We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal in Valpariso”
Review of Ibis Valparaiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Valparaiso
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Hampton Va
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good deal in Valpariso”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was great. We stayed over the Christmas Holidays. It was close to the docks (cruise ships) and round the corner from light rail where you could catch a ride to Val Del Mar. We also took the bus up to Santiago. The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful with ideas of things to do. The breakfast was very good.. We enjoyed our stay and for the price it was excellent.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the harbor I think the front wouldn't be good because of street tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valuseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMarquardt, Gerente geral at Ibis Valparaiso, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience at Ibis Valparaiso! We are very much glad to hear that we met your expectations and we look forward to receiving you back in the future!
Kindly
Luciano Marquardt
Hotel Ibis Valparaiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    756
    352
    92
    53
See reviews for
311
832
104
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you are on a tight budget, this is a good, clean, basic hotel. The rooms are minimal and remind me of a dorm room. The shower is very nice, a good strong flow and lots of hot water. I had a room overlooking the water, which was very entertaining: we enjoyed watching the ships load and unload on the pier, We even saw some seals on a bouy. The pier was noisy though. The Wi-Fi is free, but not always a good connection. I did not like the smell of the cleaner used in the hotel, it was very sweet and gave me a headache. However, we had two rooms, next to each other in a corner, which had a third locked door so that you could make a suite. By closing the door and opening all the windows, the smell was gone. The breakfast was not that good, though lots of different types of bread for toast and several fruits. Orange juice was Tang.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaR5104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMarquardt, Gerente geral at Ibis Valparaiso, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thansk a lot for telling us about your experience at Ibis Valparaiso. It´s very important to us knowing about it, since it allow us to improve our service.
We really look forward to receiving you back in the future.
Kindly
Luciano Marquardt
Ibis Valparaiso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

There is no doubt that this hotel provides good value for money. The rooms are clean and simple and the reception is helpful. It's not in a great area of town and I found the noises from the port woke me up during the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirisMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMarquardt, Gerente geral at Ibis Valparaiso, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We appretiate your comments about your stay at Ibis Valparaiso. We are glad to know that we satisfied your needs.
Kindly
Luciano Marquardt
Hotel Ibis Valparaiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good value for the money. Excellent location for sightseeing, and what convenience being right on top of the commuter train track, and near the cruise terminal (the reason for being there). The noise though was not so good......we stayed on the port side (thinking the street would be noisy), but those port workers go all night, and it is noisy. It didn't help that the window could not close tightly shut (broken latch). BUT.....I downloaded a white noise app, and presto, noise problem not such a big issue. Love the hardwood floors....no dirty carpets, YAY! Excellent shower, small bathroom. Staff were friendly/helpful, even letting me borrow a voltage reducer from the front. I'd stay here again. We stayed there 4 nights in all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMarquardt, Gerente geral at Ibis Valparaiso, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you very much for telling us about your stay at Ibis Valparaiso. It´s a real pleasure knowing that you had a pleasant stay!
We really hope to receiving you again in the future.
Kindly
Luciano Marquardt
Hotel Ibis Valparaiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It is an Ibis. Built into a shopping mall and car park so convenient for car and suitcases. Reception pleasant but bureaucratic. Elevators were a law unto themselves. Room was comfortable. As others say a choice of noise form the street in the front or train at the rear. Breakfast was adequate. For the price paid it was good value. Did the job.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMarquardt, Gerente geral at Ibis Valparaiso, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us.
We are gald to hear that your experience met your expectations!
We really look forward to receving you back in the future.
Kindly
Luciano Marquardt
Hotel Ibis Valparaiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
318 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

You usually expect to know what you are getting with Ibis and Valparaiso was no exception.

This is a pretty new building, clean and functional with rooms at the front (which can be noisy at night) or better at the back overlooking the Port (which can also be busy). Our large corner room (661) was everything you might expect with an excellent shower and the usual amenities.

We were a group of 25 people in 16 rooms and check in was quite slow but the staff were all very pleasant and tried to help even though their English was limited. They helped with restaurant bookings as there is little of interest in the immediate vicinity.

Breakfast on the first of our two days was something of a scrum but quieter on the second morning. The breakfast room is probably a little too small for the size of the hotel and the breakfast itself is limited but just about adequate.

The point here is the hotel is good value for money and you would not expect luxury. If I return to Valparaiso I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the port area are preferable, corner rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMarquardt, Gerente geral at Ibis Valparaiso, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience at Ibis Valparaiso. We are glad to hear you´d choose us again in the future!
We really hope that you come back soon!
Kindly
Luciano Marquardt
Hotel Ibis Valparaiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
662 reviews
1.0 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ultramar Hotel
Ultramar Hotel
#18 of 35 in Valparaiso
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#17 of 35 in Valparaiso
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Valparaiso

Property: Ibis Valparaiso
Address: Av Errazuriz 811, Valparaiso 234 0000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Valparaiso 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing