We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good location”
Review of Hotel Fauna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fauna
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Perched on a hilltop, the Hotel Fauna commands an excellent view of an old, well-maintained building with no clear function.

When we arrived, the three of us were placed in two rooms. There was a misunderstanding, as both rooms had king-sized beds. We explained the confusion, and they gave us a room with two twin beds.

The bathrooms are beautifully remodeled. The rooms are individually and tastfully decorated. The matresses were firm and comfortable. The rooms are warmed in the winter months with space heaters.

Upstairs is the restaurant, where we ate the night we arrived. The food was great. The restaurant is a bit drafty, and on Friday night there was a band playing until about midnight, so it can be a bit loud.

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a more "Bohemian" "Boutique" hotel experience.

Room Tip: If you need two beds, be sure to explictly state that when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casp3pos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 518 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

I supplied the Tung Oil for some of the wood finishes in this amazing work of building restoration. I met Tomás Elizalde, one of the owners, who is a trained restorator during the early stages and i was very much looking forward to my stay at the Hotel which i had reserved an invitation for a special occassion. I loved every detail and enjoyed myself every minute of my stay, right from the start: We were lead straight to our room by Daniel the recepcionist/bartender, no fusing around with forms or credit cards, brilliant !

Our room was a balanced work of art (lighting) craftmanship (wood work) interior design and just really good taste! The quality of the sheets, towels, pillows and matress (all brand new) is a million bucks! All very stimulating, interesting and at the same time relaxing, making one feel like a guest at a very wealthy and slightly excentric friend's house who is upstairs shaking cocktails on a terrace you know will have a killer of a view !

It's a place you want to take care of, be a part of and enjoy....."love at first sight" !

Thank you Tomás and congratulations !

J.A.S.Jackson
Los Angeles
Chile

Room Tip: All unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJacksonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear John,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I must preface this review by saying that i have never slept at Fauna. I have however drank many glasses of wine, and would recommend their lodging to anyone visiting the city. The rooms, and restaurant area are beautifully appointed, and the view from the deck is second to none. It is a recently remodeled three story home, done with the utmost taste and class.On my first visit my friend did not enjoy her cocktail so the waiter didn't charge us, a level of service that is unheard of in Chile. My subsequent visits have been just as pleasant and with their expanded menu the terrace is even better

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Trole_Bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Fauna ticks every box for sustainable cool. All the wood used in the building is reclaimed from onsite or salvaged from other demolitions, the walls are rendered in earth dug from the hillside during renovation and to top it off the views over Valparaiso are spectacular.
A great place to stay in Chile's seaside gem :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huntertravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Hunter,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

this hotel has a lovely location with views over the city and its very basic for its 3 star rating
no working phones in the rooms no air con and surly staff except one made the visit there less than good, the one good member of staff was very helpful. the room door was insecure it could lock and stick on you even if we were shown the knack to get it to work that either made easier to break into in the end and you faced a single double lock that kept you inside the room this room has no fire escapes except a 40 foot plunge to ground i might add.
the stay was heavily marred my girlfriend became very ill with high blood pressure we had to go to an emergency room for around 8 hours and only managed to leave with she had taken many calming drugs and her tempature had dropped . we returned to the hotel and asked to leave and get a discount given those circumstances, the receptionist debated and talked in a arrogant tone to his manager for around an hour when we had a cab waiting to take us to the next hotel-one with a telephone and internet and air con essential when someone is very ill -
he eventually agreed to giving it to us half price and i singed and made a swipe and signature payment ...we left assuming everything was fine ..and then got a phone call saying there was an error we hadn't canceled the booking ??? if checking out early for medical reasons is not a cancellation i really do not know what is they wanted us to go back to there hotel after being out for 13 hrs so and the majority of it spent in panic and worry about being able to her safely to a better hotel and home. we couldnt go to see them we had an exhausting day and had a early flight and a long drive to santiago and to try to get my girlfriend to mendoza safely without any further great stress ...so we left as i was stupid enough to assume they could keep there word - some hope- the manager obviously decided to renege on what he let his employee do who was happy at that time of negotiation to be writing up two cafe orders and away from the tables and being arrogant and unhelpful to us personally i would like to send the the bill for keeping a cab waiting an hour. around 4 days later ive found that they made a force payment of the full balance for the original booking ive had to change hotels from booking.com in the past and not had a probelm and that involved lesser things that the possiblity of hospital admission and medical flights home, do not expect them to honor there word if you have trouble or to be at all honest in how they deal with you. and in lesser circumstances many hotels would have treated us better i would be more than happy to send the hotel medical reports to show we werent lying she is seeing specialists now and they are a glorified bar/restaurant day lighting as a hotel go to somewhere duller to stay have lunch or dinner here dont risk a booking

Room Tip: no rooms have phones that work or air con in the summer you will need a fan and take you tablet or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andydrewbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Gerente at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

We are very concerned about what happened. An arrangement has been found with the passengers. We have made a full refund of the payment.
Although we have heaters in every room, there is no air condition since the weather does not require this in Valparaíso. As a policy of sustaintability we do not have television, but there is wi-fi available in the whole hotel. A central telephone can communicate from each room to every place in the world.
We keep on working to give the best service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Thia hotel is trying to be unique and for the most part, it succeeds. The decor in the rooms often includes part of he hillside! The rooms are spacious and most have scenic views--except ours. Especially of note was the breakfast. They serve you delicious fresh fruit, with cheese, almonds, fresh bread along with eggs as you like them. The only recommendation would be to keep the lights on in the stairwells for guests on the third floor.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNonRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here.We would stay here again if we ever go back.The hotel is arty and not your regular hotel.We found the staff all friendly & very helpful,Javier & Daniel spoke english( great for us kiwis).During our stay there was a local radio station broadcast from the balcony.Also a local artist was finishing one of his amazing murals, to hang in the lobby.A hot breakfast with freshly squeezed grapefruit was on the balcony every morning.The hotel is a few metres from an ascensor which takes you down to the main streets.
There wasnt a TV in our room, but we didnt miss it as there was so much to do in Valparaiso day & night.We enjoyed every momentof out stay & visit.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a higher room so you get an even better wonderful view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Wendy,


Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#5 of 35 in Valparaiso
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#8 of 35 in Valparaiso
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
#15 of 35 in Valparaiso
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauna

Address: Paseo Dimalow 166 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: $122 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauna 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fauna Hotel Restaurant is composed by 15 rooms, whiches are distributed on 4 categories, where if you stay on "Superiors" and "Suites Fauna" ones, you are going to find beautiful views to the city and the bay city. This is located on a perfect place, just in the middle of the most tourisctic and heritage city area, just 5 minutes walking to the center city and between several souvenir stores, design stores and many restaurants.The Fauna Concept is strongly guided by the material and intangible heritage rescue, the design, the simplicity and, above all by delivering a really good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing