We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We can only recommend this hotel who has the budget and wants to visit this indulging city Valparaiso Chile. We have stayed their with our two kids and the staff was so helpful to manage extra beds on the same suite. The suite was very comfortable, modern and was equipped with all luxury needed. Also the decoration of the room and the view to the old city were awesome. The staff was so service orientated that they even helped us with ordering Tele-pizza for the kids in the room. The swimming pool, outdoor wood fire heated hot tub and turkish steam bath were very relaxing. The breakfast is soo special, that I can only recommend; try it yourself! I gave Barista Latte Art training, so from now on also nice cappuccino's at breakfast
If you like to go for a private tour ask at the desk for Ines! See can take you to the nice wineries in area or other nice interesting places in the area. She speak very good English and has lot's of knowhow in area. Also for airport transport. Contact: startingpointour@gmail.com and ask for Ines Wiegand Turner.
Overall a great experience and only can give a 5 out of 5!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jankees R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Astoreca, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We remeber you perfectly and the staff was happy to read your lines, looking forward to see you again, Diego Cárdenas, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    80
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
201
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a gem if a hotel, in a beautiful building, beautifully furnished and decorated. The location is perfect. The restaurant serves gourmet food of a very high standard. The spa area is also very stylish. If I didn't live in Europe I would visit this hotel regularly!

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Milly1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Astoreca, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your words, we appreciate the time you took to share your experience with other visitors. Our best regards from Valparaiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

No doubt one of the prettiest hotels in Chile, built and furnished with very high quality materials and very tasteful, a real palace as its name says. Rooms are of a good size, most have great views and are very comfy.

The only flaw is in service, as is very common in Chile, everything was SLOW, checking in and out, ordering drinks, etc. The first approach when we arrived was the classic hypocritical and inquisitive "How can I help you?" (looking like get the hell out of here) instead of a Welcome...

On food, we didn't experience breakfast at the restaurant because it's only until 10:30 and we were in the mood for sleeping in, which was quite a feat since a crew of very chatty chambermaids were making a lot of noise since 9 am... not a place for late risers...

We had plenty of hour d'oeuvres and drinks in the awesome deck, which although expensive, were excelent. The restaurant Alegre was nothing to write home about, the typical ultra modern El Bulli imitations with ununderstandable descriptions in the menu, tiny servings and disappointing experience overall. Service here had the worst flaw: I was poked twice by two waiters!!! That hadn't happened in any restaurant anywhere (and I've traveled...) Haven't these people read the first commandment of waiters: NEVER TOUCH THE COSTUMER?!?!?! Sad but true, I also have to speak out that despite an interesting wine list, no waiter knew anything about wine, not even dream of a sommelier...

Overall, the hotel is a gem, don't be put off by comments on service, I'm only putting those because managers read these posts and can help improving. We had a great time and would happily go back, if I can still afford it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FishInTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Astoreca, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario, desde ya los leemos y nos interesa mucho conocer todas las opiniones, si bien tenemos una alta tasa de satisfacción no nos detenemos y trabajamos para que todos nuestros servicios mejoren día a día, tomaremos muy en cuenta su opinión y esperamos sinceramente nos visite nuevamente.
Mis sinceros saludos, Diego Cárdenas, Gerente Palacio Astoreca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I am often one to try a newer hotel in a city I have never visited before. Having another couple with us.....and being out first stop in Chile, I was a bit worried. Just pulling up to this renovated mansion, we knew we had made the right decision with Palacio Astoreca. And it proved to be so again and again on this wonderful short visit. Other than the fact it was early in the morning and it was hard to find anyone to even let us into the gate. That is often the problem with these flights from the states......an arrival much earlier than would normally be the case. And our rooms wouldn't be ready for a quite a few hours. But once things were settled......everything ran as smoothly as possible.

The restoration is top notch. Our taste runs toward the more modern and its a perfect mix of traditional building with a modern/almost minimalist approach to design. We just loved it. You turned a corner from the charming old staircase and there was a glass enclosed elevator to whisk you upstairs. We were in the new section which seamlessly flows from the old, that we didn't even realize it at first. Other than lower ceilings, the newer windows (along with the wonderful bed) gave us a very good night sleep. We had chose one of the larger rooms and the layout and views to the harbor was a spectacular welcome to Chile. From wine delivered on arrival to treats in the evening....and a delicious buffet the next morning: and most of all.... a staff who only wanted to help with everything, each minute was a delight. The only negative was that we hadn't planned on staying longer. I am already dreaming of going back and exploring this charming town. We might go back just for the Hotel Palacio Astoreca.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our Junior suite in the new wing (3rd floor) for its views, space, large ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Astoreca, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your words, we really work everyday to make our guest experiences the best as possible, so we are happy to read these lines.
Our best regards from our staff and we hope to see you again, Diego Cárdenas, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Arriving late at night from Santiago, nothing was too much trouble for the willing and enthusiastic staff. I was shown to a beautiful and individual room with a view over the town and sea. Although the kitchen was nearly closed, I was made welcome in the dining room and was presented with a full menu and a glass of Merlot that was on the house. The chef presents an interesting selection and I had only an entree and a dessert because it was late. It was accompanied by two unexpected appetisers. It was a wonderful experience and, traveling alone, I was thoughtfully looked after. In the room, everything was considered, including sensible lights and uncomplicated switches, curtains that kept out the light, luxurious towels that were heavy and of a quality that hardly exists anymore and toiletries that were original. My greatest disappointment was that my stay was short and that I was due elsewhere for breakfast, so missed out on what I am sure would have been another wonderful dining occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the sea - I had 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Palacio Astoreca, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mr Myers, we really appreciate you took the time to pass by and review your experience, thank you very much for your words, we hope to have you again in our Palacio Astoreca, our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I loved the refinement and taste with which the hotel was renovated. They truly respected the old identity of the building applying some tasteful vanguardist touches making all the spaces really unforgettable.

For those who love food just don't miss their "Alegre" restaurant. This is probably the best restaurant in Chile today, I daresay at a Michelin guide star level. Memorable dishes using local ingredients were presented to us in a superb sequence of colors and unbelievable mix of flavors at both dinner and breakfast. Our heartiest congratulations the the great Chef and team!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Palacio Astoreca, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your words! we are happy to read these messages from our guest, and we would be happy to receive you again, our best regards from Valparaíso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a beautiful boutique hotel. Stunning location. The hotel is tastefully and artistically decorated in a refurbished mansion. We stayed in a premium room (#16) located on the top floor. Although the room was small, the views to both mountains and sea more than made up for it. The staff were very welcoming and helpful at all times. We had chosen this hotel after reading a Time Magazine article which reviewed Alegre Restaurant, located in the hotel. It was a great experience and we recommend both the hotel and restaurant. valparaiso is a charming town, where the vibrant colours of buildings greet you around every corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Palacio Astoreca, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are so happy to read our guest comments from all over the world and discovering they have found about us by international publications, we will tell our staff from "El Alegre" to know you have enjoyed your experience, thank you very much again over there in Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
#9 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zerohotel
Zerohotel
#8 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Astoreca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Astoreca

Property: Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Address: Monte Alegre 149 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370637, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Astoreca 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique hotel Palacio Astoreca opened in September 2012 and since then our hotel and restaurant have been positioned as one of the best in the country, praised by national and international critics, but especially, the more we care, for our loyal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palacio Astoreca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing