We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, great prices”
Review of Cafe del Pintor

Cafe del Pintor
Ranked #7 of 428 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $13
Cuisines: Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“great food, great prices”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friend and I stumbled upon this restaurant when looking for a dinner option in Valparaiso. It is nestled on a small street, the restaurant is blanketed with wall art both inside and out making it a truly unique place to eat. The food was simple yet extremely tasty. We were seated in the back room since the front was full (it is essentially like a redone first floor apartment set up). The servers did their best to accommodate us as we are English speakers. I had a Chilean beer, Royal Guard, which was like a pilsner - very light and refreshing. We started with the carrot, orange and ginger soup - very vibrant in color and taste. Then I had their local grilled fish with a side of risotto. Though the risotto was a bit heavy and sticky, thicker than what you would imagine, it was mild and did not overpower the fresh grilled fish. My friend had the pork chop which she said was delicious. All in all, for very little money, this place is a true neighborhood gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    181
    38
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful wall paintings and nice food!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The menu is decently priced and very nice. The hosts are very welcoming and the wall paintings are wonderful to look at!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VincentVerdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We just enjoyed dinner at the Cafe del Pintor. Not only are the digs really cool with great murals of the port and city, the servers are all really nice, helpful with great smiles. The food was really tasty and the value was hard to beat: 3 course menu + a bottle of local cabernet for $CHP16,500. Oh, yeah... We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthToManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely place, charming hosts, good food. Operated by a family. In a popular area with many small competitors but it stands out. Good value, worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas-Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best value in Valparaiso”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We came upon this pretty cafe after a long walking day and stopped for a beer ,sitting on the sidewalk we checked the chalk board menu and decided to come back.
We had the set menu with soup and an entree of chicken which was excellant.
The brightly colored murals that cover the resturant walls are beautiful of all local scenes.
The owner was very friendly and spoke good English.
Great value for under $50 including a bottle of Chilean Wine.
Dont miss it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank exbritjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Pintor also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Cafe del Pintor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing