We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$135
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fauna(Valparaiso)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$150
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 07/25
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zerohotel(Valparaiso)
$204
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Valparaiso(Valparaiso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/29
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$84
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 17(Valparaiso)
Free cancellation until 07/21
Book now, pay at stay
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveler rating
204
93
37
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
93
37
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palaceindoor poolcharm and characterneeded to leave earlylarge showerstandard roomtravel agenthistorical buildingbasement levelchillilate checkouteach eveningair conditioningfantastic hoteloverlooking the baylovely boutiquegreat city
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 355 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

The old mansion still exuded charm and befitting of the hotel it has become. Well located but like most of the town, hard to navigate. Big rooms, wooden floors, tall ceilings and quite beautiful. Great little town.

Friendly staff. Welcoming and peaceful.

Tip: hire a driver for a few dollars to take you around the town for two hours. Too hard on foot and you will miss too much, especially the 'elevators', painted ladies (wooden houses) and graffiti. Take your camera!

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank c_and_a_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityHPA, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you to take your time to share your experience at the Palacio Astoreca Hotel. We are delighted that your stay was wonderful.
We will be very happy to welcome you on your next stay in Valparaíso, so you can enjoy this Heritage City without worryng about anything else.
Kindly regards,
Romina Lemos
Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

The hotel does not live up to the price and expectations generated by their Relais & Chateau affiliation. First problem: we visited during the summer and the rooms, which have a lot of sun hitting them for a good part of the day, have no air conditioning whatsoever. Keeping the windows open might solve some (not all) of the heat problem, but then outside noise and light make it impossible to sleep. Worst of all, we chose this hotel specifically so we could have dinner with drinks at their restaurant Alegre (which is supposed to be a great experience) and not drive anywhere afterwards. We made reservations for the restaurant two months in advance. We confirmed them on the week of the trip. We reconfirmed them upon check-in, around noon. When it finally came the time for our dinner, at 9 pm, and we asked if we could go downstairs to the restaurant, we were informed that the restaurant was not open that night!!! And we were thus stranded on a busy summer Saturday night at a tourist town to find a place to eat without any reservation. This was not at all the service we expected, and none of the several complaints we made to Relais & Chateau and the hotel management after we left were properly addressed. An invitation to go back and pay those horribly expensive prices to give them "another chance" does not configure a solution.

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nassara_Thome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolinavelasco23, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2015

We regret the inconvenience occasioned despite staff efforts to solve them. We are working hard on your observations to provide better quality service. Thank you very much for your comments.

Best Regards,
Carolina Velasco
Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2015

at arrival we were asked if the staff should take care of our car and luggage, while we had a drink on the terrace the luggage was brought to our room, the car parked; next day while we had breakfast, they brought the car, loaded the luggage - perfect stay, staff was very helpful with restaurant reservation/recommendation; beautiful view from the room

Room Tip: room with bay view
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Herbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arielopizzo, General Manager at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to know that we meet your expectations.We hope to see you again in Hotel Palacio Astoreca.

Ariel Lopizzo
General Manager
Hotel Palacio Astoreca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015

Perhaps we should have realised that something was wrong when our reservation 'made directly with the hotel was lost. this was the best part of our stay the staff were lovely and booked us into a very gorgeous hotel around the corner. casa higueras.

<the staff are lovely and accommodating. but it is very much faded glory. it is not clean to the point where actually it is unpleasant. the breakfast is a shambles. it was as if the manager was on holidays

<the drains in the spa are completely blocked too.

the final straw was screaming in the lobby at 11pm and reception saying it is just children.

At 400USD per night certainly expect better and there much better available in the town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AdrianJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arielopizzo, General Manager at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

We regret the inconvenience occasioned despite staff efforts to solve them. We are working hard on your observations to provide better quality service. Thank you very much for your comments.

Ariel Lopizzo
General Manager
Hotel Palacio Astoreca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2015

If you want a hotel right in the heart of Valpo, this is your spot. It's right in the middle of the old city, walking distance to everything. The property is quaint and the rooms seem reasonably updated and quiet. Staff was very accommodating, helping us map out our day and answering any other questions in the best English I heard in Chile.

Only reason for not giving 5 stars - The breakfast is pretty lacklustre, and the bar was closed when we came back from dinner, even though the hours had it open an hour later. Otherwise a great hotel and not bad value.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ry0ohki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolinavelasco23, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to send us your opinion .
We work every day to offer a new experience and we are happy to hear that enjoyed our proposal. We will be delighted to welcome you again to know the new changes we have in place .

Kind Regards,
Carolina Velasco
Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews