We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We loved our time at Casa Galos - everything about the place is perfect. It's in a great location for walking to restaurants, galleries, downtown, the harbor, etc. The neighborhood is safe and I can't say enough good things about the staff and apartment. First, the apartment has everything you need for a very comfortable stay. It's designer chic, cozy, neat, and well stocked. Every morning fresh bread was left on our door handle for breakfast. I liked that the breakfast was stocked in the refrigerator every day so I could eat when I wanted. The staff was so helpful - I couldn't get hold of the airline to check in and the man on duty took care of it for me. I went out for the day and came back to a note from him saying he had called the airline, checked me in and gotten our seats. I have never had such fine service and highly recommend that anyone stay here. I wish all my stays were so nice.

Room Tip: I don't know about the others, but I'm sure they're all good. Oops, I made an error pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marikay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    86
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
115
384
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Casa Gala was a very inviting small inn. We had a big room with a fabulous view. It was clean, comfortable and in a good area. The staff were very friendly and provided very helpful advice and restaurant bookings. The only thing we would have liked was more fresh fruit at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of November. I considered several of these type of hotels (small, breakfast included, etc.), and I am 100% happy that I chose Casa Galos. From the time we checked in until we left we felt very welcomed. There are six apartments totaled, and we stayed in #2 with the upstairs loft.

The mini kitchenette is stocked with everything you need. They provide eggs, jam, honey and butter on your arrival, and then fresh bread is left on your door around 9:00 am. Coffee and tea also provided. There are two bottles of some sort of peach drink provided as well, as well as yogurt. I found the peach drink to be too sweet for my taste and would have preferred water, but that's just splitting hairs. The eggs were also restocked the next day.

The neighborhood is fantastic. Again after seeing where some of the other properties I considered were located, I was happy to be in such a great location at Casa Galos. There are small grocery stores within a block or two if you need to pick up a few things. There are also great restaurants right down the block. We ate at a restaurant named Vinilo for lunch the first afternoon we got there. Very authentic Chilean cuisine. Homemade beer. Very welcoming, quaint, and the chef took a liking to my sister and after she raved about the ribs, gave her some spices to take home. When we told our waitress how much we loved the labels on the beer (obvious that the bottles get re-used) she gave us some of the labels.

When we first checked in Jorge gave us great suggestions for exploring the area on our own. We also had booked a walking tour through his company Perro Tours for the next day. Five hours exploring the more intimate side of Valparaiso. I'd highly recommend him.

The first night we were there we just wanted a quick bite to eat and went to the restaurant downstairs. We got some veggies and cheese, and when we asked to take it back to the room, they just let us take the plates and tray with us. Told us they opened at 11:00 the next day and we could just bring them back the next day. Again, another example of the being made to fell welcomed (even though no affiliation with Casa Galos, they are right downstairs).

We hadn't made arrangements for a return car to Santiago, and Jorge took care of arranging it for us. The staff is just so helpful and accommodating.

Now, not everyplace is perfect. As mentioned numerous times before, there is a lot of street noise from the cars because of the super cute cobblestone streets -- however, I think that's probably true for most of the hotels in the area. I didn't find it to be a disturbance, personally, but I was also aware of that from TA reviews previously posted. It's also an intimate hotel, and because our loft/bathroom were right over the reception area, we could hear clearly anything that was going on outside. And vice-versa. But since it's so small, there is not a lot of activity in the reception area, so it was never a problem. And for a couple days stay, it was fine.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a visit to Valparaiso. Great location, welcoming staff. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. The hotel is clean and nicely designed. Provided breakfast is simple but but adequate, kitchen is fully stocked. Best part of the hotel (reason for 5 stars) is the staff - very helpful, friendly, and spoke English well.
Only downside is you can hear the street noise from the front room that we were in, but it wasnt too bad as to disrupt sleep.
Valpo is worth a visit but not more than 2 days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. We had a great experience and I highly recommend staying here if you will be in Valparaiso. They have free Wi-Fi as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed four nights here in the beautiful apartment with mezzane floor bedroom. Jorge was the perfect host and everything was clean and very comfortable. He also organises tours for you and can give some recommendations.

Shame about Valparaiso. Ok so we went at the worst time. It was during strikes and the recent elections. However, I don´t think these can be used as excuses and make Valaraiso warrant more than a day visit. The strikes meant that the rubbish hadn´t been collected, the funiculars weren´t working and there was dog mess everywhere (though I think there´d still be loads without strikes). The city is a bit of a dump and you wonder which bits warranted UNESCO apart from the area where Casa Galos is. On Sunday and Monday the town shuts down and it´s really difficult to even find a restaurant (not helped by the elections). The good street art is severely outweighed by the liberal tagging on nearly every wall. Go there for a day trip but if you´re staying overnight for longer than one night then I´d recommend Vina del Mar which was much cleaner and had a lovely beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great time in Casa Galos. Wonderful location, very helpful staff (they recommended the best restaurants and sights), light, clean and spacey apartments. Fresh bread every morning, kitchenette. Definitely the place to be in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank franzandreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
#9 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts

Property: Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Address: Templeman 893, Valparaiso 2370951, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Cerro Alegre, the heart of Valparaiso and an area that has been declared UNESCO World Heritage Site, Casa Galos is just a short stroll from restaurants, cafes, shops, but still in quiet area where you can feel "Valpo's" neighbourhood life.Casa Galos was built in 1885 and it has been carefully refurbished and completely restored in 2012. Nine comfortable en suite rooms and six cosy apartments, fully equipped, beautifully decorated with spectacular views to Valparaiso's hills, and with everything you need to feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing