to stay in Íbis usual buildings like Porto Alegre and Santiago, it was very nice to feel the amazing identity right inside the harbour operational área. It will be hard to forget the beautiful sunset followed by the full moon.
What a pity Íbis does not offer frigobar and a small set of kitchen aid inside the room - that was larger than usual in Valparaiso. And yes, the breakfast did not fit Valparaisos'building charming style.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank luizagvilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019

Very good hotel. Spartan, but clean. Comfy beds. Great view of port and harbour. Staff very accommodating since we do not speak Spanish. Good breakfast included. Very reasonable rates. We like cold air at night, and their air conditioner worked well.

Room tip: Corner room facing Pacific Ocean.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank witchwanda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, General Manager at Ibis Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2019

Dear Witchwanda22
Is glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Valparaiso.
We hope to see you back soon at our hotel

Regards

Pap Pablo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

Overall: The hotel is very modern, with a little kids play area, bikes for rent, a bar, and a cafe all in the lobby. Cafe/bar are 24hours. Breakfast buffet is $4.700/person. It’s simple: yogurt, cereal, fruit, meat, cheese, bread, eggs (a bit watery), hot dogs (avoid), tea, coffee.

Rooms: The rooms are very basic but they work. You only get one towel per person and a shower mat, no hand towels. Also you only get bars of soap and shampoo. One bottle of shampoo was half empty in our room which was odd. The cleaning service is making the bed, giving new towels (if you ask) and cleaning the toilet. No straightening of anything or cleaning the floors, throwing out trash, etc. The AC unit makes loud watery noises that are hard to sleep with. Bring earplugs if you’re a light sleeper.

Location: The hotel is on the port so the view is cool, however it is very loud. The port is active 24/7 so expect some machinery noise. There is a gas station across the street for snacks. You’re 2 minutes from the Plaza Sotomayor to the right. If you walk straight out of the hotel you get to a Main Street and can ride ascensors from there.

Bikes: The bike rental is $5.000/ day but with a $400 USD deposit per bike on your credit card. You get helmets and the bike is very outdoorsy. It was extremely uncomfortable for me because it was too sporty- seat hurt and handlebars so low you’re bent over the whole time. It was fine for a day, and we biked one day to Viña de Mar ( about 1.5 hr)

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank cng125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, General Manager at Ibis Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2019

Dear cng125
Thank you for your review.
We will continue working to improve our service and comfort.
We hope to see you back soon at Ibis Valparaiso

Regards

Pap Pablo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews