We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel well located. Good for value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Volante Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hostel well located. Good for value”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Good for value for this hostel well located in the center of Valparaiso and quite cheap.
People are very nice and give you plenty of useful information on valparaiso, what to do and what to see.
However be careful no real breakfast available when we were there, but fruits, tea and coffee are complimentary and you can make your breakfast with that.
Our room was a bit dark (despite the very bright picture shown here) and the heater is not very performant ( but you have plenty of blanket so you don't get cold).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CnCaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    97
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
110
85
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Gaby, Rene and the entire staff are some of the friendliest and funniest people we have met during our visit to Valparaiso. Perfectly located, clean, well equipped kitchen. Wanted to stay longer but they were full to capacity. Thank you Gaby for helping us find alternative accommodations and to all the staff for being such welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigW153373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Propietario at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Google Translation
Hola Craig!
Mil disculpas por la demora en responderte, pero no queremos dejar de darte las muchísimas gracias por tus palabras, de verdad las apreciamos un montón, y nos ayudan para seguir mejorando y haciendo de esta casa un lugar de paz y descanso. Bagy y Rene te mandaron muchos saludos cuando les comente de tu review, jajaja.... Acá estaremos para cuando quieras volver!

Un abrazo y buenos viajes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was great help and advise I got at Hostel Casa Volante. It is very well located in the middle of Concepción and Alegre and reachable by walking (no elevator nor bus every time). It was quiet enougn, but the birds in the morning might get upset. The TV room is not so big, but why would you stay in in Valparaiso? There was no breakfast at itself, we were allowed free fruits and Te/Coffee, so I walked to a nearby store to have some bread, butter and cereal. However, free fruit saved my day.
The place is clean, quiet at night so as to sleep well. Very recomended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignaciotamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Propietario at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Ignacio,

Muchisimas gracias por tu dedicado comentario y por la buena vibra que nos mandas con el. Creemos que tu descripcion respecto de nuestra ventajosa ubicacion da en el clavo, y por lo mismo incluiremos esos conceptos en nuestras descripciones. Lamentablemente las gaviotas del techo son mas antiguas que nosotros en la casa, asi que no nos sentimos con el derecho a sacarlas, jajaja. ademas, seria muy dificil ya que estamos a 200 metros del mar... y por ultimo, son ella las que dieron nombre a nuestro proyecto, y quien sabe si algun dia toman la casa en andas y nos llevan volando a quien sabe donde.

un abrazo grande y nos vemos cuando quieras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great place to chill while taking in all the touristic sights around valparaiso. The reception staff were very knowledgable about the area. The toilets were clean, private (could all be locked) and well equipped. I would stay there again if I went back to valparaiso.

Only downside is that the whole building creaks when you walk around, can get very noisy while everyone is settling for bed, but this is only marginal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JulioLabrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Casa Volante is an excellent choise to base your trip in Valparaíso. The location is perfect, in the middle of the tourist part of town, close to a lot of nice restaurants and art galleries. The hostel looks great, it is very clean (I saw the cleaning staff doing a great job), the staff is helpfull and friendly, the room we stayed in was very cosy, the bed comfy, even the toilet paper was great (the first real soft in 5 months!).

There is no breakfast included but there is a kitchen you can use and there is free fruit all day! The wifi connection is fast, there is a computer at the reception / living room you can use.

We paid about 17.000 chilean pesos oer night, for a matrimonial room, with shared bathroom, pre booked. This is the best hostel we stayed in suring our 3 month trip ro South America.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights and we felt so comfy from the very beginning. The common area is lovely furnitured and decorated. The only not so good thing was that it was really freezy in the living room, but we think that's normal during winter. So still perfect :) The 5 bed dorm we stayed had a heater so it was super comfy! And the beds are awesome!!! Bigger than normal single beds. There were three bedrooms, a kitchen and table to have dinner. Casa Volante is located in the middle of Cerro Conception, a beautiful area of the city. Everything is within walking distance, perfectly located and so close to lovel cafes and restaurants. The staff was so friendly and helpful, we felt so welcomed. We would recommend Casa Volante to everyone who loves good people and comfy hostels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niiaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hostel. It's right in the middle of the most interesting/pretty part of town and close to lovely restaurants etc. it's also quiet though as its down a little alley.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our double room was awesome. It was huge with lovely furniture and decoration. Plus all those extras you appreciate, towels, heater, down duvet, hooks on door, bedside lamps....
All the communal areas are decorated with style and include lots of quirky arty features.
All in all I find almost nothing to fault this place for. It's great value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunty_minxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Owner at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your energy and kindness! Your review make us really proud and it's a huge motivation to keep improving our flying house (casa volante). best and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nomada Eco Hostel
Nomada Eco Hostel
#1 of 187 in Valparaiso
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Valija Hostel
La Valija Hostel
#4 of 187 in Valparaiso
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Joya Hostel
La Joya Hostel
#2 of 187 in Valparaiso
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Volante Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Volante Hostal

Property: Casa Volante Hostal
Address: Escalera Fischer 27 | Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso 2370654, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Volante Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Volante is a nice and creative designed Hostel, located in the beautiful Fischer Stairway, in a restored big house of the historical quarter "Cerro Concepcion". We offer comfortable private and shared rooms and well thought-out and big common areas; our walls have murals painted by artists from different countries and the house is surrounded by windowed walkways that allow you to enjoy the Valparaiso scenery. Also, we have an increasing recycling policy and we love our neighborhood life.Our business is: a nice, clean, quiet and central place with excelents rates and real advice for a real city. We are travelers too and we love the good tips that transform a trip in a significant experience... Much more than tourism.Accommodation InformationWe offer good accommodations to enjoy your time in Valparaiso, even on a low budget!We have a variety of spacious private room types: 2 Doubles, 2 Twins and 2 Triples (can be doubles too). All of them with cable tv and heaters. Also we offer 3 shared dorms with 4 and 3 beds each. All of them have reading lights, heaters, power points, wifi, and bed linen & towels are included. We have 3 fully equipped shared bathrooms, 1 fully equipped kitchen and a big living-dinner-lounge room of 50 square meters, with 32' LCD, cable tv, internet-wifi, book exchange and touristic and cultural information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Volante Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing