We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Volante Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night while passing through Valparaiso. Enjoyed my stay at Casa Volante as, although worn, the hostel had a charm about it that suited the timelessness of the town rather well. Communal bathrooms were always clean, with a small kitchen area and gratis fruit/coffee. Location was very central within the district of Conception, the main tourist area and within several minutes walk to both the harbour and the quaint art shops/cafés/restaurants. Staff were always attentive and helpful. I arrived at 7am before the hostel opened and even the non-English speaking cleaning guy Federico was very helpful, using a translation tool on the internet to converse with me. Only thing to be wary of is that early in the morning and at night, muggings can happen; I was pre-warned by the taxi driver dropping me off of this and also met a German girl who had her bag snatched at 11pm, although this sort of thing can happen anywhere at these times. In the daytime, no problems. I would recommend this hostel for travellers to Valparaiso.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Anh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Casa Volante Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 330 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room was huge, clean and well decorated. The staff were very friendly and gave us very detailed and useful advise about the city - and in English too.

Would definitely recommend both the city and Casa Volante to anyone thinking about it. It really had all the main things sorted and all the little details added that make for a wonderful stay.

Quite hard to find... but that seems to be a theme in the city. Persevere :).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank geo0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Well kept and clean with secured access. Very friendly English-speaking staff. Helped us with sites to see on and around Concepcion hill. Excellent security-you are let in by staff after ringing bell at door. Hostel-style accommodation with private rooms, shared bath and kitchen facilities.

The building is older but well maintained to give you a true rustic experience. Access is from Fischer walkway, which is very picturesque with its multi-coloured steps. The front door is about 30 steps up from Urriola Ave. There are banks and a big shopping mall a short walking distance down Urriola. Make sure the ATM machine displays PLUS or CIRRUS stickers as most machines are for domestic use only! This hostel is about half way up Concepcion hill, and has a bohemian feeling with its crafts and artisans.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alf5688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Casa Volante just before Christmas (apologies for late review), and we just loved it! From the outside it doesn't look like much, but inside it is a haven of friendliness and comfort. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was ample size with huge under the bed lockers, individual reading lights and charging points, even a little shelf! The mattresses were very comfortable and were much wider than most bunks we have slept on elsewhere. The common area was great - comfy sofa and chairs, computer to use, and WiFi throughout. I thought the bathrooms were great - someone commented on the big bathroom being dated - it is, but in an antique way (not 80's with flaky paint!) and I preferred it to the other bathrooms (of which there were plenty). The kitchen was on the small side, but is hands down the best equipped kitchen I have ever seen in a hostel, so when you do get your spot, you will have everything you need. We loved that there was free fruit, tea and coffee all day too. On top of all of this all of the staff were so friendly and helpful with everything, and proactive in providing information. The location is great too, right on one of the street art alleys/stairways and close to everything in Cerro Allegre and Concepción. I can't think of anything bad at this hostel. Go and see for yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in 4 bed dorm next to the dining area and common area and it was excellent - staff make su...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire_sa_turas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spend three nights in a double room with shared bathroom at Casa Volante (30.000 Peso per night).
The ROOM was well equipped with a double bed, an (empty) bunk bed, television and every thing else of need. The casa volante is an extremely nice hostel with a very well equipped (even though small) KITCHEN, a nice living room, great WIFI (also a PC available) and an excellent LOCATION (close to shopping streets and the harbour and nevertheless, located on a stair way without traffic noise -> no access for wheel chair or for those with difficulties walking). The common bathrooms were very clean and with superb hot showers.
The STAFF was very friendly and helpful. There was free fruits, free coffee and tea all day long.
The design of the hostel is very cozy and we didn't want to leave, felt like home.

Absolutely recommendable!!!

PS: Take ear plugs because of the sea gulls :)

Room Tip: Room 7 is not that recommendable because the wall to the kitchen is very thin, and thus you can list...
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Thereblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Propietario at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Hi Theresa,
Thank you very very much for your words, it's means a lot for us, specially if they come from an experimented reviewer like you! we will keep working to be a better and cozy hostel every day, and we will figured out the seagulls's noise issue (off course, respecting always their home). all the best!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good and helpful staff, great feel, facilities are adequate (bathrooms good enough for the Chilean backpacker trail), WiFi plus internet terminal. Nice decor and area to lounge/read. I would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatecrasher888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Propietario at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Hi Gatecrasher888,
Thanks for your accurate and sincere comment.
all the best have good trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. The place is a little worn but very clean and charming. Nice opportunities to meet other travellers in cosy localities. Fantastic location in town. You get very good accomodation for your money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gunnarwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Propietario at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013
Google Translation

gunnar, muchas gracias por tus palabras, y si, efectivamente la tina del baño grande tenia problemas y ahora fue arreglada 100% y pintada, gracias a tu comentario.
los utiles de cocina estan siendo renovados tambien, al igual que el colchon de tu habitacion.
saludos y gracias una vez mas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#12 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nomada Eco Hostel
Nomada Eco Hostel
#1 of 192 in Valparaiso
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Valija Hostel
La Valija Hostel
#4 of 192 in Valparaiso
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Cerro Alegre
Hostal Cerro Alegre
#13 of 97 in Valparaiso
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Volante Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Volante Hostal

Address: Escalera Fischer 27 | Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso 2370654, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range: $14 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Volante Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the biggest, most booked and more awarded hostel in town. Quality is our goal, always! Our location is just perfect, and we have almost 1000 square meters of infraestructure, a bar with foosball and karaoke, cinema & artistics nights, 3 fully equipped kitchens, a chilled patio, 4 big lounge areas, 24/7 reception, 23 big private and shared rooms, 11 shared bathrooms, secure lockers and great multicultural staff to help you. We have almost 1000 square meters of infraestructure: a bar with foosball and karaoke, cinema & artistics nights, 3 fully equipped kitchens, a chilled patio, 4 big lounge and dinning areas, 24/7 reception, 23 big private and shared rooms and 11 shared bathrooms. Cerro Concepcion, our location, is the greatest neigborhood in town!! is totally central, chill by night, arti, and 3 blocks from an excellent restaurant-bars area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Volante Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing