We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Fischer Hostal
Ranked #29 of 95 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“well located and very clean”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

this hostal is situated down a hill, just next to the main attractive area, and not far from the port and the beach. the fischer alley is not indicated, but quite easy to find with a good map (found in the coaches terminal).
the staff is really kind, gives good advices about the city, places of interest.
rooms, very spacious, and bathrooms are very clean.
and the breakfast is perfect.
i really recommand this hostal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
28
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingfors
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hostel with its lovely staff contributed a lot to our wonderful stay in Valpo. We stayed here (in a 8-bed dorm) in March 2012, and really enjoyed it! One of the best (if not the best) hostels during our South America trip :)
The staff was kind and helpful (we were fully equipped with maps and advice for hostels in Mendoza and Córdoba among other places when we left Casa Fischer), and the breakfast was really good, warm bread, freshly pressed juice and fruit every morning!
The location was superb, and felt very safe even at night. A bit difficult to find, but opening your mouth and asking for direction always helps :)
Had a lovely stay here, even though we experienced a little earthquake in the middle of the night (which the staff handled very well!) - would warmly recommend it to anyone looking for a cozy stay in a lovely city, and I'll definitely be back there next time I'm in Chile! :)

Room Tip: Only about 2-3 rooms in the hostel - choose the dorm with 7 beds, more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninnu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It was a bit tricky to find (located down a small alley on the side of a hill) but this location made it all the more atmospheric. A tall, beautiful building decorated colourfully (like all of the buildings in the amazing historic centre!), it was a relaxing place to stay and enjoy the area.

However, the staff when I was there were rather lax. They gave me a nice introduction to the area but then I hardly saw them for the rest of the time. Not that it mattered because I didn't have any problems, but it would be nice to feel a bit more involved. Also, no breakfast when I was there - weird, because everyone else raves about it. It was festival time, so perhaps they were all out enjoying themselves.

Still, you can't really go wrong with a place this pretty for this price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I would definitely recommend Casa Fischer after satying a week there !
Not only is it perfectly located, but the house is cosy, very clean and with an atmosphere that makes you feel at home. And above all, the staff is adorable, very helpful, willing to share a lot with visitors... they are great.
It is a perfect place to stay in Valparaiso and surely one of the best in Chile !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelliissee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The Casa Fisher was the best hostel on my whole travel through south America. I just wanted to stay there two nights and finally stayed there over one week. The location of the hostel is perfect and the area nice and safe. Especially the stuff was perfect: Always helpful, kind and prepared for partying at night in Valpo. Escpecially thanks to the german girl Elena who just made a perfect job. Strongly recommend this hostel for anyone who wants to have a great time in Valpo.

Regards, Jens

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed at Casa Fischer for a week around New Years Eve and it was great. Conny and Paula welcome you and explain where to go in Valparaiso. For New Year's eve they organised a great diner and it was the best way to start the famous Valparaiso night.
I didn't plan to stay a week but i just couldn't get away from Valparaiso and Casa Fischer. So definately a recommendation to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beertjeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a great place and very homely. The owner here renovated this place and put a lot of effort into it. It has been made very comfortable with a lot f thought of what the backpacker needs. It is in easy walking distance from the sights and the center of town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Allegretto Bed and Breakfast
Allegretto Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 95 in Valparaiso
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Cerro Alegre
Hostal Cerro Alegre
#18 of 95 in Valparaiso
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alojamiento Ely
Alojamiento Ely
#55 of 95 in Valparaiso
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#3 of 186 in Valparaiso
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel Hostal
Angel Hostal
#13 of 186 in Valparaiso
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lemuria Hostel
Lemuria Hostel
#11 of 186 in Valparaiso
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Fischer Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Fischer Hostal

Property: Casa Fischer Hostal
Address: Pasaje Fischer # 37 Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso 2370654, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Fischer Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing