We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
232
129
35
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
129
35
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator great location sea view cerro concepcion very nice continental breakfast poor maintenance spiral stair case floor to ceiling street view welcome drink lower level chilli rooms are modern made to order eggs room key small balcony air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 410 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2018

As advertised, a 'boutique hotel', small, and compact but perfectly situated in the best part of town to take in the extensive sea views and yet handy for the bars, cafes, and restaurants of Concepcion. Reception appeared to be staffed 24/7, and security was good as hotel entry was open but supervised during the day, and by buzzer at night (the doors were locked, and admission was by staff at Reception). The views were great and breakfast (in the basement) was very straightforward: the usual light 'Continental' breakfast options of cereal, coffee, pastries, fruit, and meat/cheeses plus the choice of eggs freshly cooked by the kitchen staff any way you liked. Staff were very helpful, e.g., loaning me an electrical adaptor when needed. Their English was limited but far superior in extent to my Spanish, so I am not complaining; we worked it out.

The area is just wonderful, and smack-you-in-the-face charming. When you leave the hotel, turn left, take the next left (50 metres away) and sticking with the buildings on the right find Paseo Atkinson for panoramic views of the city and coastline. A quick loop takes you back to Calle Papudo and the hotel.

The hotel is situated to take advantage of the views to the East, but many of the cafes etc. are a few hundred metres West, up the hill beyond the Cathedral. There are also bakeries and little grocery shops there, and an ATM in the grocery/liquor store/off-licence/bottle-o (depending on the nomenclature of where you're from).This area is also where you will find the funicular which wiIl, for 100p (pay at the bottom), take you up and down the hill to the city itself. I walked up and down the hill to the city a few times and it is certainly doable if you are fit. The funicular is called the Ascensor Reina Victoria and tucked away in a not-very-obvious building at the end of Paseo Dimalow, a pedestrian laneway near the intersection of Urriola and Almirante Montt, which of itself has cafes and restaurants and great views of the city.

I was at the tail end of a tour in Peru and Bolivia and it was a resting-up stop for me before heading home. I found the area delightful and relaxing for a 2-3 day sojourn and it reminded me a little bit of Montmartre in Paris (especially with the funicular): part of the city, but tucked away on a hill with its own particular (artistic) charm, and not so busy, of course.

Room Tip: My room was 217, five metres from Reception at the entrance level. Entrance to the room is by electronic lock so foregoing all the usual hand-in-the-key/carry-it-around-with-you decisions. Despite the room being above the kitchen/restaurant and my patio (shared with another room) being open to (but not shared with) the restaurant, which is open in the evenings, I was not bothered at all by noise. Some occasional ringing phones from Reception perhaps and the creaking of stairs but not that bothered me. If I stayed there again I'd contemplate a room higher up, not because of any noise issues but the patio area was small and shared (with great views, mind) so you couldn't both fling open your door and have the confidence of privacy at the same time, but a small thing, and one that never became an issue. I didn't feel the need to look at other rooms, so can't comment on
Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoutique17, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear Stephen,

First of all we want to thank you for giving us the preference and choosing us after a long list of alternatives, according to your words we do not disappoint you.
You wrote a fairly extensive and clear opinion about our hotel and what surrounds us, each of your words is very accurate. Thank you very much for leaving us such a complete opinion and such a good note, we are very happy that your stay with us has been perfect.
We wish you an excellent day, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend.

Rooms are small ... something you of course expect in a visit to Valparaiso .... we had a room with a view to the sea, and it was a good decision !

Breakfast was simple but very good .... good coffee and good cakes and they prepare eggs for you on order.

The only issue is something that you cannot avoid in the city .... which is the noise .... we were not lucky to have a really big one on Friday night and it wasn’t great .... and the noise stayed until very very late at night. And it was far-away so we wonder how they got away until that late !

In any case, the hotel staff was great ... they care a lot for the guests and they leave us 3M hearing protectors and they were great to avoid any issue in the following night.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoutique17, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Dear CV,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your opinion about our hotel.
The truth is we are very happy that your stay with us has been all good. As you say there are situations that escape from our hands as the external noise of the city, although the rooms have insulation for the noise is often not enough, however we have alternatives to be able to supply that inconvenience.
We appreciate that you value the attention of our team as they strive every day to give you all the best service and so you can relax and enjoy your stay.
We wish you an excellent day.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Hotel 17 is a small hotel with just a few rooms in a great location of Concepcion hill at Valparaiso. A great cost benefit, it is worthy to request a room with ocean view for some extra bucks. Do not expect much from the included breakfast but you will find plenty of good restaurant and cafes options in walking distance.
There's no parking lot and it is very difficult to park around. If you arrive by car you should consider parking somewhere and getting a cab there.
Some poor maintenance makes the toilet roof leak over the towels for room 1. Reported to the staff who didn't seem to care much.

Room Tip: Ocean view upgrade definetely worthy
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rcperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoutique17, Director de Recepción at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear rcperez

Thank you very much for taking the time to dedicate your assessment of our hotel.
We are very happy that your experience at our hotel has been wonderful. We regret the inconvenience about the drip in your room although we must say that it seems strange to us since the room over yours was repaired very recently (within the dates of your stay).
Have an excellent day, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is well located, great friendly staff that speak english, good wifi, good breakfasts and are very helpful with local knowledge plus restaurants. There was a small glitch which they corrected straightaway. There is not a lift but a sizeable circular staircase. We had room 10 which overlooked the harbour. It was a great room. A unique hotel in a unique location.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoutique17, Director de Recepción at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Dear Mark J,
Thank you very much for taking your time to leave us your opinion about our hotel.
The truth is we are very happy that your stay with us has been perfect, we strive every day so that the stay with us is as relaxing as possible and apparently we have achieved.
Our staff is qualified so that you can guide them in the best way possible and thus you get the most out of your visit in our city.
Thank you very much and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018

This place has a great view of the sea (6 out of 10 rooms), cozy comfortable room and great staff. The location was perfect for exploring Valparaiso too. Staff were so helpful too. The only thing to be aware is that there is no elevator so if that is important book room # 1 or 2 (sea view). Cooked to order eggs for breakfast in lower level. The closest ascensor to get you down to the lower level is being rebuilt and not available for use.

Room Tip: splurge for an ocean view. If you don't do steps ask for room 1 or 2
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeschacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoutique17, Director de Recepción at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Dear Jeschacht,

Thank you very much for your time and dedicate us that favorable opinion.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, our main objective is that your visit to our city and your stay at our hotel will always be an unforgettable experience.
Unfortunately the funicular is not working and we understand that it is one of the attractions that tourists can not enjoy.
Our staff will be very happy with your words, we will send them to you, no doubt.
Thank you very much and we hope to receive you very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews