We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, and Convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puerta Escondida B&B
Ranked #2 of 96 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, and Convenient.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in Puerto Escondida B & B for one night and two days. It's extremely clean and in the perfect location. Sheets, beds and pillows were perfect and the insanely clean bathroom has big fluffy towels and soaps. There's a kitchen, a living room with books and a little courtyard as well. Directly outside the hotel are two restaurant/bars and just around the corner is a little corner store and more restaurants. The area is perfect for wandering the streets for hours and looking at all the amazing street art and murals that splash the houses. It's completely safe and although we were there post-high season there were other tourists wandering around as well. The owner speaks great English and was really helpful. I even needed a battery charger for my camera and he gave me perfect directions to a store that had one! The next morning when he wasn't around there was a women that was helpful with showing us how to get to the bus station to buy our tickets to our next destination. Even with the major language barrier we worked it out and she had a jolly spirit about the whole thing, and an amazing amount of patience. I never felt like I was being a bother and Andres would just plop down next to me and energetically answer my thousands of questions. Walk around the hills near the hotel for sure, and if you have time go down to the port and walk around and take one of the 100 year old acensors back up!!

Room Tip: We slept in a triple on the ground floor on near the street. It wasn't too loud even though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    32
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
102
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Puerta Escondida and felt welcome the minute we stepped through the door. Andres was there to greet us in English and helped us deal with a suitcase dripping wine from a bottle that had not survived our last travel episode. After showing us to our room (Habitacione #2), Andres drew us a map of the area and suggested restaurants, sights of interest and local amenities.
As other travelers have mentioned, the 1920's house has been painstakingly restored and each guest room has period furniture, comfortable beds and modern bathrooms with big fluffy towels. The huge casement windows opening out to the street connect you to the sights, smells and sounds of Cerro Concepcion.

For me, the key ingredient of a 5 star B&B visit (after the condition of the property) is the involvement of the proprietor. The personality of an area comes alive when a B&B owner welcomes you to his/her home and relays their passion for their location.

Both Andres and his helper Elizabeth went out of their way to help us enjoy our visit to Valparaiso and to explain a bit of the history of the house and the area. Andres also answered all our initial email inquiries promptly and provided instructions for the taxi driver.

When we left, Andres offered to drive us and our 4 suitcases down the hill to the bus station for the beginning of our long trip home to Canada. He came into the bus station with us and made sure we were on the right bus before leaving. That is true Chilean hospitality!

We would definitely recommend Puerta Escondida to other travelers.
Muchas Gracias Andres!

Room Tip: All the rooms in this B&B looked great but the rooms at the front of the house are sunny and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had corresponded with Andres about 3 months before arrival and was always greated with a quick response. It was easy to navigate my trip from Boston Massachusetts to Valpo with his help. I do not speak Spanish but was able to almost meet my expected due arrival time by 20 minutes. I flew into Santiago and took public transportation to meet this time. Andres greeted me at the door and carried the suitcases up to the second floor to the large room. The private bath was good sized even for my large frame. Andres provided a great breakfast including eggs cooked the way I wanted. His directions were great throughout the stay and spoke great english.

Room Tip: No TV but did not need one. No air conditioning but did not need it in this time frame
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

After staying in several hotels in Valparaiso, I think I have finally found one I will return to. Puerto Escondida is on a relatively quiet street that is just around the block from some of the most interesting and popular parts of cerro concepcion. The B&B itself is beautiful and cosy, we loved our big room overlooking the street but the smaller ones looked nice too, and a bit cheaper. Beautiful modern bathrooms and a great shower. there are a couple of rooms to hang out in downstairs and a kitchen. The breakfast is pretty good (standard bread, cheese ham situation) but we found it a bit of a pain that there werent any spots for us one day and we needed to wait until others were finished. Great helpful managers/owners who speak perfect english. Also check out the cute and cheap shop across the road for specialty foods and some cute kitchen supplies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at Puerta Escondida (Hidden Door) B & B before going on our South American Cruise around the horn. The location was great. There were restaurants and places to walk in the immediate area with great Murals on the walls all around. It was not far from 3 Ascensors, which took you down the hills to the port or downtown area. Andres, the owner, did a great job of answering all of our questions and giving us good suggestions on what to do. He spoke excellent English. We had a room where you could see out to the street. One night we saw drummers and a dancer on the street corner. The area is old but also charming because of its UNESCO heritage status. We felt very safe walking around. If I were to go to Valparaiso again, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room where the window opened out onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after traveling in Patagonia for a month. It was a perfect way to finish our travels, the location was fantastic, it's right near cute little restaurants and bars in cerro Concepion. Andres the owner (speaks fantastic English) was very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The B&B is just gorgeous with heavy timber features and lots of colour, the best feature though is the super comfortable beds and pillows. I would highly recommend Andres and his B&B if you are looking for something special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyadventuregirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Can only endorse what others have said. This B&B is excellent on all counts - beautifully refurbished rooms with period features but modern fixtures and fittings; good, powerful shower with ample hot water and huge, soft, fluffy bath towels (a nice luxurious touch); free wifi which always worked; good breakfast; perfect location close to restaurants etc; and, above all, a super-friendly host who speaks good English, is very knowledgeable about the area and will go out of his way to help. If Andres doesn't know the answer to your question he will find out. We took his advice on places to visit on a few occasions and were never disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,690 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 96 in Valparaiso
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#5 of 35 in Valparaiso
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta Escondida B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta Escondida B&B

Property: Puerta Escondida B&B
Address: Calle Templeman 549, Valparaiso, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerta Escondida B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored old house, with 6 comfortable rooms all of them with private bathroom. Located on the hearth of the Cerro Concepcion, a just few steps from restaurants, bars, art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Puerta Escondida B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing