We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!”

La Sebastiana (Pablo Neruda's House)
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.41*
and up
Private City Tour of Valparaíso and Viña del Mar
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Valparaiso and Emiliana Vineyard Tour from Santiago
More Info
$116.00*
and up
Private Tour: Viña del Mar and Valparaiso City Sightseeing
Ranked #1 of 141 things to do in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This four-story home, offering 360 degree views of the city, is highlighted by "the jar of smoke," a round, post-modern fireplace designed by Neruda himself.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Must see!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Fascinating! Eclectic art and stunning views from this interesting home. Enjoyed learning more about Pablo Neruda. Gift shop was fabulous and very helpful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CHAZVICTPOTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,252
    1,382
    437
    49
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great Views Of Both The Chilean Poet's Soul And Valparaiso”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Suggestion: Pick up a tourist map at www.valparaisompal.cl. This map is available at B&Bs, hotels, etc. It gives you a great idea of what sites to see within walking distance of downtown.

We arrived via bus from Renaca (a beach town with a large wide beach) for 525 pesos per person (approximately one USA dollar); from there we took a taxi to La Sebastiana, Pablo Neruda's Valparaiso home (he also has one in Santiago and one on Isla Negra on the Pacific Coast). La Sebastiana is located in the Cerro Florida (Florida Hill) section. Lo and behold the museum was closed due to a water line breakage in the area. Not to be defeated we walked down Ferrari Street back to downtown and soaked up the incredible street art, had lunch, took a water tour, et al.

We returned a second day and La Sebastiana was open. Well worth the visit - see the ichibanwanderer, and XCaliphornian reviews. Once we finished we walked down Hector Calvo, an alternate street (or universe) back to downtown. We also took the Queen Victoria Funicular and walked the Cerro Alegre section. Each Cerro has its own vibe.

As per the timothy m review, if you only have time to see one Pablo Neruda home, visit Isla Negra, but if you are in Valparaiso, by all means visit La Sebastiana - it's worth your time, energy and money to do so.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A peice of History”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Having never heard of Pablo Naruda before my visit I found this house to be a interesting insight into the man. The Audio tour (in english) was great - about the right length without going on to long. The views from the house are great and the breeze through the windows refreshing.
Worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food for the Soul”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

From the magnificent views of the entire city, to the snippets of poetry and Neruda's whimsical collection of memorabilia, this is one of Valparaiso's gems. Prepare to be patient at the admission desk - I think we waited almost as long to purchase tickets (a similar process to buying pastrami at the local deli counter) as we did to tour the house. Nevertheless, in a city with few traditional "tourist attractions," La Sebastiana should be on everyone's list.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank XCaliphornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the stop”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The audio tour here is great. I especially enjoyed viewing the old maps of the world. If you only get the chance to visit one of his homes, however, I would recommend the one at Isla Negra.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank timothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sebastiana (Pablo Neruda's House) also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to La Sebastiana (Pablo Neruda's House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing