We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we ate their for two of our three nights in Valparaiso”
Review of Cafe del Pintor

Cafe del Pintor
Ranked #4 of 437 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $13
Cuisines: Chilean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good we ate their for two of our three nights in Valparaiso”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is the most reasonable place for an evening meal that we've been to in Chile and serves some of the tastiest food. Our favourite restaurant in South America so far.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    184
    38
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were recommended this cute little place by our hostel owner, and it turned out to be one of the best restaurant experiences we've had in Chile. It is a modest place, but the service is attentive and very friendly (just one server who was a sweet little lady who managed five tables with grace and a warm smile). The food was very good, especially for the price, and we left feeling very content, and grateful for having the chance to eat here (given all the OTHER options we might just have easily decided to try instead). If you're in Cerro Allegre for lunch or dinner, go here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stumbled on this little gem when looking for somewhere to eat. Selected the three course menu. Beef stew was very flavoursome. Chicken was tasty but a tad overlooked but would definitely eat there again. Loved the artwork.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-Tourist-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Randomly entered, and loved it!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great service, nice decoration and good food!
We each got a basic 3 course menu - both very good. We both had a delicious salad to start, followed by a meat dish - I had pork (a tad bit overcooked, but a DELICIOUS mushroom sauce to go with it) and my partner had beef stew (delicious) - and a caramel mousse to finish, which was also very good.
The prices were reasonable and the service was very nice and attentive.

I would go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krogill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Happy waiter and happy price”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We ordered the 3 course set menu and we were not disappointed, the food was great and the wine was good too.The price is very good for this area of town and the staff were just a pleasure and spoke English.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaPartridge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Pintor also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Cafe del Pintor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing