We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valparaiso yo te amo”

La Caperucita y el Lobo
Ranked #15 of 450 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Valparaiso is an outstanding place. It seems a little like Lisboa. This restaurant has an extraordinary view. The food was right and tasty. Good service and great decor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank littledeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaperucitaValparaiso, Propietario at La Caperucita y el Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely happy and proud that you like our Restaurant, we do put a lot of love and passion into our food and service!1

thank you so much for taking the time to write this post!

You'll always have your house here!

Warm regards and have a great week!


Leonardo, Carolina & Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 598 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wonderful food at a good price. Pillow soft gnocchi with sliced duck breast. Yum! Nice atmosphere and great view from the terrace.

Thank terimal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaperucitaValparaiso, Propietario at La Caperucita y el Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Sorry we took so long to answer, this months have been really crazy!, we appreciate your post, and gnocchi are an absolute must, agree with you!

have a wonderful week!, hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Leonardo, Carolina & Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I are just ending a 3 month stay in Valparaiso, during which we've eaten at this restaurant almost every week. There is a small menu with consistently good food at a reasonable price. Lunch includes a shot glass of the consume of the day, warm bread and a meringue kiss.
The waitresses are always been very friendly. Some speak a little English. An English menu is available.
The owner/chef speaks English well. He worked with Disney Cruises and the Ritz Hotels and told us, from them, he learned the importance of personal service. He demonstrated this belief by stopping by and telling us how much he appreciated our business when we dined there.
The restaurant is just up from Plaza Victoria. Follow Ferrari around the first curve. You'll see the big red ridinghood and the wolf mural on the left, which is what the name translates to. Follow the stairs to the top. It offers a nice view of the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarenfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaperucitaValparaiso, Propietario at La Caperucita y el Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Karen,

We are going to be grateful for your kind words and post. It's for us always challenging when we have repeated guest, because we had to meet your expectation every time that you came to our restaurant and for your words here we can say that we did a very good job!

You have your place here in Valparaíso whenever you want to come back!

Thank you so much for coming!!!

hug & kisses,

Leonardo, Carolina & Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We lunched at La Caperucita y el Lobo (Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf) looking over the bay and the city late on Saturday afternoon--one of us had to call the restaurant to postpone the reservation three times due to traffic from Santiago to Valpo. This did not concern the staff and they were most helpful. The food was excellent, though two of the three of us were disappointed with the pinot noir. They both gave it four points out of a possible ten. A harsh rating, thought the third imbiber. We started with salads and crab cakes, then two of us had Chilean hake, merluza, and our third had two more starters, crab cakes and scallops. He thought the scallops with their roe were out of this world…and even the chef stopped by to ask who was having them because even he thought they were superb. The view over Valpo harbor is superb from the top of a small hill. Eat outside on the terrace if possible.

Thank Lanxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaperucitaValparaiso, Propietario at La Caperucita y el Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

First I do have to apologized for taking such a long while to answer, it`s been crazy days for us since our first baby borned....that been said, We appreciate the time for sending us such a great feedback! we are working on the wine menú now! we already change that Pinot Noir and we have a new Winter menú, so feel free to come and experience our food and service!

have a great week!!!

Warm Regards,

Leonardo, Carolina & Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were walking up and down the streets of the old city and stumbled on this great spot. The view is very nice overlooking the city. They have a nice menu. The mussels were outstanding. Great spot for a meal and a glass of wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BCsaralou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaperucitaValparaiso, Propietario at La Caperucita y el Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for the time that we took to response! it´s been really hard to find a spot to answer our guest in high season!

we couldnt be more agree with you mussels are a great dish!

thanks for the post!

have a wonderful week!!

warm regards,

Leonardo & Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caperucita y el Lobo also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to La Caperucita y el Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing