We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Fauna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fauna
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great location, great staff”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We arrived, exhausted, and were immediately put in good spirits by our smiling host (and chef), Javier. He was always willing to spend time with us to ensure that our time in Valparaiso (and and elsewhere in Chile) went smoothly. The hotel itself is very well situated on a quiet street nearby the best attractions. It was comfortable and architecturally interesting, with a windowed meals area that encouraged us to linger over a freshly-prepared breakfast. We ended up staying an extra night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJEN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear,


Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    147
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
286
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, MA USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We loved our one night at the Fauna. We were boarding a cruise the next day, and thought Valparaise looked more interesting than Santiago. The Fauna is perched on a hilltop in the middle of the historic section of the city, which we founf quirky, colorful, and charming. The view from the balcony on the top floor is spectacular, across the city and over the harbor. We ate our delicious dinner there, prepared by chef Gizelle. Daniel and Gabriel spoke beautiful English and did everything possible to make us feel welcome. It only has six rooms, two on each of three levels going down the hill, and we were on the bottom, with no elevator, but that was the only disadvantage. The room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast the next morning was also delicious. Prices for both rooms and meals were quite reasonable, a great value. The top floor serves as the restaurant, which is small, but open to the public. We thoroughly enjoyed wandering the hills next morning, and taking a ride back up the funicular, cost about 25 cents, which let us out right next to the hotel. The Fauna also arranged for a taxi to pick us up in Santiago and drive us to Valparaiso, about 125 miles, but mostly freeway.

Room Tip: closer to the top is easier with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeagullInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We absolutely loved everything about our stay at Hotel Fauna! It is small and intimate, so unique and charming. Ideal location. Nice rooms. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful (we loved talking with and getting to know Daniel and Javier). Breakfast is lovely overlooking the city. Staying at Hotel Fauna made our stay unforgettable. We hope to be back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Jill,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Would absoluteley recomend this Hotel, rooms are beautiful with comfy beds and nice local furniture and bathrooms and clean and modern. Spectacular views and extremely nice staff. They offer guests free wifi which is nice since nowadays many hotels charge for this service.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bellabella907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Bella,

Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent one night at the Hotel Fauna and really enjoyed it.

We got room number 2. It was clean and comfortable. It also had an interesting feature where one wall exposed the bare rock of the mountain. The only downside was the water preasure in the bathroom but the management said that they were fixing this problem.

The views from the terrace of the hotel are great. Get there early to get a good seat.

Staff where friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The hotel is well located in "Cerro Alegre" - right next to the lift, art galleries and restaurants.

Enjoy!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hola_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Valparaiso for me is a cross between Lisboa's Alafama and la Boca in Buenos Aires. La Fauna is right in the middle of this compact part of the city. One of the owners is an architect, which is clear because of the cool design of the hotel. The building is made of adobe and recycled wood. It's all put together with the right fixtures, lights and windows. Comfortable bed, nice linens and towels. They use some magnetic locks on glass doors, so the hotel feels really secure, but still looks inviting. There's a balcony with a nice view and is a great place to socialize with other guests. We are a same sex couple and were made to feel welcome here.

It's tough to find your way to the hotel. Several nearby streets were blocked for major road repairs and our cab driver drove around the neighborhood for an extra 30 minutes before giving up and sending us on foot. Do print a map before you come.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkisWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear,


Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordola, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Perfectly located - probably in the best corner of Valparaiso!
Clean, comfortable, but most of all super authentic and cozy rooms! We loved our room (number 5) that includes an amazing view!
The terrace is stunning and having a beer there in the evening sunshine whilst mingeling with the other guests and visitors was a great welcome to Valparaiso.
The staff is very friendly and helpful!
As we knew (thanks to a previously posted review) that the hotel sometimes holds concerts. We were lucky to see one on one of our two-night stays and it was very good. Unfortunalty we weren't even informed about the event during the day and that way we didn't get a chance to arrive in good time to enjoy it and maybe catch a seat... it would have been nice to be more integrated into the happenings at the hotel - this would be the only small critic I would leave with Fauna, a place I would definatly come back to if again in Valparaiso.

Room Tip: Number 5!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneoworldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Kathrin,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#20 of 35 in Valparaiso
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauna

Property: Hotel Fauna
Address: Paseo Dimalow 166 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauna 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fauna Hotel Restaurant is composed by 15 rooms, whiches are distributed on 4 categories, where if you stay on "Superiors" and "Suites Fauna" ones, you are going to find beautiful views to the city and the bay city. This is located on a perfect place, just in the middle of the most tourisctic and heritage city area, just 5 minutes walking to the center city and between several souvenir stores, design stores and many restaurants.The Fauna Concept is strongly guided by the material and intangible heritage rescue, the design, the simplicity and, above all by delivering a really good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing