We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing apartment, Amazing staff, Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing apartment, Amazing staff, Amazing location”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My sweetheart and I spent 4 nights from Monday to Friday in the first week of April 2013. The loft apartment was very beautiful and in great condition. We could tell that everything inside was decorated tastefully in a way that used the space very well.

We received fresh bread for breakfast at 9 AM every day. The bread was left outside our door for us to pick up when we were ready. The other ingredients were put in our fridge and on our kitchen table the day before when the loft got cleaned and our beds made.

There is someone on staff 24/7 and each person was incredibly helpful and kind to us as we needed special help due to having been robbed of all our valuables and IDs in Santiago the week before reaching Valparaiso. We asked the bank to mail new credit card to this hotel and it didn't get until after we left yet Juan-Carlos was incredibly helpful in calling FedEx to make sure the card arrived.

Take note that there is a little farmers market that springs up once or twice a week a block further up on Galos Street. So if cooking with tasty vegetables is your thing that is very is easy to do. There are also restaurants of all types a few blocks down hill from Galos Street in case you prefer eating out. The area also felt very safe and well lit, which was a welcome feeling compared to some of the more remote hills of the city.

Room Tip: The loft had a very tastefully decorated interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlynscruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    97
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
121
418
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is an excellent spot to locate when visiting Valparaiso and Vina del Mar. Upon arrival we imagined the walking would be tough but once you get the hang of this wonderful area walking to and from Casa Gala is easy. The apartments are beautifully designed and well laid-out. Everything is provided for. Each morning we were delivered fresh bread to accompany the yogurt, eggs, jam and butter already in the fridge. Casa Galos is well-positioned for all the restaurants and there are numerous shops to buy any extras you might need. We stayed in the only apartment that is not in the main house. It is right on the street and we had no issues with noise. The staff were very attentive and informative and a big part of our 'thumbs-up' for Casa Galos. Well done!

Room Tip: As with everywhere in Valparaise, there's a lot of stairs to negotiate. So, if the apartment on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy221666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to enjoy Valparaiso from. Near all the best restaurants and great drinking places. Beautiful view from our top floor room, which was well furnished and spacious. Friendly & very helpful staff. Overall an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondulandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Casa Galos was even more than i expected! The view from apartment was absolutely stunning! I didn't want to leave the apt :) It was worth every single penny! If you want luxury and comfort it's a perfect place in a perfect location in Valpo. All restaurants, cafes and bars are just around the corner. I loved every second of my stay at Casa Galos!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Everything about Casa Galos was fantastic. From the very beginning they were very helpful with my booking, sending details of each room, location map, advice about where to park and information about restaurants near by etc.

The staff where wonderfully welcoming and helpful, especially Juan Carlos who speaks perfect English! When asked they were very happy to offer advice re places to eat, drink and activities but in general they were very discreet and left us to relax and really make the place feel like our home for the days we were there. All the rooms are slightly different but all lovely and spotlessly clean. The upstairs suite with views over the city to the sea is stunning. It's perfect for a family or friends, it has a double ensuite room with a huge open plan kitchen/breakfast/living room/bedroom with two big sofa's, at least one of which is a double sofa bed. There are a lot of stairs at Casa Galos (and in Valparaiso in general) and there is no parking right next to the hotel so this may make it unsuitable for some. Breakfast was left in the room/ fridge for you to cook yourself - eggs, yogurt, juice, fruit, tea, coffee etc and fresh bread rolls delivered to your room each morning. The beds were wonderfully comfortable with lovely soft duvets and pillows, water is heated by solar so they recommend keeping showers to less then ten mins, I'm sure we went over the advised time and didn't come close to running out of hot water so no problems there!

The whole place has recently been refurbished with the up most care and attention to detail, it really is a very special place and I can't imagine anyone not having a wonderful stay there. We loved it so much that we extended our stay for an extra night, due to availability we had to move rooms to the two upstairs rooms which are a little more expensive but worth it. And we used one of the sofa beds (there were six of us, two couples in late 20s/30s travelling with parents in law) the double sofa bed was very comfortable and super easy to pull out and put away when we wanted to use the sofa as a sofa again, there is even a big wooden chest to throw the pillows etc into to get them out of the way when not needed for sleeping.

This is a fantastic place in a fantastic city and I would sort of like to keep it a secret but I suppose the best things are for sharing! I would recommend it to anyone and I'm 100% sure we will visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Deceptive on the outside beautiful on the inner. Great apartment very well equipped and beautifully set up. Loved hot rolls in morning, brewed coffee or tea and lots of "extras" in the fridge. 4 days - we could have stayed for 4 weeks. Juan Carlos a gem - so helpful and lots of fun.
Plenty of shops and restaurants around the area and once you have worked out the street system, close to everything.

Room Tip: If you can get penthouse or top floor ---- WOW ---- what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Regular house, one would think nothing special but in reality it is a boutique hotel with a lot of character located in the the UNESCO heritage old town of Valparaiso. There are no rooms per se. they are all apartments but decorated with a high quality design with a local flavor. The lobby is nothing special but the apartments are splendid. you have a full kitchen with coffee, tea, and juices included in the price, comfortable living room, bedroom and a bathroom. It does not feel like a hotel, it feels like a posh apartment. It really is quite wonderful but don't expect room service, dry cleaning and stuff like that. Tere is a free wifi, staff is very nice and helpful and they bring you fresh breakfast each morning to your room with warm bread. Great place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts

Property: Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Address: Templeman 893, Valparaiso 2370951, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Cerro Alegre, the heart of Valparaiso and an area that has been declared UNESCO World Heritage Site, Casa Galos is just a short stroll from restaurants, cafes, shops, but still in quiet area where you can feel "Valpo's" neighbourhood life.Casa Galos was built in 1885 and it has been carefully refurbished and completely restored in 2012. Nine comfortable en suite rooms and six cosy apartments, fully equipped, beautifully decorated with spectacular views to Valparaiso's hills, and with everything you need to feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing