We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent care” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fauna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fauna
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent care”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The feel is minimalist, the beds are comfy, and - most importantly - the people are amazing.

While here, I got a nasty flu bug and they not only extended checkout but brought me tea all day and provided another room for me to nap in after I checked out. Not to mention handling a two hour process of figuring out my bus situation back to Santiago.

Their bar / resto upstairs also provides a nice view of the city and the water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVinesofMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Recepción at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sharon,

First at all thanks for your words. We remember your stay and your ailment. We are so glad you felt pleased and well attended during your stay at Fauna Hotel Restaurant.
Thank again for your comment, each one help us to get better every day.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    140
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
41
273
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

A type of hotel different from the traditional ones. With a peculiar and interesting decoration bedrooms are confortable and bathrooms very modern and special. Some bedrooms have walls painted by young artists with varied designs. I also loved the interior architecture of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones that have the paintings on the wall and preferably on the highest level where you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loreto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Recepción at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Loreto,

Thaks for your words. Each comment help us to get better every day. Regarding the Hotel's architectural style, the main idea always was to conserve the the old house design heritage mixed with a contemporary and edgy air.

Thanks again for your comment and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Fauna Hotel Restaraunt.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wow, this place is like a dream, the food is all fresh farm organic and the beers can be ordered rimmed in chili pepper! a take on salt with your margarita. Its important to wear comfy shoes, you will be walking here alot!. If your not so distracted by the views hotel fauna has plenty of books and magazines and quiet places to read. Thank goodness for the elevator, because this is on a cliff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlisajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Gerente at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for good opinion about us. We will keep on doing our best.
Cordialmente,
Javier Alonso A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Finding the Fauna Hotel was easy, down an ally where cars have no access and along the top of a hill which immediately gave a good view of the town below and the bay.

Unlike traditional buildings the hotel functions from top to bottom, reception/restaurant/terrace at the top, with rooms leading down the multi story building perched along the hill. The outdoor terrace offers a great point of view of the town, and in the morning one can watch the sunrise.

I've opted for the bay view room which has incredibly tall ceilings and windows, wooden floors and open yet separate seating area. A large modern bathroom with glass paneled shower and granite floors. Finding a heater in the room made me happy as winters can be tough if you don't have in room climate control, something my hotel in Santiago did not have. The bed was comfortable, pillows and soft duvet covers to ensure your warm on a cold Chilean winter night. The walls are roughly textured and earth brown as if the rooms were made from cutting into the hillside, organic with specs of mud and hay - a down to earth feeling.

I'm finding little fault with Fauna Hotel, despite having no in room television, it doesn't really bother me, the town is interesting and colourful and just steps away. A funicular is just metres from the door and for only 100 Pesos (approx 20 cents) you can descend or climb easily to the town below.

Favourite thing about Fauna? Having breakfast while the sun rises, the view, decent breakfast, style and comfort in a down to earth bohemian way.

Note: at time of my visit works were underway next door for expansion, which will provide panoramic views and expanded occupancy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada,

Junto con saludar, agradecemos su comentario. Es un agrado para nosotros saber que disfrutaron su estadía en Fauna.
De todas maneras, le informamos que Fauna se ha ampliado, dando origen a una nueva estructura, la cual da cabida a 15 habitaciones en total, una recepción más privada y una terraza restaurant mucho más amplia y con mejor vista aún.

Los estaremos esperando a visitar el Nuevo Fauna Hotel Restaurant.

Cordialmente,

Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel Fauna is an eclectic little 6 room boutique hotel located on Pasaje Dimalow in Cerro Alegre a mere 20 metres from the top of the Ascensore Reina Victoria. If you're looking for a hotel of upscale North American standards with all the 5 star amenities such as wall to wall closets, air conditioning, television, CD player, stereo, spa, pool, elevator and fitness centre, this is definitely not for you, so I suggest you do your homework before you even think of booking. If you are handicapped, accessibility is a big thing in buildings in hilly Valpo and likewise in this hotel. If you can't carry your luggage to the hotel, go up or down the stairs, it's not for you.

The hotel is built on the side of a hill (as is all of Valpo) from natural and recycled materials. While on entry and at initial glance one might think the place to be dingy and dark, while the rooms are basic, the beds are bar none the comfiest I have slept in in any hotel in Europe, North America or Mexico. Crisp white sheets with European duvets make for a sound night's sleep. Lighting in the rooms is basic...single bulb lamps and the room lacks in closet and drawer space to place your clothes.

What the hotel lacks in basic amenities, it more than makes up for in friendly staff, location, service and ambiance. The room came with breakfast...a nice array of freshly cooked scrambled eggs, freshly prepared guacamole, assorted nuts, fruit, buns/bread, fresh orange juice and the tastiest coffee ever (gives Costa Rica a challenge). The breakfast is served on the patio (facing west) on the main level (6 small tables outside and several inside) allowing an amazing vista of the Bahia (Bay) as the sun rises. The hotel service from such a small kitchen and bar is phenomenal. Javier and his staff are amazing and make you feel totally at home.

This restaurant/patio doubles as a restaurant/bistro at night with a good selection of meat and fish dishes with a varied selection of local beers, Chilean wines and liquor. Musicians come into the restaurant at night, play for some tips, leave, soon to be replaced later by other "wandering minstrels". All this...a few pisco sours and an evening view of the illuminated cities of Valpo and Vina del Mar and that sets the ambiance of your stay at this property.

The hotel has pros and cons...getting into the hotel from the street is an approximate 50 metre walk with your luggage over cobbled pavement and sidewalks, and the same when you leave, Specify a time and place for your cab to pick you up and be there with your luggage. If going out on the town (either in Valpo or to Vina del Mar) the easiest way to get around is by taking the ascensore down to Cumming Strret just up from the Plaza Anibal PInto where you can catch a local bus or one that takes you into Vina del Mar. If you recall the buses in Puert Vallarta and Mazatlan, then buses are similar here, and just as cheap.

If you are departing on a cruise, the port entrance is a 10 -15 minute cab ride toward Vina to the VTP ( Valparaiso Terminal de Pasajeros). Once checked into the secure area of the port, you will be transferred to the ship by motorcoach within the confines of the Port.

For first timers to Valpo, it is a typical port town (some might call it seedy, and yes Vina is more modern) with leftover political graffiti from days gone by. At no time did we ever feel at risk walking through the streets at night, even from the port to Plaza Anibal Pinto near Cerro Alegre.

Have no qualms recommending Hotel Fauna. REMEMBER TO DECIDE IN ADVANCE WHAT YOU WANT AND WHERE YOU WANT TO BE. If you want a North American style hotel, then the best place for you when you get off the plane is in downtown Santiago.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a superior room on the floor below the restaurant and patio. That way you get a part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainroncruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not a cheap hotel, at least if you get the rooms with a view out over the city and harbor, but well worth the price. The decor is very funky with somewhat odd unfinished stucco walls with pieces of straw hanging out of them, But I liked it, as it seemed appropriate to a town like Valparaiso which is beautiful but a little ragged around the edges. I had a great lunch at the restaurant above, and the included breakfast was hearty and delicious. They also had no problem with my hanging out for an hour on the balcony slowly drinking a class of wine and watching the sun set. it is right in the heart of the nicer section of Valparaiso and there are lots of great restaurants nearby. Many of the staff speak very good english, and one was able to converse in french as well, since my spanish is weak. i'd go again.

Room Tip: They cost a lot more, but get the premium rooms with views if you can afford it. The rooms have big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimLeCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Team,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is very well located in cerro Alegre, welcome is very friendly, top floor is actually a restaurant/bar (nice beer) with a very good view on the cerro/sea.

I chose a "standard" room. They appear to have NO view at all. mine (4) was looking good (I like contemporary style with apparent concrete), with a nice stylish bathroom BUT was actually very humid. Even the bed sheets were sort of humid and that's pretty unpleasant. Staff very friendly though (the owner speaks excellent French). Probably higher rooms (with a view) do not have this issue. All in all, not so bad but expensive for a humid room !!

Might try it again with a view because of location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank More_Majorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Gerente at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour vos commentaires sur l'équipe, nous faisons notre mieux.
Nous travaillons dans un agrandissement qui nous apportera 9 nouvelles chambres, toutes coté vue, avec une isolation améliorée. Nous profiterons de l'occasion pour réparer les chambres actuelles.
Cordialement,
Javier Alonso A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
#7 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauna

Property: Hotel Fauna
Address: Paseo Dimalow 166 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauna 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fauna Hotel Restaurant is composed by 15 rooms, whiches are distributed on 4 categories, where if you stay on "Superiors" and "Suites Fauna" ones, you are going to find beautiful views to the city and the bay city. This is located on a perfect place, just in the middle of the most tourisctic and heritage city area, just 5 minutes walking to the center city and between several souvenir stores, design stores and many restaurants.The Fauna Concept is strongly guided by the material and intangible heritage rescue, the design, the simplicity and, above all by delivering a really good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing