We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Love this place! Very reasonably priced and for what you get, it is a bargain! Once again, people make the place, so thank you to Juan Carlos, Jorge, and Rodrigo. They had answers for every question, arranged cabs/tours/dinner reservations, the room was awesome, breakfast was fresh fruits/hot breads/juice/coffee and we never had to leave our room, centrally located, perfect home base to explore Valparaiso, and very clean. The room/apartment was well furnished with great linens, cool furnishings, and plenty of room. We liked it so much that we cancelled reservations to spend a couple days in the vineyards to stay here a few more days! It was a little hard to find in our rent car, but the streets in Cerros Allegre are confusing even for the locals! Once we got there, we could walk to almost anywhere worth going and you really felt like you were staying on the heart of Valparaiso. Highly recommend the Perro Tours and either Juan Victor or Jorge can open your eyes to the history and beauty of Valpo.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWestalke82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    92
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
118
400
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were fortunate to be in the Bellavista room and doubly fortunate to be there during a full moon. The view is just lovely both day and night, but the full moon made it magical. The front room of this apartment is so spacious and comfortable, it's tempting not to go out at all. But the hotel is situated close to shops and restaurants and other tourist-friendly establishments, so it's easy and fun to walk around the neighborhood - if you don't mind a little hill walking. Juan Carlos and Jorge were both friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and plentiful and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The room/apartment is nicely appointed, comfortable and calming and the hotel is in a good location on Cerro Alegra with funky galleries and varied restaurants nearby, but the best thing about this place is the staff - so helpful! Juan Carlos provided good restaurant recommendations, communication with our hired driver (both in person and by phone since we don't speak Spanish) and generally gave good advice. The other gentleman, whose name I did not get, was equally welcoming and helpful. And every morning there was a bag of fresh rolls hanging on our doorknob to supplement the eggs, yoghurt, etc. that we found in the fridge.

It was a pleasure - would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For those with limited mobility, note that there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

First, let me start out by stating the obvious, five stars on TA doesn't mean it's a 5 star hotel. This is not. For me, five stars on TA means it can't be done better for the category the hotel or restaurant is in.

The building is owned and was renovated by an architect. It is very comfortable and stylish. It is in a cute little neighborhood close to great dining. Most importantly, the staff is extremely kind and helpful.

So, is it The Singular, no. Is it the best a neighborhood apart-hotel can be, absolutely.

Five Stars!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a great time at Casa Galos and really recommed it. The location was great - close to nice resturants, stores etc (ask the staff for recommendations - we loved Fauna and Pasta e Vino). The room was also very nice with a great view, the breakfast good and it´s nice that you can eat it in your own room. And the staff was also very nice, always so helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EmeliePe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 wonderful nights at Casa Galos Apartment Hotel March4-7. Hosts Juan-Carlos and Jorge were superb hosts. They were welcoming, helpful, informative and caring. We took a walking tour of street art in the city and enjoyed the enlightening narrative. The apartment itself was well-equipped with a full kitchen, fast internet, comfortable bed and pillows and warm bread every morning to eat with fruit, beverage, eggs and all accompaniments to start the day healthily. Loved the neighborhood with countless, excellent restaurants and cafés. Will definitely return and recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

What an amazing place to stay, both Valparaiso and Casa Galos Apart Hotel. From the moment we arrived, we felt so welcomed. The amazing attention to detail from the furniture to the fresh baked bread every morning. The small things really do make a difference. A lot of hotels could take a page out of Casa Galos' book.

The restaurant recommendations were also a big help. Absolutely loved Espiritu Santo, Fauna & Taulat. Fauna & Taulat are within walking distance from the hotel and Espiritu is down the hill from Pablo Neruda's house.

If you find yourself in Valparaiso, please look at staying at Gasa Galos Apart Hotel. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. They have double windows, so there is very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#15 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#8 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts

Property: Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Address: Templeman 893, Valparaiso 2370951, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Cerro Alegre, the heart of Valparaiso and an area that has been declared UNESCO World Heritage Site, Casa Galos is just a short stroll from restaurants, cafes, shops, but still in quiet area where you can feel "Valpo's" neighbourhood life.Casa Galos was built in 1885 and it has been carefully refurbished and completely restored in 2012. Nine comfortable en suite rooms and six cosy apartments, fully equipped, beautifully decorated with spectacular views to Valparaiso's hills, and with everything you need to feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing