We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee in valparaiso”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melbourne Cafe

Melbourne Cafe
Ranked #1 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Valparaiso
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Melbourne Cafe you will find the best coffee, panini sandwiches, salads and muffins. We'll do our best to make your visit comfortable in our cafe. Come and visit us!!!! We are located in Plaza Sotomayor square, next to the port and train station. English spoken!!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great coffee in valparaiso”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had an excellent coffee here today at a reasonable price. The place is well located and while we didn't eat there the menu looked good and well priced. A lovely spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    89
    38
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tannum Sands, Australia
1 review
“Best coffee&service in town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Best coffee in Valparasio! Staff were very helpful and friendly. A few of them speak great English & were very helpful with local information and translations. Definately recommend visiting;-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We went for a chai latte & Americano which tasted great after all the Nescafe instant coffee you get down here. Only weird thing is their door would lock whenever it closed. Not sure why they wouldn't just have the latch unlocked.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in South America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We've been travelling Sth America for 3 weeks, we've come across the best coffee and cafe service in Melbourne Cafe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drenovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
877 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“Do not order the iced capuchino!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Maybe I ordered the wrong thing, but it was a hot day and I asked for an iced capuchino. It turned out to be a watery coffee-flavored drink that didn't even look good. And it was close to $5 USD! But it is a good place to sit for awhile on Plaza Sotomayor and they have lots of magazines to look at.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Cafe also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Melbourne Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing